We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Way to Explore Waterford City”
Review of Waterford Tours - CLOSED

Waterford Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Waterford Tours and the city's only sightseeing roadtrain. Hop aboard and let us take you to the sights of this wonderful city in total comfort and safety . Meet our friendly staff who are willing to help you explore the city. Listen to our onboard tour guide as he tells you the story's and history of the oldest city in Ireland.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Way to Explore Waterford City”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I took the Waterford Tours Road Train with my son (6). It's an excellent way to see the sights and sounds of Waterford City while also getting a really interesting overview of the history of Waterford. The tour was easy to find on the Mall outside The Bishops Palace and Waterford Crystal. The driver was friendly and great about letting kids take photos or ring the bell on the train! The guide was in the carriage with us which was great as we could ask questions (which is often frustrating with automated audio guides). She was really good recounting the history of Waterford as we passed through the streets and various spots of historical relevance. She did an especially good job 'translating' everything for the younger members of the audience! The road train is as comfortable as any car/bus yet small enough to travel through the older narrower Viking streets of Waterford as well as up the hills to the Medieval parts. What struck me was that no matter the weather this was one way of seeing all the sights - although the day we went was a scorcher in the Sunny South-East!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank conorpowermusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Fun-filled Waterford Tours road train”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

With lots of beautiful sunshine in Waterford, in south-east Ireland at the moment, I decided to check out the new summer ''Waterford Tours ''Sightseeing City Traiin''.

This is a new venture, only launched this year, to bring some fun to the city and be educational at the same time. It is a perfect attraction for all, especially families and school groups.
As the train arrived in Barronstrand Street, with bell ringing, my wife Marian and I were greeted by the smiling train driver, Michael Haley, who welcomed us aboard this charming, brightly coloured road train. We Settled into our cosy carriage with some other families and our guide John handed us an information-packed map of the city with all the interesting historic points highlighted.

It was a real fun experience being transported through the streets and all along the route, pedestrians and shoppers alike were constantly waving us by.

The tour guide gave a commentary on the almost 1,100 year old history of Waterford and it really is a fantastic story. His depth of knowledge was amazing. On our route we passed many fabulous historic buildings, including the famous Reginald's Tower (built in 914). Many of the old city walls and Watch Towers are still standing after hundreds of years and are now carefully preserved.

The train journey takes about 35-40 minutes but once you have paid your fare, you can hop on at any time of the day.

Waterford is Irelands oldest city and is older than ALL of the Northern European cities with the exception of London and Paris.
Waterford has re-invented itself in recent years and now boasts many very interesting and newly developed attractions which is already drawing bigger numbers of tourists to this ancient city. World famous for its House of Waterford Crystal, the beautifully restored Bishops Palace, The Medieval Museum, The 19th century Theatre Royal, City Hall, Reginalds Tower, 13th century Franciscan Friary, Christ Church Cathedral, Art Galleries and many old ruins, some dating back to the 12th century - and all within a one mile radius. The centre of the city area is called the Viking Triangle.

Andhey, did you know that the Irish Tricolour flag was first flown in Ireland in Waterford City from the window of 33 The Mall in 1848 by Irish patriot Thomas Francis Meagher.
The road train runs every day throughout the summer months and is well worth checking out. Bring the kids, its great fun . . . whoooo whoooo

I've attached a link to a little Video I did of the train if you would like to check it out.

http://youtu.be/C6SYgC95gfY

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank michael109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to catch the Historic highlights of Waterford City”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Waterford Tours Road Train is a great way to catch all the historic high points of Waterford City in comfort.
Easy to find (outside the bishops palace) from what I remember they run a pretty regular service. The driver was helpful and the tour fun. The fact we were traveling on a train also helped entertain the kids.
For families and those who want to catch the historical highlights of Waterford City in comfort then this is for you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tillhavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Road-train Journey”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I really, really enjoyed the tour of Waterford on the road-train. In the unusually hot weather for Ireland it was nice to be sheltered from the sun for the duration of the tour which takes approx 30-40 mins. An interesting part was that it wasn't just a spin around the city in the road-train but that there was an interesting insight into the history of Waterford City itself given by a tour-guide on the train.
As the bell rings along the way people all along the streets in the city are stopping to wave at the passengers. It's a cool and fun time. It came recommended to me by a friend and I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Waterford City.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent day out. Really interesting and good value.”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We took the train through the city with our little daughter and really had a great day. Waterford is steeped in history and the tour brings it life. The bus driver was great craic too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevopal-mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterford Tours also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing