We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cafe in an Historic Site, Limited Seating”
Review of Aoife's - CLOSED

Aoife's
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Schererville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Cafe in an Historic Site, Limited Seating”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This great little cafe is located in 33 The Mall. It is located right down the street from Waterford Crystal, Waterford Medieval Museum, and Bishop's Palace. The food was great and they offer gluten free options and organic foods. There are only a few tables, so it would not be good for large groups.

The building is significant because in 1848, the Irish Tricolour was flown here for the very first time by Thomas Francis Meagher, an Irish Revolutionary Union Army General, Lawyer, Orator, Author and Secretary of Montana.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“FOOD FOR THE BODY ART FOR THE SPIRIT”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Aoife's Cafe in the iconic and historic 33 The Mall Waterford has the warmest welcome, a split level dining area that exhibits excellent art in the dining area and a bright and airy upstairs art gallery. I had a breakfast and a lunch there recently and it was a wonderful experience. Young friendly proprietor Aoife, a nifty and tasty menu. I had a rasher breakfast to gladden the heart,
and the art was splendid. At lunch I had a great choice and I met happy people who had come to experience the historic place and loved the ambience and the conversation that was cosmopolitan and good.. Not only is the artworks on display funky and different, but there is a resident ghost, and that is not just a tourist tale of tallness. I met a psychic there who told me he knew I would be there and that I would buy him a coffee. Ya gotta love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank storym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stopped here for lunch, just dropped in as we arrived in the City. Well worth a visit. Excellent Wraps, Panninis etc. in nice gallery surroundings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KevClarke0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fresh & friendly”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

homemade, fresh ingredients and fresh coffee made for a delicious lunch. Friendly and informative staff. Historic building 33 the mall - quick view of vibrant art gallery display upstairs very pleasant indeed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bewarebeehive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely spot ”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Aoife does great coffee. Its a lovely spot for food for lunch. Aoife and all the staff are very friendly n helpful.

Helpful?
Thank meadhbhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aoife's also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing