We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

As someone else mentioned, the approach to the Athenaeun is a bit...well..."unwelcoming". Persevere though - it's worth it,.

The service is among the best we've ever received. The staff are, without exception, friendly and helpful. They manage to be attentive but without becoming your annoying second shadow.

The rooms are very good - clean, spacious and comfortable. They are named after various artists which lead us to expect that they would be decorated with some "link" to the artist they were named after. We stayed in the Da Vinci room, and unless Leonardo shared a love of purple cushions with Picasso and a few others that we sneaked a look into, the naming convention is merely a meaningless gimic.

The food was superb. The baked egg with smoked salmon starter might sound a bit pretentious but it is fantastic. The steaks were tender and flavoursome, and cooked to perfection. The desserts deserve a review of their own, or at least the cheesecake does. We were advised it was a speciality of the chef's - this chef know's his stuff.

The wine list was comprehensive and a Milton Park Shiraz was the perfect companion to the steaks.

While the approach was a bit grim, our room had a lovely view in over Waterford city.

Overall, excellent service, comfortable rooms, delicious food, and reasonable rates. We will be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bq67ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    138
    80
    32
    20
See reviews for
72
278
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

Across the river from Waterford, lovely view. Great food at Zak's. Clean and well appointed.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Dick_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

I stayed in the hotel from the 13th to the 15th October 2007. I have to say that from the check in to the check out everything was fantastic. Staff is wonderful, rooms beautiful and management present at any time. The german manager has a perfect attitude and you can feel like at home!

GO THERE!!!!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Galway1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

A strange mixture. The approach is disconcerting; past an industrial estate, Power's Funeral Home and some less-than-classy housing. You arrive at the back door.However, the setting itself is very fine, with the front of the hotel overlooking the river and the city waterfront opposite. The terrace gives on to a lawn which seems to prter out into nothing before you get to the river.

The decor was a strange mix. Purpose-made., monogrammed carpets and institutional wallpaper. Nicely chosen room fittings and satellite TV but tired and a bit battered. The very nice bathroom let down by taps that weren't properly fixed and a shower fitting that was similarly loose.

The restaurant was a real plus. Excellent food, friendly efficient and knowledgeable service from my Bavarian waitress and a very good wine list. Breakfast was good.

  • Liked — Position convenience
  • Disliked — Tired
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

I've had the opportunity to sample this hotel on more than six occasions , staying three and dining three. I could have sent this review earlier , so apologies!
It has a peaceful , serene location. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable, with nice amenities major asset , however is the hands-on involvement of the owners and their ability to hand pick their staff , all of which have a wonderful individual way about them , nothing is ever too much trouble.
Zak's is , without doubt the better dining option in the city.
The cooking is assured and accomplished (nice wine list too).
I can truly say on my six visits I've only had good meals and the restaurant has beautiful views , winter or summer.

Now I'm off to Paris for a few days , sampling Ducasse-Constant and Piege three great chefs , wish me luck!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Contempary yet classic design
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Camarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

The location is great, very peaceful and overlooking the river. The room was good - clean and airy with tasteful decour (not my taste but still good!)

The food was excellent - with great wine list and fantastic cheese! Best meal in Ireland.

The only downside with this hotel is it's much further out of town than I thought when booking - hotels.com said 1Km which might have been true as the crow flies, but you have to go about 2-3K to reach town...

But the taxi's are cheap and they know where the hotel is - but like me can't pronounce it.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and the food
  • Disliked — Distance from town.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewizeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

Positives:
Lovely place, mix of old and new. Nice decor and location by the river. Great staff, friendly and helpful.

Negatives:
Evening meal looked great on the plate, but was totally tasteless and cold...soup also cold and tasteless. desert was only so so. Recommended house wine was nothing special.
Bed was lumpy and hard.. pillows ditto...threadbare sheets..didn't sleep a wink !!. The bed was a major letdown.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vipera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing