We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking overall”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Restaurant staff could nt be nicer lovely meal last night other tban dessert but went down hill rapidly . The room had enough beds for seven people bet into a tiny room . Neither me or partner or small child could sleep due to the extra tor fan of the the kitchen houtside our window on all nite.. then breakfast was shamefull no puddings squashed tomatoes shrivelled sausages rotton bacon and dry scamble egg and to top things off no manager on duty

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your stay. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can help to improve the quality and service at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and found restaurant staff to be very pleasant.

I am disappointed to read that you were very unhappy with your room. Treacys Hotel was originally built in the mid 18th Century and with recent modernization we have tried to retain the charm of the building for this reason we have a variety of room sizes. It is unfortunate that you did not speak to our reception team on your issues . We urge all guests to contact reception if they are unhappy with their room. Our reception team are fantastic and will do their utmost to accommodate requests from guests. We are duty bound to provide all guests with a comfortable nights sleep.

I have brought your comments on breakfast to our head chef who is taking very seriously and investigating as we speak. If you would like to contact me further on your stay you can do so on 051-877222 or alternatively email me on sales@thwaterford.com.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. This is most disappointing to hear but I do hope that you will consider returning to the Hotel again to see that your experience was a once off occurrence.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    312
    146
    101
    151
See reviews for
273
334
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

stayed for friends 40th birthday - such a great place, booked in and had requested rooms together which we got, ate in restaurant - food fab, service great, girls very helpful, a special mention to marian, who cudnt be more helpful, and had a birthday card and a box of chocolates for the birthday girl - i think that was such a wonderful, lovely, generous thought!!!
we spent the nite in the bar and enjoyed the music, craic and drink lol!
the location of the hotel cudnt be any handier, just a short walk to the shops and the town, theres a free carpark with the hotel but we used the carpark which is straight accross the road from the hotel and costs 5 on exit- great if ur not using car for couple of days!
we got a great deal online - bed breakfast and 3 course dinner for 49 euro - cudnt have been better, and we didnt want for anything!
wud defo recommend this hotel and will definatly be staying again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mseaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. I am absolutely thrilled that you and your group had a great memorable stay with us. We are extremely privileged in having a fantastic team working here at Treacys Hotel who go up and beyond to ensure all guests have a fantastic stay. I know Marian will be extremely happy with your kind words as will our kitchen team. Our kitchen team, as you have spotted are extremely talented and skilled in their cooking.

It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us. We do hope you will return to us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed 4 nights on a National Holidays Coach tour.

Food was OK and the Hotel was clean and well maintained. The staff couldn't do enough to help and were always very pleasant. It's a family run hotel and the family are there in strength to make it work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bullyleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience with us. I am thrilled that you had such a great experience here and found staff to be extremely friendly. We are extremely lucky in having a fantastic team of staff at Treacys Hotel who work extremely hard to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay. Our House-keeping team are second to none and take great pride in their work, ensuring cleanliness of the highest standard.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Hotel is very nice and the staff are very friendly, hotel food is nice and the overall stays was very enjoyable they only let know was the bar was a particular older age group and was definitely in need of a face left and also the car park is not on site it is a 5-7 mins walk about two streets up. We stayed in one of the newly renovated hotel in the B section of the rooms the rooms was good and also another let down was the matter of getting into one lift then having to walk the length of the hotel to get into another lift to get to the floor we were staying on. Pool and Spa was great. And I would stay again. And also when ask for Ice to the room we were told to get it ourselves BIG let down.

Room Tip: I would advise a room towards the B section of the Hotel seemed newer then the original part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Niall,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your stay here at Treacys Hotel Waterford. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable experience with us. We are extremely fortunate in having a fantastic team of staff who go up and beyond to ensure all guests have a great and memorable stay. Our kitchen team is extremely talented and skilled in the preparation and cooking of their food. I am thrilled you took time out to relax in both our spa and leisure centre.

Treacys Hotel was originally built in the mid 18th Century and with recent modernization we have tried to retain the charm of the building for this reason to get to some of our more modern rooms a second lift is required. I am shocked that is took you between 5-7minutes to get to our free carpark. Our carpark is 200 metres behind our hotel. Daily i walk to and from the carpark and it never takes more than 3 minutes. I will advise reception to hand out map of carpark to all guests checking in to ensure the right route is being taken. I will also bring your comments on our bar to our bar manager.

Once again thank you for your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed overnight during a Trafalgar tour and it was decent but I thought the breakfast spread was quite bad, very average food but most of all the coffee was not great at all. It had a nice view of the water and walking distance to most sights so that was a plus

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank busytraveller5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience here at Treacys Hotel Waterford. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can help improve the quality and service at our hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotels location and the views overlooking the River Suir too. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy breakfast here and found the coffee to be bad. I have taken note of this and will speak with our Head Chef and General Manager on this.

Once again thank you for your recent stay with us. I do hope we will welcome you again soon to Treacys Hotel and the sunny south east.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked this hotel for Our friend's hen weekend. From the beginning we had nothing but helpfulness and ease in dealing with all our queries. Many thanks to Rosemary for making the booking so easy for us (adding people in dropping people out). She was such a pleasure to deal with from start to finish. The big weekend finally arrived, and from the moment the boozy bus full of loud ladies turned up, to the final exit on Sunday afternoon we had nothing but the best of care and help by all staff. Nothing was too much trouble. I have to make a special mention to Marian who treated us like a bunch of friends had come to visit. You truly are a wonderful Hostess and thank you so much for looking after all of us so well. I would have no hesitations recommending this hotel to anyone. The value for money was amazing, the food was gorgeous, the location was perfect, but it is the staff that really shine. Many congratulations to this hotel for employing people who clearly love what they do and will go above and beyond to ensure you feel like you are staying in a home away from home. Thanks again for such a memorable weekend and We certainly know where we will be staying on our next visit to Waterford,

Best Regards

Gillian

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Gillian,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and such a kind thoughtful review. We are delighted that you and your group had a fantastic experience with us. We are extremely privileged in having an amazing team of staff who go above and beyond to ensure each guest has a truly fantastic experience with us. I know Rosemary and Marian will be extremely happy with your kind words as will our kitchen team. Our kitchen team, as you have spotted are extremely talented and skilled in their cooking.

We hope you all have a fantastic time at the wedding and we look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently with family
Big hotel all diffrent types of guests room was nice and clean as it was in the new part of the hotel, bar was good and lively, hens, stags, good laugh, bar food was shocking and overpriced and the breakfast was very poor as it was buffet probably the worst I've seen in a hotel, staff were very nice and polite other than the food a pleasant stay you get what you pay for !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Abbi,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience at Treacys Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can help improve the quality and service at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you liked our guest bedrooms. Treacys Hotel was originally built in the mid 18th Century and with recent modernization we have tried to retain the charm of the building for this reason we do have a variety of rooms. Our House-keeping team are second to know and take great pride in their work, ensuring cleanliness of the highest standard.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the food here at Treacys Hotel. I have brought your review to our head-chef who is looking into the matter and taking this extremely serious. We do not want to lose the great reputation we have for our home cooked dishes.

Once again thank you for your recent stay with us. I do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing