We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“there is better ! in waterford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“there is better ! in waterford”
Reviewed 31 October 2008

i followed the directions to the localcar park,it takes you down the wrong street,it should be the 3rd on left not second was this an omen.
I stayed in the Bridge Hotel previously it was dump,all days Inn have done is wallpaper ioover the cracks.
I was in room 102 had requested a kingsize bed got a standard bed in a small room .
The shower screen kept creeping in to meet me when i was showering,no rubber seal to locate bottom against top of bath.
I was sitting at the desk,on my laptop,the pixels were so poor on the tv above you that all you could see was the purple shapes of something going on.
The glasses at breakfast are have been so desparately over used they look dirty.
At 10 pm the band started up in the bar below my room !
The public areas just look the same as they were with the Bridge
the only reason i booked this rather than the Ramada was that for the rate here i got a breakfast,wont make that mistake again
i am used to a better standard than this i wont be back !
and all these comments were relayed to Keith the manager,and have since been forwarded to Days Hotels.
one positive nice new bathroom pity about the shower screen !

  • Liked — Nice new bathroom
  • Disliked — the faults,lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1corgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    311
    146
    100
    150
See reviews for
271
334
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Lobby and hotel corridors have a very old feel, need refurb. The room was nicely redone, but they forgot to add storage space for clothes, closet space is very limited. Staff seem a bit overwhelmed in handling the workload, seems like they may be understaffed. eg wake up calls come in 15 minutes to half an hour late, promises that they will send someone up to look after somehtning may or may not happen. There is construction going on nearby, so if you open the window to cool the room off(no AC is typical), the noise can be bothersome.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank easytravels20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

dublin ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2008

we went down for a weekend in january 13 of us had a fab weekend it was that good we went back in february as we got a relative to have her 21st there so 120 had a brilliant night and many stayed over on the 2 night stay .Can't wait to go back when leisure center opens .We also loved the idea of combined rooms as we had children with us and the size of the rooms are great very comfy and relaxing .Very helpful staff and very friendly which is hard to find these days .KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank chelseaodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Last night we stayed in The days Hotel Waterford (previously the Bridge Hotel) for evening meal bed and breakfast. This hotel has under gone MAJOR improvements, to the front of the building, reception and mainly the bedrooms. We found these to be a fast improvement, nicely decorated, new carpets, beds and bathroom suites, flat screen TV, and tea making facility’s plus iron and ironing board. The food in both restaurant and bar was excellent the staff very polite and helpful.
We would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

From

The driver, couriers and all passengers, on KIRBYS COACHES from Rayleigh in Essex.

  • Liked — clean ans new
  • Disliked — the weather
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacy_wright79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

There was extensive building work noise of which we were not told before booking. We were with a party of retired people. The Hotel has been refurbished, some bits good some poor. Bedroom good sized although the view outside was the back of a derelict building with rubbish all about. The carpet was badly stained, Wardrobe not big enough for 2 people. The radiator thermostat did not work, after the 4th request the radiator was very hot, but unable to turn it down. We were told lies by the staff about the central heating and the day before we left a member of staff got the thermostat to work. The heating was needed as the weather was cold and wet. There was a lack of good management in the restaurant(Hotel Ballroom) with some of the waitresses not understanding us. On the whole the food was passable. First course was served and the 2nd & 3rd were self service, unless you were with a German tour party who were served totally. When trying to get hot water for a bath, the water came out dark brown. One morning there was no hot water whatsovever and when we complained to the young lady in Reception she tried to say that the cause was the road works outside. A member of our party was told by a staff member that the cause of the lack of hot water was that there were 300 people all taking a shower at the same time. Though we had clean towels most mornings, one day we found that our durty towels had been folded back up, still wet, which we did not discover until we came to use them. The restaurant staff completely 'lost it' one morning at Breakfast and were in a state of utter confusion when there were about 4 or 5 different tour parties coming in at the same time. The management should remember that they are in the hospitality business and recruit more capable staff. I do concur with a previous writer that the Bar was a likely 'pick-up' point for some doubtfull characters and although entertainment was advertised there was an 'ageing' singer there only on the Wednesday night.. There was a could not care less attitude over the supposedly and advertised entertainment on the Thursday night. Quite a number of our party went elsewhere for the evening entertainment, but being of retirement age it would have been nice to sit in the Hotel and enjoy a taste of Irish music nightly.

  • Liked — Nothing in this category
  • Disliked — The indifference of the staff
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Me and a couple of the lads stayed in Waterford for a weekend away recently. Loads of night clubs, pubs and food, we stayed on the quays at Days Hotel which was near everything and the residents bar was a great craic. It was reasonable and comfortable and we all wouldn’t mind staying there again for a weekend.

  • Liked — Loacation
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michael096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management39, Front Office Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 23 May 2008
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted to hear your party had a nice stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

We stayed at Days for the Wales v Ireland rugby weekend and all in all had a great stay that included breakfast and a meal in the evening.

The room we stayed in was very small, (although decorated nicely) but did include a full size iron/ironing board, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The space was however, used very well with enough room for hanging clothes and a plasma screen tv on the wall.

Breakfast was good with enough selection for most tastes and the evening meal was 3 courses all of which rated from adequate (some of the soup options were not up to much) to very nice indeed! There is also a restaurant that we didn't try.

The bar is a good place to spend some time and used by many locals as well as the residents. There was entertainment on every evening we were there Friday - Monday and a lively atmosphere. We had a bar meal there one lunchtime (panini with salad and fries) which was of a good standard. We did, however, fiind the prices of drinks quite expensive (this was in Waterford in general) and not helped by the current strong Euro.

Bearing in mind all this I would have given this hotel 4/5 if it wasn't for one thing the shower in the room. The water was cold (just luke warm enough to jump in and out of as quickly as you could) and the pressure just a trickle. As having plenty of hot water is one of the things I want from a hotel (I don't care about irons and coffee making facilities etc.) this was very disappointing and my score goes to 3/5 as a resut.

  • Liked — The lively bar
  • Disliked — The terrible shower and lack of hot water
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing