We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay.. Party of 30 women”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We visited The Tower for a nights stay for a 60th Birthday and had a lovely evening. Food was lovely both Dinner and Breakfast and the staff were lovely. It was a very reasonable prise too. I think everyone had a lovely stay and there were 30 of us.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back away from road are quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that your party enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

We hope so see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here some weeks back on a Sat night. Our room was extremely poor quality and would not come near a four star standard.
There was a wedding in the hotel the evening we stayed and the function room was underneath our room we were therefore awake until after 2am.
On the plus side breakfast was really good,if a little cold,and the service in the dining room was superb.
Location was great and allowed us to walk to the city centre and local heritage sites.
Can't say we would stay there again based on the above and the price of €99.00 for B & B was not good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limerickgirl186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. This is most disappointing to hear but I do hope that you will consider returning to the Hotel again. Please email me directly at info@thw.ie and would be delighted to look after your reservation.
I would just like to clarify that we are a 3 star and not 4 star hotel to avoid any confusion.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for over last 12 years, usually twice a year.I would say that quality is slowly increasing year by year. You should be careful about which type of room you get as hotel has new and old rooms. Wifi connection is all over the hotel free of charge, nice lobby bar open till late night. I always very enjoy very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radoslav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Radoslav,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to looking after you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Spent a week in Waterford and stayed at the Tower Hotel which, I'd been reliably informed, was one of the better hotels in Waterford.

The hotel is in a prominent location, overlooking the river and is handy to walk straight into town. The hotel is nice enough; it's fairly tidy inside and out. I'd say it's seen better days though and could do with having a little money spent on it. Fixtures are showing their age and haven't been replaced or repaired as they've worn out. A decent clean from top to bottom wouldn't be a bad idea either, with chewing gum under the tables in the bar and a bit of grime in evidence in some of the communal areas.

The reception staff were excellent - very welcoming and really couldn't do enough for guests. The housekeeping staff were also great; they were very efficient and prompt and really you'd barely know they were there which I think is a great sign. The same compliment could not be afforded the late night bar staff in the Adelphi Riverside bar who obviously would rather not have been there. In general they didn't care much for customers and were far more focused on the fact that their shift "was ending in ten minutes". Not good.

We had breakfast included in our room fee and the breakfast options were good - cereal, fruit, yoghurts and cooked food all available from a buffet. The breakfast service was a little haphazard on some days though, with ten minute queues to be seated.

In general this is an OK place to stay. Really they need to spend some money on the place to tidy it up a bit. Oh and they should replace some of the bar staff.

Room Tip: The bar can be quite noisy until late on Friday and Saturday nights, which could be heard on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el-slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Once again a perfect stay in The Tower. We Requested a room change and it was done efficiently with no trouble. Excellent staff everywhere. And so nice to see same staff again and again everytime we visit. PERFECT Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my husband and two young children, staff are all lovely, very very nice, bar food was okay, food in restaurant was beautiful! breakfast was okay. the room was very small, very dusty, full of damp, in major need of an update!! In general this hotel was okay, if i was to visit Waterford again, i may revisit the hotel for a meal because the staff were so nice, would i stay overnight again??.......no, i would rather stay in a four star.

Room Tip: if you get given the key for room 248 give it back!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roisin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I agree with some of the reviews that the rooms are a little dated.... I wasn't blown away with them. We got a great deal for the weekend and feel they put us is the smallest rooms as a result.
That said..... We had a great weekend. The locations is perfect for seeing waterford with waterford crystal right next door. The food was also lovely. Breakfast and dinner were great! Breakfast staff and dinner staff were very friendly and attentive.
Reception staff could do with a smile or 2. They were efficient, but could do with cracking a smile.
All in all we had a great weekend, and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £65 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing