We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you have to try the cookery school”
Review of Hook and Ladder

Hook and Ladder
Ranked #51 of 174 Restaurants in Waterford
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The idea behind cafehome is to showcase a number of various store concepts under the one brand, with each individual concept retaining its own individual ethos and style.The first of these concepts is Hook & Ladder, where we’ve created a unique atmosphere with expertly trained staff, showcasing a broad range of Irish artisan foods, plus a range of furniture and accessories. One truly unique aspect to Hook & Ladder is that all the café fittings – from the cutlery & crockery, to the seats you sit on – are available for purchase.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“you have to try the cookery school”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

the school seems to a new thing here.it was not here on last visit.i seem to be developing an addition to the classes.now have done 3 separate classes.i really really recommend you try any class to start.best night out by a long shot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank olek m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    14
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“learing is fun”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

a first for me personally.i attended a one night class and is was really fun and has given me great confidence in the kitchen to try things out.we can eat better for less and enjoy it more when we do it for ourselves..these classes should be a must for every singe person.single married young and old.
well done to whoever came up with it.
excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olek m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful south east coast of ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fun place to be very A great restaurant for daytime eating!!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I have been going to the Hook and ladder since it opened. You come in the door and often have to join the que to give your order at the counter. The menu is wraps paninies soups sandwiches cakes tee coffee etc. I know so many people who go here for the same reason I do it is such a fun place to be and even though you look after yourself the staff are brilliant at keeping on top of it all. I love the food. I love to hear the chatter the laughter and what they choose to serve. Great parking free another bonus. If you want quiet, silver service etc then don't go. Those who are the regulars love it too. The restaurant is packed every day they are deffenetly doing it right.




  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knockanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, but coffee and food are average”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Visited this cafe twice. The staff were very friendly even though they were very busy during the Christmas period. Coffees are passable, and their cakes are quite nice. The disappointment for me was with the small Irish breakfast, the low quality products used led to a rather tasteless (other than the overpowering use of salt, common in cheap bacon and sausage). Stick to coffee and a cake and you will enjoy this little cafe.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drjcryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant !!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hook and Ladder is such a unique place. I absolutely loved it ! It makes a welcome change from the same old cafés. The coffee is to die for and I bought some beautifully made cream cakes. I felt like it was more like an outing in itself to visit hook and ladder their selection of really cute vintage kitchen stuff in the shop was so cute. I know they have a cookery school as well and if they can show me how to make the jam pastry thing then sign me up !! I will definitely return !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mar7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hook and Ladder also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Hook and Ladder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing