We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in the tower hotel Waterford for two nights on Sunday and Monday. The staff are friendly and polite. The hotel is very clean. The food is good. I would certainly stay in this hotel again.
Catherine from limerick

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Catherina,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    326
    183
    89
    60
See reviews for
270
349
38
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arriving at 8pm on a Friday night with confirmed bookings for two adjacent superior refurbished rooms - we were told that the hotel had records for only one 'ordinary' room. A large wedding party had checked in earlier and was occupying their attention. So we had two really scruffy terriblly noisy hot rooms above the noisy ballroom and next to the hot air exhausts. -avoid room 117!!
Great location next to the best parts of Waterford - just a pity about their attitude to paying guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 1st Floor, facing away from the road. Avoid nights when there is a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, Owner at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are following up with the Agents that you make your reservations with to ascertain what led to the variances you have outlined. I am sorry that this cast a shadow over your arrival at the Hotel. This certainly is an uncommon occurrence for us.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your time in Waterford and I do hope you will visit the Tower again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Myself and my husband got married on the 30th May 14 and held our reception in The Tower Hotel. We couldn't have asked for a better venue for our special day. The standard of the food and service was fantastic. A lot of our guests commented on the friendliness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Everyone went that extra mile to ensure the day went off without a glitch. From the planning to the actual day we were at ease and had no stress whatsoever. The bridal suite was beautiful and they left champagne and a little gift in the room on our arrival. A big thank you to Deirdre and all her team. We will definatley be recommending The Tower Hotel to everyone. Thanks Again.
Amy and Liam

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymeagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Amy & Liam,

We were so happy to read your review. We are delighted that your Wedding Day was as special as you had hoped. I will pass on your very kind feedback to Deirdre, Patrick and the rest of the team and I know they will all be so pleased to hear it.

We love weddings as the Tower and are delighted that you chose us for your special day.

Best wishes for your married life together and we look forward to seeing you on your 1st wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards,

Alicia & The Team at the Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were part of a Globus Bus Tour going from London to Wales, Ireland and Scotland and back to London. Fairly noisy in the evening from music outside. Many in our group complained about the noise and one from smoke coming from the patio.

The dinner was fabulous, many choices but the turkey and ham dish with potatoes etc was as good as can be. Also, the seafood chowder got rave reviews from the group.

TV was an old cathode style and was minimal, no sleep timer........would have been nice to drown out the noise.........and no direct going to station.

The place has charm though, right on the rIver, and just a short walk to the Waterford Crystal plant, which is really worth seeing.

Room Tip: It is probably quieter in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our dining experience with us. We are indeed fortunate to have an excellent location in the heart Waterford’s Viking Triangle and 2 minutes walk from Waterford Crystal.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Ireland.

Kind Regards

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for two nights the staff made our stay enjoyable. they were very helpful to us.. The corridors were like a maze tryin to get to our room but it was well sign posted. The hotel needs some re decorating. We would have stayed longer if we didnt have other committments.

Room Tip: standard room had 2 single beds and 1 double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRK2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It great to hear that you would have liked to stay with us longer.
Hopefully, next time you will get to enjoy the hotel facilites further and the many great attractions in Waterford City and County..

We look forwarding to looking after your again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my first stay in the Tower Hotel. I have been to Waterford on many occasions and couldn't get into my preferred hotel so decided to give the The Tower a try. My room was large, bright and clean, the bathroom was okay although the silicon sealant around the bath panel was hanging off and the toiletries were very basic.There is a need to update the TV, it is a small old model tucked away in the corner of the room.
During my stay the weather was hot which led to a problem getting some sleep. There is no air conditioning and when the window is left open the traffic noise can be unbearable. I understand the hotel is not responsible for traffic noise but a fan or air conditioning in rooms would be a big help.
Breakfast was very good, the quality of the food was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. Car parking is well arranged and trouble free.
In summary, a good stay and I will have no problem using the Tower Hotel again only next time outside of a hot spell of weather.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryR847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that your first stay at the Tower Hotel was an enjoyable one.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to look after your again in the future on your next visit to Waterford,

Kind Regards

Alicia Maguire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As part of our trip around Ireland I booked us into the Tower for three nights. After two nights we decided to extend our stay to the full week. On asking if we could extend on the wednesday morning we found out the hotel was nearly at capacity for the weekend (very understandable if you have had the pleasure of stopping here) and we may have a problem.

Therese on reception asked if we could give her a couple of hours to try and accommodate us and explained she may have to move us as a last resort IF a room was available.

When we returned to the hotel after lunch Therese told us not only had she managed to find space after a little juggling but we could also stay in the room we were in.

Now if you want to know how great the hotel is there are plenty of reviews below that give you all the info you need, I just wanted to let everyone know how the hotel also goes above and beyond what is normally required to help.

So I would just like to say thank you to Therese and add my compliments to the management for hiring some of the best staff we have come across on our travels.

Room Tip: We were on the front overlooking the street but absolutely no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyMooreUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that Therese was able to accommodate you request to extend your stay. We take it as a huge compliment that you decided to extend your stay from 3 days to 7 days. This is also very complimentary of Waterford city and not just the hotel that you decided to stay with us longer.

Therese was extremely grateful for your feedback. She is indeed a great asset to our hard working team here at the Tower .

Thank you and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to look after your again in the future.
Kind Regards

Alicia Maguire General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing