We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Last weekend 12 of us stayed at the Tower and from the very start we were made to feel so welcome. We had a package booked as it was my sisters pre wedding ladies weekend :) and to say the hotel surpassed all standards would be an understatement! The rooms were lovely, immaculately clean and well presented. From reception to the bar and restaurant, the service was impeccable. Any member of staff that we met were friendly and very accommodating to our needs and we truly relaxed and enjoyed the weekend, it was just a shame we had to go home. I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion! Thank you to the Staff of the Tower Hotel, you should be proud of yourselves !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyJPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    319
    183
    89
    60
See reviews for
264
345
38
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Recently stayed at the Tower for 2 days. The room we were given was very very hot and the air con vent was right outside the window so was very noisy if it was opened. The staff did get us a fan for the second night which made sleeping easier. Restaurant was average, drinks reasonable priced. The hotel lobby was very smart but this was not replicated in the rooms which were dated. There was free wifi which was an advantage.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hunt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Tower is really nice from the outside and in the lobby, however when you get to the room it is a different story, the bathroom is the size of a port potty no place to put you toilet articles etc. I sent a email asking them if they had safes in the room the reply was yes, when you get there and there is no safe in the room the reply is Oh only is certain rooms. The internet is so slow you think it was a string on two cans. I know there are other hotels in Waterford I would look into an alternate place.

Room Tip: Do hot chose room 137 a view of the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackphoto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
522 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice clean room which are wider than most similar European hotels. Very friendly staff. Located right next to the historic district and has a good view of the river. Just a block from the Waterford Crystal Factory. Do not forget to look at the historic statue and the old stone tower right in front of the hotel.

Enjoy meals with a view in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location . There was nothing else to commend it. Avoid if possible. However all the interesting museums and Waterford factory were within walking distance and the hotel gives you a two for one discount voucher . Room quality is very poor and very dated and airless.
Had a hot and sleepless night. May be better in winter when air conditioning is not needed

Room Tip: Book a smart room rather than a standard room. Rooms were small and airless except for the smart roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCG283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Sunday June 7th after visiting Harley Davidson Ireland. Location is perfect for looking around this interesting city, with views of the river from the bar where we had a fabulous meal served by a really friendly/helpful waiter. Leisure centre had everything I wanted - a friendly lady on reception, swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and cold plunge pool. There was also fabulous gym available for quests. Breakfast was perfect, fresh fruit and buffet, with free parking at the rear of the hotel and WiFi in my room and my nights stay for a great price. - all these things made my stay perfect, I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleylassCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

1. No central air in room. 2. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. 3. Hotel is a bit dated. Best thing about this hotel is the location, the super friendly staff and the breakfast buffet. If you don't mind a lumpy bed or no air conditioning, then this hotel is fine...Waterford Crystal Factory is just two doors down the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoleilBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing