We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Clean Rooms, Nice Leisure Centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treacys Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean Rooms, Nice Leisure Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel last week for 5 nights as I was attending a course with other delegates. I was happy enough with the quality of service I received. The staff were friendly and were always happy to attend to our needs. The room and en-suite were spotlessly cleaned, nice and spacious for the single occupant. The buffet breakfast was good, however I would prefer if there was some fresh fruit available too.
The pool and gym was lovely. The Jacuzzi, sauna was very relaxing. Other delegates received spa treatment, which they enjoyed.
The hotel is in a very ideal spot, only a few minutes walking distance from all the shops and pubs.
The bar food good. Restaurant food was "okay"
My only big concern is that there was a vending machine outside my room door which made a very load humming noise; any light sleepers might find it hard to sleep listening to this.
Overall it's a good place, and I would come back again.

Room Tip: Light sleepers maybe advised to stay away from room 101- 104 as vending outside machine is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatMTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear KatMTR,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time our to review your stay at our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you were happy with the level of service you received during your stay and that you found your bedroom to be spotlessly clean. Our facilities in the leisure centre and the spa are great so i am delighted that you had time to enjoy these too. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at the hotel. I take on board your comment about more fresh fruit being available during breakfast and will speak to our head chef to have this implemented. I have also raised your concern about noise from the vending machine outside your room with management and we are looking to have the vending machine moved. Once again thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    306
    144
    97
    149
See reviews for
267
330
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family (2 adults and 3 small kids) stayed at this hotel on the 23-25 March and we really enjoyed our stay.
The location is excellent and is just a short walk from the main shopping area of Waterford and main nightlife spots.
The Hotel is also located well to suit both a quite holiday or alternatively a busy weekend.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
There is an excellent swimming pool and the kids really enjoyed it.
Our bedroom was very clean and there was an excellent view of the Quay.
The bar of the hotel was busy with music on both nights, which we could not hear from our room.

When I am going to Waterford City I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Mark,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time with us. I'm delighted to hear that you loved our facilities and found our staff very helpful and polite! It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed in Treacys in Waterford for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Was abit septical considering the previous reviews on Trip advisor but was pleasantly surprised. Check in was quick and efficient and we were then shown to our room which was in the newer part of the hotel. Our room was spotless clean and beautifully decorated. We ate in both the restaurant and the bar and the food was really tasty and given the weekend that was in it, staff were under pressure but handled it very well. There was a great atmosphere around the place on Saturday and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.Marian who I think works on the desk was extremely helpful when we asked her advice on where to go in Waterford, and even though it was obvious she was busy she took the time to speak to us for a considerable length of time, nothing seemed to be too much bother for her. Leisure was fabulous and wasn't too busy which was great! Hotel is centrally located in Waterford but not too central that you cant get a decent nights sleep ! Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel and of our staff. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were very helpful. I will certainly pass your compliments onto Marian and other staff. They will be delighted to hear of your lovely comments.
Once again thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

stayed here last weekend and I must say the hotel both staff and facilities were excellent especially the afternoon entertainment provided in the bar last Sunday. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Brian,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your stay at our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us and that you found hotel facilities and staff great! I'm trilled that you would recommend our hotel to anyone.
Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

A group of women from Ringsend booked a weekend on 3rd and 4th March 2012 for a 50th Birthday, we did not know what to expect, arrivied at Hotel to a warm and friendly welcome by staff, rooms were very nice, entertainment was great, Bar staff and other staff were extremely freindly, just what you need for a weekend break and a bit of crack. Marian Long was extremely helpfull to us and could not do enough to make our weekend so enjoyable.
Thanks to all the staff and in particular Marian from the Seven Women from Ringsend. Denfintely returning with the women, might even bring our partners next time

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Carol,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review our hotel. I'm trilled to hear that you will definitely be back to stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you really enjoyed entertainment and found staff extremely friendly. I will be certain to pass this review onto Marian too, she will be delighted.
Once again thank you for your kind words and your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

stayed there for a hens weekend. Staff were really helpful. Rooms were big and very clean. I would recommend the hotel. I am hoping to go back in july for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Johanna S,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your lovely review. I'm delighted to read you really enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to have you and the rest of your party at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here as part of a hen party group last year in May 2011 & to say I won't be returning again is an understatement.

The room were small & basic but cheap so at least that was a relief. The food was woeful, and trying to get any sort of sleep just wasn't a runner. I didn't go to the hen to sleep but when you crawl into bed at 3 & 4 in the morning you want to be able to sleep but the walls are so paper thin,you hear everything....I mean everything from all the near rooms!!! It's advertised as having a spa but the spa is actually just a place next door & nothing to do with the hotel. I hated it. The bar staff were good though so credit to them.

It's cheap & good value if all you want is a base but if you are a couple/family/want any sort of sleep,Treacy's ain't for you.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lav-senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Lav-senior,
Thank you for your stay with us last year and for taking the time out to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the bar and found the bar staff very helpful. I'm happy to hear that you were also happy with our hotel room rates.
Firstly I would like to correct you on your statement "It's advertised as having a spa but the spa is actually just a place next door & nothing to do with the hotel" as Spirit Spa IS part of our hotel and you CAN access the Spa through our hotel and this has always been the case. Our Spa is very popular with not only our hotel guests but also very popular with the people of Waterford.
I'm sorry to hear that you did not like our food. We normally receive nothing but compliments on our food. I'm also sorry to hear that you did not get a good night sleep when you arrived back at the hotel at 3/4 in the morning. Our reception is open 24 hours and if noise from other bedrooms was keeping you awake it would just take a quick phone call to reception to have this matter resolved.
Once again thank you for your stay with us last year and for taking the time out to review our hotel.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing