We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Relaxing Friendly retreat on the edge of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Relaxing Friendly retreat on the edge of the city”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Small country house style spot with somewhat quirky room decor.
Close to the city yet still almost out in the country. Probably a bit far to walk into city, certianly not at night anyway.
Large grass garden area out the back which proved handy for letting a toddler run around, better than being stuck in the city.
Staff were all friendly and helpful - more so than you get in the usual hotel chains.
A place to stay if u want somewhere peaceful, not much happing in terms of bar/lounge area. Was trying to watch a Gaa match one evening but it was competing with guitarist in the adjoining restaurant :)
Room was fairly spacious as was the bathroom. In room tv was tiny but had a reasonable amount of channels. Beds were a great size and comfortable, had excellent sleep!
Very much enjoyed the stay here, never even knew it existed previously, having been in Waterford a good few times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larmarIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    143
    83
    33
    21
See reviews for
76
284
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for just one night and was very pleasantly surprised as Waterford is not blessed with great hotels. Lovely relaxed atmosphere - very quiet but very well located.
This hotel has the air of a country house hotel and overall is very well maintained and decorated - I would question the selection of color on the building exterior (!)
Staff extremely courteous and helpful. Lovely garden and outdoor cafe area
Great coffee

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Great size of the room, very good breakfast, friendly staff, reasonable priced lunch/dinner menu

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daavidgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a spacious room which was well decorated and very clean. They have an excellent bar and dining room. Service was excellent and friendly. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from downtown Waterford. Excellent wheelchair accessible room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyp555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans Herts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our cycling holiday in southern Ireland. We found everything about the hotel to be absolutely charming: the food; the service; the comfort; the grounds and the management all met up to our high expectations. We hadn't planned on eating there, intending to cross the bridge to nearby Waterford, but were soon drawn into the friendly, professional ambience and we couldn't resist; dinner & breakfast on both days failed to disappoint us as negative reviews on T.A. had suggested they might. The original part of the hotel is hundreds of years old and the 'new' wing has been cleverly added to create a very beautiful building. I can only assume that the poor reviews were written by a society of misanthropes with a serious axe to grind- or..............maybe a rival hotelier..........................who knows?.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godknowswhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Good location over the other side of the river, but really needs some new attention. Breakfast very good, but didn't have dinner. Need to do something about the banging doors!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coors22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed for two nights (Friday/Sat) - great value and excellent service. Very welcoming and completely understanding of the fact that we were accompanied by our two youngest children. We will definitely be staying again. Food excellent, breakfast just right, staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing