We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hook and Ladder

Hook and Ladder
Ranked #30 of 178 Restaurants in Waterford
Price range: US$1 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The idea behind cafehome is to showcase a number of various store concepts under the one brand, with each individual concept retaining its own individual ethos and style.The first of these concepts is Hook & Ladder, where we’ve created a unique atmosphere with expertly trained staff, showcasing a broad range of Irish artisan foods, plus a range of furniture and accessories. One truly unique aspect to Hook & Ladder is that all the café fittings – from the cutlery & crockery, to the seats you sit on – are available for purchase.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Cannot recommend this place highly enough! It is such a unique concept! I really enjoyed the food particularly the desserts - they are amazing! I was pleasantly surprised to find out they also run cooking classes and demonstrations that are available for group bookings. Great idea for parties! This is so much more than a cafe - I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMcA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    17
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not great value for money”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had lunch here today with friends, café has a lovely atmosphere however it is very overpriced. I had the quiche which came with a tiny side salad- two mouthfuls and coldslaw- which has on forkful. This was priced at 7.50 which I thought was a bit steep considering the portion size was quite small and also the quiche was warm on the edges and cold on the inside. My friend had a toasted sandwiches which was served on a side plate with a handful of crisps for 6 euro. I am all for supporting local business however the prices need to be lowered in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lou1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Too basic!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Had a salad for 8.50 and it was very bland and unimaginative with no dressing...no different to something you'd make at home! The coffee was great tho and the staff very extremely friendly and welcoming! Some of the deserts looked amazing although I didn't have any!

Helpful?
Thank Hihihhihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have visited Hook & Ladder a number of times and always been impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff and the quality of the food on offer. I was so impressed by the furniture that i bought one of the small circular tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruairi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've always found it hard to find a nice welcoming cafe in Waterford
Heard through a friend about this cafe and decided to go along and check it out. Great fresh food and wonderful staff. Especially Jordan (I think) who was very welcoming and helpful when I was browsing the unique giftware section of the shop. Great shop,great cafe, would really recommend to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hook and Ladder also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Hook and Ladder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing