We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Unfortunately it's not possible to give a zero star rating
The hotel itself is ok. The double room was very small as was the bathroom but it was modern enough and as we were only staying for one night it was ok. The breakfast was a buffet self service with your standard cereals juices and fried food. It was actually above average.
We booked the evening dinner with B/B option and unfortunately the Dinner arrangements are a shambles. The restaurant is not big enough to cater for the number of rooms in the hotel. On arrival we were offered a 5PM or 9PM dinner slot. When we asked if there were any other available slots we were told we could dine in the Thai restaurant instead. That seemed an ok option however when we sat down for dinner later that evening we were told we were only allowed €15 per person from the Thai menu. There was nothing for €15 on the menu! We were offered the set menu from the hotel restaurant but didn't want to eat what was essentially bar food in a Thai restaurant, If this arrangement had been told to us at reception when we booked the table, we'd have made alternative dinner arrangements, We asked to speak to a manager for clarification as they whole situation seemed extremely confusing and unlikely. We're well travelled people and have stayed in hotels all over Ireland, Europe and the U.S and I have to say, that the manageress that greeted our query was the rudest must obnoxious person we've ever had the misfortune to encounter. She started the conversation with " I've been a manager for 20 years" and continued to talk down to us in a rude and condescending manner. She basically told us that they are very busy and there was nothing she could do if we only had €15 allowance in the restaurant, When we told her that's fine but this should be stated at time of check in at reception, she told us " the reception staff can't be expected to know that kind of information" At that point we told her to leave us alone and let us have our meal. To top it off, the drinks that we'd ordered hadn't arrived and when we asked about the delay she informed us that the reason they delayed was because "you've asked to speak to me"
A couple at the table beside us had a similar experience and when they complained at the end of their meal, they were asked to leave the restaurant. The general manager then followed them out to the bar and accused them of walking out without paying. Fawllty towers stuff really.
Will I be staying here again, would I recommend this hotel? No and No.
Customer service re-training required for the management staff in this hotel. While they are at it, they need to sort out the dining arrangements
Horrible experience.

Room Tip: "Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room" Stay in another hotel !!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m disappointed to see you did not have a pleasant stay with us.

I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the issues raised in your review. I must apologise there were only two slots available to you at dinner. We are extremely busy this time of year and our restaurants are booked on a first come first served basis. I do believe you were offered the alternative option of dining in our Thai restaurant at 7pm, which you decided to do. The website that you booked your break through includes a 2 course dinner from our Table D’Hote menu. I understand you were offered this menu in our Thai but you declined. There is an allocation of €15 per person for dinner. This allocation is made by the third party website, not the hotel, therefore beyond the hotels control. I’m sorry this was not explained to you when you made your dinner reservation at reception. I have personally spoken to our restaurant manager about your experience. Again, she would like to apologise for the confusion and misunderstanding. However, at no time did she feel she was in any way condescending or rude. She was merely explaining the situation to you.

In regards to the other couple in the restaurant, our general manager has dealt with this situation and it has been resolved.

Once again, I must apologise for the confusion but thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
There are newer reviews for Treacys Hotel Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked a last minute stay here after reading some positive feedback on a hotel booking website. I have to wonder if we stayed at the wrong place because we found the quality of the hotel very poor. The hotel seems to take in a lot of coach tours etc and so perhaps the people on them get a better deal and/or have lower expectations than me. The room we stayed in was in serious need of attention, it was clean but very tired and certainly not like the photos I had seen on the booking website. There is a pool and a spa area which are an added bonus for a hotel like this but they too felt dreary. the food at breakfast wasn't bad - but the restaurant it was served in was more like a school canteen. Other than the pleasant staff the only plus was the onsite Thai restaurant which was both good value for money and very nice.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 324 - continuous humming noise from what must be a plant room next door. We were...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete-H-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m disappointed to see you did not have a pleasant stay with us.

I’m sorry you felt the quality of our hotel was poor and that the rooms were in need of attention. Our hotel has been extensively renovated in recent years but we have tried to retain the character and old-world charm of the building, which was originally built in the late 18th Century. I’m surprised to hear you felt our pool and spa areas felt dreary. As you will see from other reviews, both our Leisure Centre and Beauty Spa are extremely popular with our guests. The Wallace Suite, which is our breakfast room, is indeed a large area. We have a 163 bedrooms in our hotel so we need to accommodate for a large number of guests at breakfast time.

Thank you for your compliments on our staff and on our Thai restaurant Chiang Mai.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Michelle O’Halloran
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

very bad services if you are a hotel person then it is not the place to stay,expensive dinner but the good thing it has no taste like you are eating nothing.I will not recommended this hotel at all.Its better stay in B&B.no customers services at all.

Room Tip: the best thing choose another hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m disappointed to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

I believe you stayed for one night with us. I’m shocked you believe our hotel has no customer service when in fact our Customer Services Manager personally showed you a number of our hotel rooms when you arrived and was present in the hotel throughout your stay. As you will see from previous reviews, our Customer Services Manager is extremely popular with our guests and always on hand to help. I’m sorry you were unhappy with the meal that was served to you. Again you will see from previous reviews, poor quality food is not the standard we aim for.

We would always urge our customers to raise any issues with our reception team so any problems can be dealt with quickly, leaving you to enjoy the rest of your stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned after travelling with brent coaches from south Wales. Fantastic hotel, with excellent facilities. The owners son got married there on the friday and they all even stayed the Saturday to watch Wales get smashed against them in rugby (well done the Irish). Thanks for making us all welcome and particularly taking time out of your wedding celebrations to make us feel like family. Congratulations for the future and will definitely stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at Treacy’s and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted you had a memorable stay with us.

We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated team working with us who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a pleasurable and enjoyable stay in our hotel. Our General Manager John did indeed have his wedding here and I will be sure to pass on your good wishes to him and his new wife, Michelle.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. I look forward to passing on your lovely comments to the rest of the team.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On 30 December 2013 we set out for a five day stay at the above hotel. We travelled with Hirwaun Travel and were lucky enough to have a very good guide aboard the coach and an excellent driver.

We arrived at the hotel at about 7.30p.m. and then had a very tasty meal. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the river Suir. There was a very large bed in our room which was also extremely warm.

On New Year's Eve there was a Gala Dinner and a very good band for the evenings entertainment. The food was of a very high standard the entire time we were there.

The staff were very helpful and made our stayed very enjoyable. We do hope to return.

Our thanks also to Hirwain Travel we will travel with them again.

Room Tip: Floor three overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Diane

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted to hear you had a wonderful time here with us New Years.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed the meals you were served. Our chefs love what they do and only source fresh, local produce to ensure high quality and standard. Thank you for your compliments on our staff. We are so fortunate to have such an exceptional team working with us who go above and beyond to ensure each guest is happy doing their stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Treacy’s soon.

Kind regards,
Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We've stayed here about 25-28 times in the last few years, it's an excellent hotel, staff are always happy to assist been at 3 in the morning, especially security he's the best laugh, the music is brilliant. Late night sing songs in the bar even better. Everyone's always in great humour. There's no fault in the rooms, they are always spotless, bar food is so tasty (portions could be bigger for the price) other than that it's an all round top hotel.
Keep up the good work!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I’m delighted to see you had a pleasant and enjoyable visit with us here at Treacys Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff. We are so fortunate to have an exceptional team working with us who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable stay here. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your time in Timbertoes Bar. Our bar food along with our nightly live entertainment always goes down a treat with our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. They are always a pleasure to receive and we look forward to welcoming you back to Treacys in the near future.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Wasn't impressed with the hotel at all! Reception is nice looking but went over to lift go to room and there was hole in the panelling like were an old button for lift used to be which they didn't fill after moving switch. Halls very dates with old carpets our room when we first went in was like a sauna and heating control wouldn't work, got person up who fixed it but then later when got cold we went turn back on and again wouldn't work! Out room was at front of hotel it was very noisy there was bus pulled up outside at 7 on a Sunday morning with engine left running all the time! Breakfast dining room again very dated and breakfast wasn't nice . Wouldn't be staying here again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Sales and Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m disappointed to see you had an unpleasant stay with us.

I’m sorry to hear you felt the corridors and the breakfast room was outdated. The hotel was originally built in the late 18th Century and has undergone extensive refurbishment and modernisation in recent years. However, to keep the character and old-world charm of the building some original features are still intact today. Our air conditioning/heating system does not work when the bedroom windows are open. This is clearly stated in typed bold writing above the control system. As one of the largest hotel in Waterford, we have a wide variety of rooms available and unfortunately we cannot locate all our guests to rooms towards the back of the hotel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Waterford city and at times there is traffic noise. I’m shocked you were unhappy with the breakfast you received. Our buffet-style continental breakfast is always a favourite among guests, as you will see from previous reviews. I can only apologise you were unsatisfied.

Once again, thank you for your review. All feedback is greatly appreciated and welcomed.

Kind regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. The hotel has two different dining options Timbertoes Bar or Crokers Restaurant. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing