We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience at The Tower with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful experience at The Tower with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hubby and I booked two nights B&B during Winterval festival as part of a Christmas get together with a group of friends. We were not disappointed. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Our room was a newly refurbished smart room overlooking the waterfront. Very comfortable with daily towel change. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and had breakfast delivered to our room one morning. Food was delicious. We used the safe during our stay and on departure I forgot to remove my Rayban sunglasses. I contacted the Hotel when I arrived home and I was immediately put in touch with Clint the lost property Manager. I cannot say enough about the efforts this gentleman made to ensure that my glasses were returned safely to me. I received my glasses by registered post a couple of days later. We are looking forward to our next break in The Tower already.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernieh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    316
    182
    88
    58
See reviews for
256
341
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Decided to book here for New Years break with family and friends . I booked the Luke wading suite , after checking reviews I saw that room was located over the bar so rang reservations to request suite on higher floor to be told it was 100 euros extra(€425bb) as it was newly refurbished when I complained about the price I was told "I'm not being smart but u knew what you booked " . I hung up ! I canceled the room and mad e another booking for a superior double and would make do with a camp bed for my child to be told they don't put camp beds on those rooms , it's not like there's not enough space ! When speaking with my friend she was in room with double and 2 single beds with no kids ! Went to bar for lunch which was bland all tasted the same , not much choice on menu , later on we decided to have dinner in bar which was not any better chips half cooked .. The staff seemed to avoid us tables weren't cleared of dishes and we had to nearly chase them for service except for Debbie who was very nice and friendly and nothing seemed a hassle . there was quite a few of us 15 we spent quite a while catching up in the bar kids were quiet fitting with games untill we start getting bullied out from the bar by the old folks wanting our seats eventually they set up a table in lounge for us by a a porter didn't catch his name again one of the better staff nothing seemed a hassle to him , no entertainment for kids what so ever except the pool it seemed like they rather have the old folks there than families ! beautiful hotel and great location but food and staff let the place down , I will not be returning I felt like staff looked down there nose at us very disappointed

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Queenie_mc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Booked double room & got great deal. Room was small & functional but we were made aware of this prior to booking. Was perfect for what we paid for - warm & clean with a comfy bed.
Staff were very friendly & service was excellent. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SW1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I needed a hotel in the area for a few days in December. Unfortunately there aren't a massive amount of hotels in the Waterford/Tramore areas, and this looked the best for a two night stay.

I arrived after a long drive and found the hotel quite easily. On entering the hotel I was struck by the strong chlorine smell from the swimming pool, which seems to propagate the entire hotel and is quite sickly at times. Check in wasn't difficult and I was directed to my room on the top floor. The room was a reasonable size, if a little dated. The bed was reasonably comfortable. There is wifi throughout the hotel but it is very patchy, and has one access point for each area of the hotel - so as soon as you move in the room you connect to a different network and have to authenticate again! A little frustrating.

The bathroom was nice, although the water pressure in the shower was very poor. I mentioned it to the staff who seemed surprised, and said they would investigate it.

I didn't eat dinner in the hotel as it was only a short walk to the city centre with numerous take-out restaurants, but I did have breakfast every day which was excellent. It was a full Irish affair in a buffet-style, but unfortunately didn't start being served until 7.30am, which seemed a little late during the week, I would have thought 6.30 or 7am would be a more reasonable time to start serving breakfast when people need to travel into work.

All in all, not a bad hotel but needs some tarting up, and a few improvements here and there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZYFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

stayed there twice once in Feb 2012 with a party of 30 friends ( we get together after Christmas every year in different hotels) wonderful dinner , great atmosphere, The staff were very helpful (good tip always helps) made space available for our party to remain seated after the meal, enjoyed the stay and the breakfast following morning, fantastic

Room Tip: overlooking the river is magic early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just back from a lovely relaxing stay in the Tower Hotel with my mum and children. It was a great central location for us to access the Winterval Festival. While we were there we visited the leisure centre which was excellent. We had our meals in the bar both evenings and the staff couldn't have been more friendly, remembering the children's names and giving them colours while we waited for our food. The food was top quality. Very enjoyable weekend all around.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerward3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

HCS Business Solutions had our Christmas Party last night in the Tower Hotel and it was an excellent night.
The food was delicious, the atmosphere was great and the room was beautifully decorated. All the staff were so helpful. Brass & Co were brilliant and we all have sore feet today from all the dancing.
Thanks to all staff for making our party a wonderful night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shivso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing