We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing good to say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
DUblin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nothing good to say”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed for one night. Worst was the room which was so noisy I coulsnt sleep. Traffic noise ans noisy guests. Room had no sound insulation from street.

Breakfast was pathetic. Hotel was shabby. Parking is 400 m away.

This is a two star quality hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am disappointed to read your stay with us was not an enjoyable one.
I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the issues you experienced while staying at the hotel. In regards to the noise you experienced, we are a city centre hotel located only 3 minutes for the main city centre so there can be a small amount of noise when the window is open. I can only apologise for the guests who were making excessive noise and had no consideration for other guests. I am shocked you found our breakfast unsatisfactory. We offer our guests a self-serving continental breakfast which includes a wide selection of cereals, fruits and cheese plates served at any requested time. However there is no full Irish breakfast until 7am as this is when our chef comes in.
In relation to parking, we do offer our guests free parking facilities which is located two blocks, 201 meters from the front door of the hotel, not 400 meters as you stated in your review. However if you were unhappy with this, there is a public car park located directly across from the hotel at a €5 charge per day.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Allison Rockett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    314
    152
    101
    153
See reviews for
276
341
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights b&b with two children ages 7 & 8. They absolutely loved the kids club and the girls that run the club are really nice and friendly and the kids had a great time with them and are already asking when can we make a return visit. The breakfast is really nice and there is a great selection of food couldn't have asked for more. The food in the bar is also really nice, the steak baguette was lovely and cooked perfectly. The rooms are nice and spacious and absolutely spotless. I could not fault this hotel atall, every staff member was really nice and friendly and I am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melly1mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you and your two children had such a memorable stay with us. We are extremely lucky to have such a fantastic team working here at Treacy’s Hotel. Thank you for your compliments on our food, we use the best local, fresh produce to ensure quality. I am delighted your children enjoyed our kids club. It is very popular amongst our guests and runs throughout the summer as well as the mid-term breaks. I am so pleased to see you will be returning to stay with us again.

Once again thank you for your feedback. I always enjoy getting to pass on such lovely comments to the rest of our team.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hats off to the staff of Treacy's Hotel. Spent 2 nights there over the weekend. Staff were most accommodating, welcoming and friendly. Family room was a very good size.
Breakfast set up was very impressive. My son keeps talking that they had chocolate cereal!!!
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Waterford.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farrellang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to read your stay was an enjoyable one. Treacy’s hotel is extremely fortunate to have such an exceptional team working here. Every member of staff gives 110% to ensure our guests are happy and content. We really do feel our personal touch enhances the experience of our guests and makes their stay even more memorable.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Treacy’s Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I'm just back from my 3 night break at Treacy's Hotel Waterford and have to say we had a great time. I stayed at this Hotel a few times before and it never lets me down. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. There were 2 adults and 4 kids in our group and we all stayed in the one room (room 224 is a very large family room). Treacy's are one of the very few hotels that would cater for such a large family. The room was perfect as usual. The staff in the Accommodation Dept are so nice and nothing is a bother to them. We decided to stay room only this time as we just wanted to chill out and not be in any hurry to go down for breakfast. The fact that the hotel has a pool is one of the reasons we book there, the kids had a ball in the pool while we were able to supervise them while relaxing in the jacuzzi as it's right beside the pool. Also they had entertainment in the bar every evening we were there so that was great, the kids enjoyed themselves in the back of the bar with the pool table and games. My kids are big so we were able to let them have a bit of freedom. I would definitely recommend Treacy's Hotel and looking forward to going back very soon.

Room Tip: If you have a large family ask for Room 224.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Liza,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and I’m delighted to read it was an enjoyable one. We are extremely lucky to have an exceptional team working here who go above and beyond to make our guests stay as memorable as possible. It’s great that you and your family could relax and enjoy a swim in our 18 meter swimming pool. Our Leisure and Spa facilities are very popular with guests. We do have entertainment in Timbertoes bar on a nightly basis which goes down a treat with both guests and locals.

Once again thank you for your lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to be able pass them on to our team. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

family room for 5 was perfect, staff were really friendly and services was quick. food was lovely and had a great selection. for both kids and adults, but the children enjoyed the kids club most of all, they were entertained from 9 in the morning til 10pm at nite, they couldnt get enough of it, the kids club staff were excellent with the children, and i would highly recommend this hotel to any one.it is very central to all the shops and museums.the staff should be proud of them selfs doing a great job.

Room Tip: ring the hotel they are very helpful for the room assitance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to share your experience with us.
I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are extremely lucky to have a fantastic team of staff working here at Treacy's Hotel. Every member gives 110% to ensure our guests have a memorable and relaxing stay. Yes we run a kid's club during the summer and mid-term breaks which is very popular amongst the families staying with us. I'm happy you and your family was able to avail of this service.
Thank you for your compliments on our food, we only use the best local, fresh produce to ensure quality.

It is a great pleasure to pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the staff. Once again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again to Treacy's Hotel in the future.

Allison Rocket
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here on a family break in July 2013 for 3 days midweek on the Supervalu breaks. The hotel is centrally located with great gym and pool facilities. The rooms are a bit dated and in need of refurbishment but the family room was quite a decent size.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and good to offer advice on places to see in the area. The kid's club at the hotel was an added bonus to keep the kids occupied for 2 hours in the evening but there was also breakfast train in the morning where the children are taken for breakfast and onwards to the clubroom for the morning session but I only availed of this for one morning as it interfered with all the activities we planned for the day because we were then unable to leave the hotel until lunchtime. Bear in mind that there is a €5 charge per child for breakfast train and the cinema night in the evening.

Lots to see and do in Waterford and all within walking distance of the hotel which is great. Entertainment is provided in the hotel bar every night if that's what you're into and the food at the hotel is quite nice if a little expensive in the bar. The set dinner in the restaurant is much better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

just back after spending four nites in treacys waterford . this is my fourth time to stay in this hotel and if you have a family its the place to be. the staff are so friendly the food is great from breakfast rite through to dinner and what i liked most bout it was you were made feel so welcome in the bar at night with your children there was no time restriction on them everybody was just there enjoying themselves and ths makes a big difference when you want to have a few drinks and relax while u are away. they also provide a great kids club and the girls that work in this area are also excellent. i would recommend this hotel highly. thank you so much marion and all the staff . hopefully will b back for halloween

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitriona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Caitriona,

Thank for taking the time to share your recent experience at Treacy's Hotel Waterford. I am delighted to read that it was a most enjoyable one. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food, our chefs are extremely talented and take great pride in what they do.
We are extremely lucky in having a fantastic team of staff who really help in making our guests stay memorable. It is a great pleasure to be able to pass on your extremely kind words to our team.

Once again thank you for your great review, and we look forward to welcoming you to Treacy's Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing