We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchen Closed”
Review of Hook and Ladder

Hook and Ladder
Ranked #22 of 196 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The idea behind cafehome is to showcase a number of various store concepts under the one brand, with each individual concept retaining its own individual ethos and style.The first of these concepts is Hook & Ladder, where we’ve created a unique atmosphere with expertly trained staff, showcasing a broad range of Irish artisan foods, plus a range of furniture and accessories. One truly unique aspect to Hook & Ladder is that all the café fittings – from the cutlery & crockery, to the seats you sit on – are available for purchase.
Reviewed 23 October 2018

I visited Hook and Ladder last week - We were looking for something light to eat - but Disappointed to be told that the Kitchen was closed and it was only 4.15pm on Sat Eve - We were told there was some cakes etc left - but that was an exaggerating as there was only half apple Pie and a few packs of Rocky Road - It just gives the impression that the staff just want to get out of the place - Lets just say I will not be going in after 4pm again - Its a pity as the business is there as many customers came in after us and told the same thing

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rocket43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Would go to Hook and Ladder any time I’m in Waterford for lunch.. I have orders the felafel dish before and it was lovely so I ordered it again last week. What came out was totally unrecognizable as either felafel or the previous dish I had had. This time what was supposed to be felafel on naan bread was actually a large burger size yellow patty Which was gooey on pita bread. There was a taste of felafel from the spice jar ... served with a mound of coleslaw. It was inedible. The one thing the staff are good at is running to the door when you come in but it stops there. Single person directed to a table between families with babies .. I told them I’d opt for somewhere else, it was 3pm loads of tables. Ordered coffee and after 10 mins went looking for it ... bill of 17.87 for a main course and coffee and small Diet Coke ... expensive and disappointing

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank Aine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

I have been going to Hook & Ladder for a while now and I have to say the staff are so friendly and helpful. I was in there this morning for breakfast and the manager, Niall I think his name is) was very attentive and helpful .
Gorgeous coffee and fantastic food.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and daughter visited the Hook and Ladder today for lunch. The treatment and the food they received was superb. They couldn’t speak highly enough about the staff. The food was excellent, my daughter who lives near Dublin, and eats out regularly said it was the best food she has had. A special thanks to Jordan. Thanks again from Maria and Sinead

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank havingaballWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Glenn for being such a friendly, accommodating and generally charming waiter. Really enjoyed our lunch as a result. Well impressed

Date of visit: August 2018
4  Thank jonesval21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hook and Ladder also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Hook and Ladder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing