We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'great weekend'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treacys Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
offaly
1 review
“'great weekend'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

The hotel was fab. Accomodation was excellant, staff very friendly and very helpful. the food was gorgeous complements to the chef! We had a very chilled out relaxing break and would definately recommend the hoteland plan to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OffalyBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    304
    144
    97
    149
See reviews for
266
329
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

I booked this under the Supervalu breaks. On arrival (twice round the block to find the carpark) we had to wait for an unhappy customer to finish complaining before we could check in. On arrival at the reception desk we clearly heard one of the receptionists say she was "not in the mood for this [--]". In hindsight we should probably have left then. The room was dirty, marks and dents on the walls, windows filthy, you could hardly see through them. T.V. did not work properly but the walls were so thin we could hear the telly from next door quite clearly. Great hotel for hen and stag parties, there was two lots staying same weekend as us. Got to sleep at 3.30am but woken again with more singing and shouting at 6am. Breakfast was an experience!!!! Some elbow grease would not go amiss in the dining room. Not all bad though, I would recomend the bar food, that was lovely. When checking out there was a long line of people waiting to complain. We had no wish to spend the day waiting to be heard, An experience not to be repeated any time soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkoniancork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

carlow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

My husband and I and our 2 children (6) and (4) stayed for 1 night in the hotel. It was wonderful, the room was fantastic, and the new leisure centre was brilliant, we went to the pool twice and I wished I had time to check out the spa!! The hotel has a kids club which was excellent from 6 to 10 in the eventing giving my husband and I time to get ready for dinner in peace and to actually have a hot meal together without no interruptions. We ate in the bar where both the food and service were excellent. The next morning we had breakfast all self service. We put the kids into the kids club again in the morning while we packed and paid the bill and had time for a coffee before we left. The kids had a ball and so did we. During these summer months it was a nice break for each of us and I was sorry that I didn't stay longer but definitly next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at the Days Hotel Waterford as part of a Trafalgar tour. The room itself was very clean and modern and our view was fantastic. This was one of the bigger hotel rooms we stayed in throughout the UK. The only downside to the rooms are the thin walls, you can hear kids running down the hall and neighboring doors shutting. As far as the street traffic, we didn't notice it at all. The hotel lobby did have internet access, it was again expensive but so convenient to have right in the hotel.

We ate with the tour group at their restaurant and had a wonderful meal. Service was fantastic. We also visited the hotel's pub later in the evening for live music and some pints of Guinness. The music was outstanding and we all had a wonderful time.

The hotel is also within walking distance to a Tourist Center where you can get local city information and souvenirs and the cafe at the back of the center had, hands down, the best coffee in the UK. You can also walk to several shops and restaurants from the hotel, the location is great.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodyM_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Myself and my family stayed here for 5 nights on a special deal, we extented the stay by an extra 2 nights as the kids enjoyed it so much.They wnt to the kids club every mornig and evening absolutley loved it, the baby was allowed in while i was there. There was no charge for the kids club but there was a €5 chrge for the movie in the evenings, which was ok as they got juice and popcorn and it gave myself and my husband 4 hours every evening to have our meal in peace. We ate in the hotel most nights and the food was very good. The weather wasnt great 1 or 2 of the days so the kids just went to the pool. The staff were very friendly, and aware of kids, the only downside was the parking was a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soneillSoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysHotel, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 14 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at our hotel. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I am glad that the few days of bad weather didn't affect your holiday. I hope that you will return to us again in the future and look forward to being of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

myself and my partner stayed here and will be back

we found the hotel to be off standerd and great value for money ,
cheek in was fine the staff were very helpfull in telling us where to go and what to do ,
our room was lovely 1st floor over looking the river yes it was facing onto the road , but the room makes up for that .
we ate in the restaurant that night and can not fault a thing the staff are brilliant at there job the food was fantastic a very plesent evening was had .
we the ended up in the hotel bar the crack was great the live music i have to say was second to none ,
bar staff where under pressure but handly themself's really well .
the pool area was out of this world felt so relaxed
its a members gym and pool but it still was not packed which was nice .
we then went for a body message which was out of this world the staff was so nice and i was so relaxed with them too .
we certainly will be back to the hotel and greatly looking forward to it too
i would recomend the hotel for a hassle free weekend with no fuss or frills about it .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgrathl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

We booked a family room and I was glad we only had to stay for 1night. The place was dirty when we got there and the room is in need of serious upgrading. The mirror was cracked, the walls dirty and dented ,windows filled with bird droppings and lights in the bathroom are so dark you can barely see whats wrong in there. I would no think this is a 3 star for the price we paid - It looks more like 1 star.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D2KSINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing