We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice staff but I'm afraid they do not make up for the hotel itself...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice staff but I'm afraid they do not make up for the hotel itself...”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked a last minute stay here after reading some positive feedback on a hotel booking website. I have to wonder if we stayed at the wrong place because we found the quality of the hotel very poor. The hotel seems to take in a lot of coach tours etc and so perhaps the people on them get a better deal and/or have lower expectations than me. The room we stayed in was in serious need of attention, it was clean but very tired and certainly not like the photos I had seen on the booking website. There is a pool and a spa area which are an added bonus for a hotel like this but they too felt dreary. the food at breakfast wasn't bad - but the restaurant it was served in was more like a school canteen. Other than the pleasant staff the only plus was the onsite Thai restaurant which was both good value for money and very nice.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 324 - continuous humming noise from what must be a plant room next door. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete-H-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m disappointed to see you did not have a pleasant stay with us.

I’m sorry you felt the quality of our hotel was poor and that the rooms were in need of attention. Our hotel has been extensively renovated in recent years but we have tried to retain the character and old-world charm of the building, which was originally built in the late 18th Century. I’m surprised to hear you felt our pool and spa areas felt dreary. As you will see from other reviews, both our Leisure Centre and Beauty Spa are extremely popular with our guests. The Wallace Suite, which is our breakfast room, is indeed a large area. We have a 163 bedrooms in our hotel so we need to accommodate for a large number of guests at breakfast time.

Thank you for your compliments on our staff and on our Thai restaurant Chiang Mai.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Michelle O’Halloran
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    314
    152
    101
    153
See reviews for
276
341
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

very bad services if you are a hotel person then it is not the place to stay,expensive dinner but the good thing it has no taste like you are eating nothing.I will not recommended this hotel at all.Its better stay in B&B.no customers services at all.

Room Tip: the best thing choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m disappointed to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

I believe you stayed for one night with us. I’m shocked you believe our hotel has no customer service when in fact our Customer Services Manager personally showed you a number of our hotel rooms when you arrived and was present in the hotel throughout your stay. As you will see from previous reviews, our Customer Services Manager is extremely popular with our guests and always on hand to help. I’m sorry you were unhappy with the meal that was served to you. Again you will see from previous reviews, poor quality food is not the standard we aim for.

We would always urge our customers to raise any issues with our reception team so any problems can be dealt with quickly, leaving you to enjoy the rest of your stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned after travelling with brent coaches from south Wales. Fantastic hotel, with excellent facilities. The owners son got married there on the friday and they all even stayed the Saturday to watch Wales get smashed against them in rugby (well done the Irish). Thanks for making us all welcome and particularly taking time out of your wedding celebrations to make us feel like family. Congratulations for the future and will definitely stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at Treacy’s and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted you had a memorable stay with us.

We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated team working with us who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a pleasurable and enjoyable stay in our hotel. Our General Manager John did indeed have his wedding here and I will be sure to pass on your good wishes to him and his new wife, Michelle.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. I look forward to passing on your lovely comments to the rest of the team.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On 30 December 2013 we set out for a five day stay at the above hotel. We travelled with Hirwaun Travel and were lucky enough to have a very good guide aboard the coach and an excellent driver.

We arrived at the hotel at about 7.30p.m. and then had a very tasty meal. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the river Suir. There was a very large bed in our room which was also extremely warm.

On New Year's Eve there was a Gala Dinner and a very good band for the evenings entertainment. The food was of a very high standard the entire time we were there.

The staff were very helpful and made our stayed very enjoyable. We do hope to return.

Our thanks also to Hirwain Travel we will travel with them again.

Room Tip: Floor three overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Diane

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted to hear you had a wonderful time here with us New Years.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed the meals you were served. Our chefs love what they do and only source fresh, local produce to ensure high quality and standard. Thank you for your compliments on our staff. We are so fortunate to have such an exceptional team working with us who go above and beyond to ensure each guest is happy doing their stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Treacy’s soon.

Kind regards,
Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here about 25-28 times in the last few years, it's an excellent hotel, staff are always happy to assist been at 3 in the morning, especially security he's the best laugh, the music is brilliant. Late night sing songs in the bar even better. Everyone's always in great humour. There's no fault in the rooms, they are always spotless, bar food is so tasty (portions could be bigger for the price) other than that it's an all round top hotel.
Keep up the good work!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted to see you had a pleasant and enjoyable visit with us here at Treacys Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff. We are so fortunate to have an exceptional team working with us who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable stay here. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your time in Timbertoes Bar. Our bar food along with our nightly live entertainment always goes down a treat with our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. They are always a pleasure to receive and we look forward to welcoming you back to Treacys in the near future.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Wasn't impressed with the hotel at all! Reception is nice looking but went over to lift go to room and there was hole in the panelling like were an old button for lift used to be which they didn't fill after moving switch. Halls very dates with old carpets our room when we first went in was like a sauna and heating control wouldn't work, got person up who fixed it but then later when got cold we went turn back on and again wouldn't work! Out room was at front of hotel it was very noisy there was bus pulled up outside at 7 on a Sunday morning with engine left running all the time! Breakfast dining room again very dated and breakfast wasn't nice . Wouldn't be staying here again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m disappointed to see you had an unpleasant stay with us.

I’m sorry to hear you felt the corridors and the breakfast room was outdated. The hotel was originally built in the late 18th Century and has undergone extensive refurbishment and modernisation in recent years. However, to keep the character and old-world charm of the building some original features are still intact today. Our air conditioning/heating system does not work when the bedroom windows are open. This is clearly stated in typed bold writing above the control system. As one of the largest hotel in Waterford, we have a wide variety of rooms available and unfortunately we cannot locate all our guests to rooms towards the back of the hotel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Waterford city and at times there is traffic noise. I’m shocked you were unhappy with the breakfast you received. Our buffet-style continental breakfast is always a favourite among guests, as you will see from previous reviews. I can only apologise you were unsatisfied.

Once again, thank you for your review. All feedback is greatly appreciated and welcomed.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had arranged a Birthday Party for the 7th. Dec at which approx. 70 guests were invited.
Some of those invited came long distances and stayed overnight.
The night was enjoyed by all and everyone were quite pleased as we were treated very well by the staff who served the food and the bar staff All in all a very enjoyable night.
Those staying overnight expressed their satisfaction with the Hotel and we also joined them for breakfast on Sunday morning which was quite busy but Marian Long soon got us a table and we would also like to single out Marian for the way she looked after us on the Saturday night and also on Sunday morning. Well done Tracys and Mariian for her professional way she does her job.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bdayboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Treacys to host your party and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m thrilled you and your group had a memorable and enjoyable time here.

Thank you for your lovely compliments about our staff. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have such an exceptional team working with us who go above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our buffet-style continental breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. I look forward to passing them on to the rest of the team, especially the wonderful Marian. We look forward to welcoming you back to Treacys Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing