We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treacys Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were staying for a night in Waterford, wanted to have a stroll around and visit a few sites. When we arrived to the hotel the lift was broken and had to walk up two flights of stairs with our bags and then go through halls upon halls until we found our room. The heat of the hallways was sickening and didnt get much better when we got into our room. It was extremely dull and we couldnt wait to get out of there. That night while trying to sleep the walls were extremely thin and we could hear everything next door and out in the halls. The floorboards were creaky, so much so that it felt like there was someone in our room when people in the other room were walking around. There were kids running up and down the halls all night too. Throughout the night the sound of pipes or tanks filling was deafening. We hated the place and didnt even stay to use the pool or have breakfast which we had paid for. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not take the time to use the great facilities we have here at our hotel. We have a 20m swimming pool along with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. Guests love to take time out and enjoy our leisure centre and swimming pool.

I am sorry to hear that upon arrival one of our lifts was out of order. However we do have two lifts at reception and also a luggage trolley which guests can use to ease the difficulty in carrying luggage.

It is unfortunate that you did not contact reception in relation to noise problem you were having in your room. We would only of been too happy to accommodate you and move you to a different room. Our hotel was originally built in the mid 18th Century and with recent modernization we have tried to retain the charm of the building.

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can help to improve our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    306
    144
    97
    149
See reviews for
267
330
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

From looking at the hotel website we were more than happy to book as it looked lovely however the hotel when we got here and were handed a map to get to our 'block' is more faulty towers than four star - the family room we booked is claustrophobic and the grey colour scheme inside only makes it worse- am so sorry that we came here- not a good start to our Waterford experience-would never consider staying here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisydesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre is a three star Bord Failte approved hotel and not a four star hotel as mentioned in your review. We provide all guests with a map and weekly newsletter of activities. Our hotel is quite large and activities take place in different parts of the hotel. We feel that providing guests with a map prevents guests missing out on hotel activities.

We acknowledge that our colour scheme is not to your taste and we will keep this in mind when we change next.

I am disappointed to hear that you will not be back with us again. Once again thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family an I really enjoyed our stay here, my children loved the kids club they even collected our children from our room and brought them for breakfast before bringing them off to the kids club, my children loved the swimming pool but it was a bit deep for them as there is no children's part of the pool
The family room was nice and big and had everything we needed
The bar was great as there is a games room for the children to play in so u can keep your eye on them

P.S. the spa treatments are amazing

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Shelly,

I'm delighted to read that you and your family truly enjoyed your stay with us and that your children participated in our Kids Club. We are very fortunate in having a dedicated team of staff here at Treacys Hotel. This we feel enhances guests experiences during their stay. Our swimming pool is the one dept of 4ft. We do permit the use of armbands in our pool and leisure centre staff are always on hand.

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the Motorbike fest which was on in Waterford over the weekend. We really enjoyed our stay here, room was lovely and didn't hear a sound all night. Best night sleep I've had in ages. The staff were lovely to us and very helpful especially on the Sunday morning when we wanted to do a little shopping and they looked after our bags for us. We have already said we will definitely be back. Have read that other people had problems with the car park , not sure why as we had no problems at all. Ciara

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Ciara,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your stay with us. I'm trilled to read that you had a great time and that you will definitely be back to stay with us again. I'm delighted that you found a lot of comfort in your room and that hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We booked this hotel because it was so close to the train station but we didn't realise that there were 3 more hotels along the mall!

Our check-in was fine; had requested a room "with a view" and that's exactly what we got! While the hotel is nice and cosy you would know that there has been no up-dating carried out in the past 20 years, at least! The room given to us was facing the river and, therefore overlooking the main road and the traffic was noisy but that didn't seem to bother us at all. The room was on the small side with nice comfortable bed. The window opening was ample giving plenty of fresh air which is one of my pet "likes".

The bathroom, which appeared more modern than the room was nice and fresh. I had two small quibbles with the bathroom. One, they only had a soap dispenser over the handbasin and another dispenser with "hair & body shampoo" over the bath. This really annoys me as I like the little sachets of shampoo and body lotion along with the shower cap. My second quibble was the the bath/shower towels were on the small side.

The evening meal which was in an old-fashioned type of restaurant with ugly plastic table-cloths was very nice and tasty, plain but quite tasty.

We used the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and enjoyed our swim. We were caught out though not having any shampoo with us and there were no dispensers in the changing room. So I asked the attendant and he gave me a couple of sachets.

All in all this is a very comfortable hotel but extremely dated. I could not fault the service as the girls we met were lovely. I don't think I would stay here again as I liked the look of a couple of the hotels along the mall. But I would not put anyone off staying there either. IMO a bit of up-dating would make all the difference because they have everything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Mollie,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your stay with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with guests feedback that we can help improve our hotel.

Firstly, I am delighted to read that you really did enjoy your stay with us. I'm happy that staff could accommodate your request of a room with a view and the leisure centre team were also on hand to provide shampoo sachets to you. I will also look into providing sachets of shampoo in our guest bedrooms too.

Our hotel was originally built in the mid 18th Century and with recent modernization we have tried to retain the charm of the building. Local planning restrictions do not permit us to rebuild hence we must keep sash windows etc. We last updated our rooms in 2007 and added our Spa & Leisure Centre in 2009. We carry out paint work on an annual and biannual bases and maintenance work is ongoing. We are however looking at modernising our corridors at the moment.

Once again thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience with us.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

My friends and I stayed in this hotel on 29th June for the weekend. I complained at the resturant about my main meal where I was spoken to very rudely by a manager on duty. I also spoke to the customer service rep who was not very helpful. My friends had stayed here for a special occasion and it was not a good place to stay if you want manners!!!! I wrote a letter of complaint but however as of writing I have not received any proper apology, only it shouldnt have happened etc. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
The location was ideal but I would not be staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Siobhan,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We are ideally located just a short stroll from the main shopping area, we are also just a two minute walk from both bus and train station.

We do regret that you felt your stay with us was not a positive experience. We are sorry to hear that our customer service rep. and our manager on duty could not rectify your problem. It is the first time we have come across a complaint such as yours about our customer service rep. and manager. We are looking into this.

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We are just back from a three night stay in Treacy's Hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room was spacious. I used the pool which was a great amenity. Would reccommend this hotel. It is ideally situated for all the city centre sights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Ellie,

I'm delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you took time out to enjoy our leisure facilities. We are very fortunate in having a great team of staff here at Treacys Hotel. This we feel enhances guests experiences during their stay. Thank you once again for your recent stay and for taking the time out to review your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing