We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel in Waterford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Truly average hotel in Waterford in need of some restoration, Staff were friendly, bedrooms were average, bathroom looked in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

I would have said that the Tower Hotel suffers from faded grandeur, but that would be to presume it had grandeur in the first place. This is a characterless place. My double room was showing its age, with mould growing around the bath and a curtain rail about to fall from the window. A teaspooon lay mysteriously on the bathroom sink for no apparent reason. I had one of the worst pints of Guinness I can remember in the bar, with a head that looked more dark brown than creamy white. The hotel corridors stink of food - it put me right off my breakfast. The hotel is in a decent location, but views of the river from the third floor are marred by the detritus lying on the roof below. The reception staff were friendly, but all in all, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of August for 2 nights. We had a number of rooms booked and we were well looked after. Everything went to plan, we had a very smooth, organised checkin with all our rooms on the same floor. The bedrooms are nice and spacious. Breakfast was brilliant with a great selection of everything. The hotel is located in a great spot, very close to everything. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

myself and 5 friends travelled to waterford for a girls weekend and we had a ball at the Towers Hotel. the staff were brilliant, the food was excellent and the overall service we received could not be faulted. the rooms were a bit stuffy but we asked for a fan and got one within minutes and we were able to open the windows wider when we took the locks off. we had a great time and would like to thank all the staff cause they were fab!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This hotel has an excellent location and overall is quite a nice hotel. Our room was small and a bit stuffy but very clean. The pool is large and a great place to have a relaxing swim. The sauna was wonderful, but really the hotel could do better than the white,plastic, garden furniture in the steamroom!
The breakfast was fine, but the room did get cramped.
Staff were extremely nice and there was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel.
Overall, a lovely place to visit and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassiopeia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I recently stayed here for a weekend away, got a great deal online for 2 nights, late check out, and a dinner for two included. The price was very reasonable but after the stay i can see why they have it so cheap. The hotel itself is very easy to find great location, car park is shocking, does not have the capacity to hold all the cars, in fairness tho the lady from check in did her best and got us a space. Check in staff were great, very friendly etc..the lifts um...are scary and need some work as do the rooms, which are basic but again for the price i paid i cant complain. The room itself was very noisy as our room was located by the back of the hotel. The hallway did smell of food and the decor really needs a touch up. The dinner in the hotel which was included in the package was average at best, aside from breakfast we did not eat or drink in the hotel after our first experience. The waiter was extremely rude when we complained about waiting 10mins for our drinks. So it was a no no for me. I do like the Tower hotels becoming more enviro friendly, but to increase on this why change the soap everyday aswell, just a suggestion.

I dont think i will go back, ive stayed there once and that was enough, i dont think i would recommend it either unless someone isnt too concerned with luxury. I dont want to take anything from the staff as i thought they were fantastic but this hotel does need a bit of work and its location has got huge potential.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabz2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I stayed with my husband and toddler son over the spraoi festival weekend, we parked behind the hotel and unloaded the bags, buggy and child to incounter 8ish steps to get into the hotel, not good. Apart from that the staff we're friendly on check in and after confiming our stay we made out way to our room. The room was overlooking the river which was great. One downfall was the heat in the room even with the window open it was very uncomfortable. The room was clean and well laid out, the bathroom was ok, good shower but when i went to bath our son the taps would not turn on. The bathrooms could do with being done up. Had dinner in the restaruant and even though I booked at late notice we got a table, the food was very good and the staff I must say were also very good and knew we were under pressure with having a child sitting there who wanted to be running about. We had breakfast in our room and this was great, arrived on time and hot. I may sound abit negative on some aspects but I would recommend the Tower Hotel to friends and family. Also good for couples as close to the town centre, pubs restaurants etc

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helpfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £76 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing