We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treacys Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My partner and I have just stayed in Treacys for the Easter weekend. Despite being one of four coach tour groups staying that weekend we found things to be extremely well organised. The room was clean, fresh and tastefully decorated. The food was magnificent and the service very good. We were lucky enough to have a room at the front of the hotel, looking out over the river. The entertainment was very good and bar prices reasonable.
The staff we met were friendly and helpful and we felt nothing was too much trouble.
We hope to visit Waterford again one day and when we do we will definitely stay at Treacys.

Room Tip: We found room 106 was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Ken,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time at our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear our staff get praised for their hard work and service. I am happy to know you found food here was magnificent. I will be sure to let our chefs know!I'm trilled to hear that you will be back with us again.
Once again thank you very much for your stay with and your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you and your partner again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    306
    144
    97
    149
See reviews for
267
330
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Family 2 night stay:

Parking far away was not told this so had walk with 2 young kids, buggys,bags etc to hotel. Our room block B means you get lift frm reception to level 1 then walk ages (like walking whole grafton st), then 5 steps to next lift take till level 3.

Kids club basic. extra charge €10 fr dinner + €5 fr film. wouldnt pay €5 fr film and small cup popcorn so did arts + crafts.

Food in bar EXPENCIVE so went out town for dinners.

Swiming pool was freezing. Lockers ONLY hold mobile phone +keys. Changing room freezing my kids were crying + shaking.

Kids got easter egg each on arrival. lovely idea.

Breakfast basic.

At night we could hear runing water into tank very enoying. Towls had stains.

Room Tip: Dont stay BLOCK B to far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Lynda,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review our Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is only with feedback that we can improve the quality and service at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you that your children were happy with their Easter Eggs on arrival. We felt this was a great way to set a good atmosphere on arrival.
I'm sorry to hear that your felt parking was far away from the hotel. Walking without children it should take you no more than 4 minutes (200 m). I do understand that with children the walk would take a bit longer. We do have a loading bay at the front of hotel where you can park to drop off all buggies bags etc. to make carrying bags less stressful for guests. We always advertise that we provide free off-site parking which is rare for city centre hotels. Alternatively, there is a public carpark across from hotel but charges apply.
The historical nature of our listed hotel building may give the impression that there is a long distance from the foyer to block B. When you become familiar with your room this walk should not take any more than 2 minutes. If we were aware that you would prefer a room closer to the lift we would have done as best we could to accommodate you on this.
In relation to the Kids Club all activities apart from dinner and movie with popcorn and juice is free of charge. We also ran an Easter Egg Hunt on Sunday which was free of charge too. I hope your children enjoyed it. On top of this the Kids Club entertain children through arts & crafts & games etc.
I'm sorry to hear that you found food in the bar expensive. Our prices are extremely competitive and our food is of great quality and there is lots of it too.
I have spoken to our Leisure Centre manager in relation to your comments on the swimming pool and locker area. Our swimming pool is set at a temperature of 29 1/2 degrees.This temperature never changes and is monitored regularly. I am confused to how you were freezing in the swimming pool. The manager is however looking into increases the temperature of the changing room. I'm very sorry to hear that you children were crying & shaking when they left the pool.
I have also spoken with housekeeping about towels which you mentioned had stained on them. All our linen is outsourced to a cleaning company to be cleaned so I am looking into this complaint and I am taking it very seriously.
I am trying to understand where you could hear running water from. I would be delighted if you could give me extra information on this. If you could please contact me on 051-877222 or email me on sales@thwaterford.com.
Once again thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking time out to review your stay with us.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel last week for 5 nights as I was attending a course with other delegates. I was happy enough with the quality of service I received. The staff were friendly and were always happy to attend to our needs. The room and en-suite were spotlessly cleaned, nice and spacious for the single occupant. The buffet breakfast was good, however I would prefer if there was some fresh fruit available too.
The pool and gym was lovely. The Jacuzzi, sauna was very relaxing. Other delegates received spa treatment, which they enjoyed.
The hotel is in a very ideal spot, only a few minutes walking distance from all the shops and pubs.
The bar food good. Restaurant food was "okay"
My only big concern is that there was a vending machine outside my room door which made a very load humming noise; any light sleepers might find it hard to sleep listening to this.
Overall it's a good place, and I would come back again.

Room Tip: Light sleepers maybe advised to stay away from room 101- 104 as vending outside machine is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatMTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear KatMTR,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time our to review your stay at our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you were happy with the level of service you received during your stay and that you found your bedroom to be spotlessly clean. Our facilities in the leisure centre and the spa are great so i am delighted that you had time to enjoy these too. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at the hotel. I take on board your comment about more fresh fruit being available during breakfast and will speak to our head chef to have this implemented. I have also raised your concern about noise from the vending machine outside your room with management and we are looking to have the vending machine moved. Once again thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family (2 adults and 3 small kids) stayed at this hotel on the 23-25 March and we really enjoyed our stay.
The location is excellent and is just a short walk from the main shopping area of Waterford and main nightlife spots.
The Hotel is also located well to suit both a quite holiday or alternatively a busy weekend.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
There is an excellent swimming pool and the kids really enjoyed it.
Our bedroom was very clean and there was an excellent view of the Quay.
The bar of the hotel was busy with music on both nights, which we could not hear from our room.

When I am going to Waterford City I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Mark,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time with us. I'm delighted to hear that you loved our facilities and found our staff very helpful and polite! It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed in Treacys in Waterford for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Was abit septical considering the previous reviews on Trip advisor but was pleasantly surprised. Check in was quick and efficient and we were then shown to our room which was in the newer part of the hotel. Our room was spotless clean and beautifully decorated. We ate in both the restaurant and the bar and the food was really tasty and given the weekend that was in it, staff were under pressure but handled it very well. There was a great atmosphere around the place on Saturday and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.Marian who I think works on the desk was extremely helpful when we asked her advice on where to go in Waterford, and even though it was obvious she was busy she took the time to speak to us for a considerable length of time, nothing seemed to be too much bother for her. Leisure was fabulous and wasn't too busy which was great! Hotel is centrally located in Waterford but not too central that you cant get a decent nights sleep ! Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel and of our staff. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were very helpful. I will certainly pass your compliments onto Marian and other staff. They will be delighted to hear of your lovely comments.
Once again thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

stayed here last weekend and I must say the hotel both staff and facilities were excellent especially the afternoon entertainment provided in the bar last Sunday. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Brian,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your stay at our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us and that you found hotel facilities and staff great! I'm trilled that you would recommend our hotel to anyone.
Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

A group of women from Ringsend booked a weekend on 3rd and 4th March 2012 for a 50th Birthday, we did not know what to expect, arrivied at Hotel to a warm and friendly welcome by staff, rooms were very nice, entertainment was great, Bar staff and other staff were extremely freindly, just what you need for a weekend break and a bit of crack. Marian Long was extremely helpfull to us and could not do enough to make our weekend so enjoyable.
Thanks to all the staff and in particular Marian from the Seven Women from Ringsend. Denfintely returning with the women, might even bring our partners next time

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Carol,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review our hotel. I'm trilled to hear that you will definitely be back to stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you really enjoyed entertainment and found staff extremely friendly. I will be certain to pass this review onto Marian too, she will be delighted.
Once again thank you for your kind words and your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales&Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing