We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 2 April 2012

my husband and i went to the tower hotel in waterford. The first thing i taught was, the hotel was looking tired. But the girls on the front desk were so nice. we checked in, went upstairs, the hall was terrible, grey walls, grey doors, grey carpet, even light switches and plug sockets...the room was ok, it had a nice view and was clean. the food was well priced, and nice, the bar , in the hotel i went to 3 different times, and on each time i had to hand back a glass, with lipstick on,( this is what i work at so i know it can happen, but it should NOT, and not 3 times ) i think the bar staff need to pull up there socks. the breakfast, nice choice of fruit, fry ect. the girl that looked after us was great. also the girls in the bar were very nice in all i taught the staff were great and helpful, smiled, the pool was brill.In all hotel needs some work, but staff are lovely and look after you well.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim12l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed in the Tower Hotel waterford for one night. I was the organiser of a Hen night of 40 women. The staff were very helpful and were prepared for us when we arrived with everyones room keys named and ready so there was no need for queues which made everyone happy and my life easy.
We had Dinner in the restaurant which was great value again & the staff were excellent. The hotel had given us a section on our own which was good for such a large group.
The Hotel is right in the city centre with Parking and close to everywhere.
Rooms were spacious enough for 3 and modern.
Staff were very polite and wecloming.
I would recommend this hotel for value & location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Staff very helpful. Buffet Breakfast with an excellent selection of hot & cold food.
Dinner with superior food to average hotel resteraunt

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay.
It really is great to hear when guests have enjoyed their time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back the Tower Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

i stayed for one night in march, first impression were good, front lobby and bar were normal and girl at reception desk was really friendly but once i got out of the lift i knew it all changed, the corridor was dull and lling old but the room was just awful, the door frame was falling off there was stains all over the carpet, the socket for the big old television was broken, there was an awful smell in the tiny bathroom and the wooden side on the bath was peeling away. however i refused to stay in that room and when i complained the staff were very helpful and gave us another room on level 2 which was alot better but far from a nice standard, i would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patrice1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words with regard to our reception team.
We have just completed an upgrade of a further 21 bedrooms. I do hope that you will return to us again and experience one of these rooms.
We really value your feedback and we continuously strive to improve the product we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is just average. There is absolutely nothing special about it.

Pros:
- good location
- free parking
- desk with a mirror and proper hairdryer is a great idea
- nice staff


Cons:
- we were in one of the refurbished rooms, but it still looked a bit worn out and not very clean (especially tiles and grout around the bath tub and the toilet, carpet in the room)
- walls are extremely thin, so you can hear absolutely anything that is going on around you
- the slowest lifts ever!

It's actually hard to give a proper review as the hotel doesn't charm nor disappoint, it's so average.

We stayed there for only one night and we were very short on time before the wedding we were attending on the day of arrival. We arrived slightly early hoping for an early check-in, but the hotel was fully booked, so there was no chance for it - fair enough, no hard feelings there. But I got a bit stressed when it turned out that our room should be ready for 2:30pm not the usual 2pm check-in, even though I phoned few days in advance to say we are on a very tight schedule. We eventually were able to check-in at 2:15, so it left us 15 minutes for getting ready before our taxi arrived.

All in all it's a good hotel to stay for a night, but I guess a hundred euro is a bit steep, even for Ireland.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

I apologize that your room was not ready at 2.00pm. We do our best to turn around all bedrooms as quickly as possible and we do accommodate an early check in whenever we can.

We look forward to welcoming your back to the Tower in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I love this hotel as I attend shows at the Theatre Royal from time to time. Hotel is just across the street and there are restaurants and bars and night clubs along the street. There was music in the bar of hotel. Hotel has a large lobby with plenty of seating and there was another large room where one could have a private chat away from the bar if required. Parking at the back of the hotel is so convenient and free and I really enjoyed my stay there in a fabulous room. Breakfast was fabulous with about 20 choices of fruit, porridge, cereal and cooked food, served with tea/coffee and many breads or toast.

Room Tip: The better rooms are to the front of hotel, cheaper rooms (not as well decorated, but very functiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollybawn190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind word. We are delighted your enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We are indeed very fortunate to have a great Theatre on our door step. They really do offer something for everybody with their varied programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower again in the very near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I attended a function here recently & booked to stay overnight aswell as we got a great function rate.

Check in was easy & quick, the girl on check in was friendly & efficient.

However,the rooms are very disappointing,dark,dull & in need of complete refurbishment.They were ok but a complete let down after coming from such nice surroundings downstairs.

The bathroom could also do with a complete over haul,the grout between the tiles was yellow,under the taps at the sink wasn't the cleanest & cracked tiles on the bathroom floor doesn't give a good impression !

The food served at the function was lovely,very tasty & cooked to perfection.The salmon was delicious.Our server James couldn't do enough for us, a very efficient young man,who provided our table with an excellent service.Our water jug was never empty !!!

The main bar is particularly nice,loved the decor & very comfortable surroundings !!! Great staff there too.

Such a pity the bedroom left this hotel down....badly !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your accommodation during your time with us.
We have almost completed a further refurbishment of 21 bedrooms in the hotel.
I do hope you will return to us to experience our accommoation post refurbishment.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our food and ervice experience while attending a private funciton and that James looked after you very well. He is a great asset to the banqueting team.

Thank your for your comments. We do appreciate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £66 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing