We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My friend and I spent two nights in the great hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The in room wifi was great. The location was excellent as well and a relative short walk from the train station and only two blocks from Waterford Crystal. The Irish breakfast was excellent. I would recommend to anyone that is traveling to Waterford.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are fortunate to have a great location in the heart of the Viking Triangle and Waterford City. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity to look after you again.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    319
    183
    89
    59
See reviews for
262
345
37
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent 3 short nights in this beautiful hotel, the room was spacious, bright and clean. The waiting staff were wonderful always catering to our needs and very friendly. Our server Alice was so helpful and always checking to make sure we had everything we needed and if it suited us fussy people. The food was excellent and a good price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We have a great team of staff that work very hard to deliver good service and it really means alot to see them recognized. I will pass on your kind words to Alice and I know she will be delighted to hear them.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to look after you again in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Not much positive that I can say. The beds were terrible;TV are old; this place really need updating. The dinner staff was great but the breakfast staff was rude & impatient. I really think there must be better locations around but you may have to go away from city center.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WIgolfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. I appreciate your feedback and we will use it to improve the service that we offer.

I hope we will have the opportunity to look after you again and I will personally make sure that you have an enjoyable stay. Please feel free to contact me directly should you choose to return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Across the street from the waterside, the location of this hotel is perfect. An easy walk to anywhere in town, including the Waterford Crystal factory, there is free parking, bar and restaurant, and lovely staff. The room is typically plain with no air circulation but a fan was brought to the room within minutes of my request. The bathroom was perfectly clean and modern and bright. Beds were comfortable. Although there are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby, the hotel’s in-house bar and restaurant are pleasant with good food, service, and prices. Although I didn’t use the fitness facilities, there’s a nice indoor pool and gym. The outstanding aspect of this establishment is the staff at the counter. They went out of their ways to help guide me where needed. Yes, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gartenkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive feedback and for commenting on our staff. This recognition means so much to the team and I will be delighted to share it with them.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay in our great city and I do hope you will visit again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good. Nice stay
Friendly. We stayed during the week and we're very happy with all parts of our short stay. I would gladly recommend this venue to anyone. Rooms were very accessible and clean. Actually it exceeded our expectations. Would gladly return for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yzypkfnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you would gladly return.
We could not ask for a better recommendation!!

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was over fifteen years since I last stayed in the Tower in Waterford. Back then, it was one of the top hotels in Waterford. In between and during the Celtic Tiger years, plenty of other hotels have sprung up in the Waterford region. Sadly, the Tower appears to have been left behind in the rush.
Now a 3 star hotel, the property feels a bit dated and would benefit from a makeover. Given its prime location beside the River Suir and given that its owners - the FBD Group - have not gone into receivership/NAMA, there is a strong case for a redevelopment.
The bedrooms look tired and jaded and a bit cramped while the bathrooms have seen better days. In the room I was staying, the grouting on the bath tiles was coming away and there was a musty smell.

Although we only dined in once - in the carvery in the bar on the ground floor - it was very good and reasonable. The bar staff, however, would benefit from a crash-course at a charm school. This is one of the things that bugs me about Irish hotels and the standard of hospitality - we ( we as a nation) appear to have lost that level of friendliness for which we were once known for throughout the world. Ireland of the Welcomes has become Ireland of the Begrudgers. As an economy coming out of recession and with tourism expected to play a major role in driving economic growth, we need our hotels and the people who operate and work in them to step up to the plate because there are plenty of other nice places in Europe one can go to for a long weekend. And they are much cheaper too !

Room Tip: If you are staying at the weekends, get a room at the back - as opposed to one fronting the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMack116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food offering and restaurant service.

The Tower is indeed an FBD Hotel. We are a 135 bedroom 3 star hotel and have in fact always been a 3 star hotel.
Thankfully, we have been fortunate to have received significant reinvestment from FBD over the over the last 4 year with over 83 of our 133 bedrooms being upgraded. We have also upgraded our 2 restaurants and also our 2 function rooms.

Perhaps, our your next visit to Waterford you would reconsider staying with us again and perhaps upgrading from the Budget room which you stayed in on our last stay at a very keen rate of €49 room only and €59 B&B, to one of our standard rooms or even one of our SMART Rooms.

I was very disappointed to hear that your bar team under delivered on this occasion. This certainly is not acceptable to me or our Beverage Manager Colleen and we will be addressing your feedback directly with the Bar Team this week.

I do hope you will give us another chance and not wait another 15 years to revisit the Hotel.
I would welcome to opportunity to handle your reservation on your next visit so please feel free to contact me directly when we choose to return.

Once again , thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Decor is a bit dated and the building feels like it could do with a freshening up in places, essspecially around the pool and locker rooms. Beds weren't great but not the worst. Bathrooms in the rooms were good.
Staff were superb it's got to be said. Very polite friendly and actually very good at their jobs.
Food and drink was good quality also and the location was good in the town.
I would stay here again for sure if I visit Waterford again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing