We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Deal.”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

€29 a night? You would be forgiven for thinking that you get what you pay for, but in the case of the Tower I was plesently surprised. Idealy located at the end of Waterfords beautiful quay and overlooking the river and Reginal's Tower the Tower is great for a weekend getaway. The rooms are clean, the staff for the most part are very friendly and it was great value. I stayed their with my partner and ate in the resturant on one of the night. I had the chicken, which was good, the beef was not. The bar is and staff are friendly and easygoing and would happily have stayed there if we wern't meeting friends in town. All in all a fine hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    341
    189
    92
    60
See reviews for
279
362
39
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
meath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We booked the €29 per person per night offer and stayed 2 nights~ we got what we paid for! On check in we were met with the overwhelming smell of Chlorine from the pool which we overlooked as we were excited about our stay. The room was standard enough with a lovely view of the river but the noise at night was horrendous. We were away for a relaxing weekend and ended up sleeping most of the day as neither of us slept at all at night. We ate in the restaurant on the first night (the smell of chlorine hit us again as we walked into the restaurant) We paid €59 for a 3 course meal and a bottle of wine. We were seated at the window but my seat was literally on top of a radiator which was uncomfortably warm. It was getting to closing time in the restaurant an I feel that we were rushed through the entire meal with my boyfriends dessert taken away while he was still eating. Very unfriendly waiting staff who chatted amongst themselves in another language while they set around us for breakfast. However the bar staff were really lovely as was the man on reception. We ate in the bar the 2nd night and the quality was extremely poor. All our side dishes were clearly taken from a packet and deep fried. Breakfast was much the same so much so that we didn't eat it on the 2nd morning. All in all a disappointing experience which is a shame as we stayed there after many people had recommended it.

Room Tip: No matter how nice the view do not stay near the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bear121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stayed one night for a function in this hotel. It is an excellent cheap and cheerful hotel, with lovely staff and great pool. Do not expect a luxury hotel when you stay here, the rooms are dated. My only major gripe was the noise from the hallway when party gooers were returning to their rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolfan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Tower Hotel in Waterford. We stayed for two nights over New Years Eve we had a great time. The hotel itself is very comfortable. The food at breakfast and dinner was great! Loads of choices. The entertainment in the lounge was top notch. But what takes this hotel from being a very good hotel to an excellent hotel are the staff. Every staff member was attentive, they tried to meet our needs and worked very hard to make our stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. Deidre one of the receptionist could not have been more helpful or pleasant, she is an excellent staff member. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for real value for money and comfort.

Room Tip: Try to get a riverside room. Or if not ask for one close to the lift. But really I just like this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Best City in Ireland and thats from a Dub. Loved the Hotel, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night at the Tower Hotel as we were on our way from Cardiff to Derry for the Christmas hols.
The reception from the staff at the hotel was faultless, we had travelled over night on the ferry and although check-in is from 14:00hrs we were told we could park our car in the car park as soon as we arrived (if we let them know they would give us the code for the car park) as we were arriving around 07:30hrs.
We called in to reception and were told that they would pre-register us to save time later. The receptionist then said there was a room empty that we could have, it would be at the rear of the hotel and not at the front . . . after leaving Cardiff at 22:00hrs the night before any room would be appreciated. The room was very comfortable and clean.
The bar in the hotel was more reasonable than I expected.
We did not have an evening meal at the hotel but we did have the breakfast which was superb, an excellent selection of both hot and cold foods.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful.
We look forward to visiting the Tower Hotel again, this was a short stop off as part of my family originated in Waterford and as we were on our way up north for Christmas this gave us a chance to trace some of my roots. We will be back, next time for longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth-Michelle-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for Xmas shopping trip. The room was lovely, very warm and cosy for this time of year. We dined in the bar and the Bistro and the service and quality of the food were excellent. All staff were helpful, friendly and competent and we will be returning for a longer period next year. Would recommend the Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walesamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing