We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded "elegance" adds to character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
McAlpin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Faded "elegance" adds to character”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The location is great; across the river from the town centre and set in the woods so it's only 4minutes from everything, yet very quiet. It was a lovely old home that had been added on to so there are lots of stairs (plus elevator) and odd ceiling heights and floor levels. Our room was very large with king size bed and a large bathroom. It is a little worn but truly not annoyingly so. The odd thing though was the bed. It had a very thin mattress set not on a box spring but on a cleverly disguised plywood box. It gives you a start when you first sit down but we did sleep well. Next is the colour scheme; royal purple and soft yellow. The whole place is given over to this. As to the staff, they are great. They cheerfully sent faxes and did little things for us. The owner is on site and very pleasant. Breakfast is very good with a variety of hot and cold items. It's s agreat place to stay that's somewhere between a B&B and a large hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear English First

Good to hear you enjoyed your visit with us, I will pass on your kind comments to our team.

Hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards

Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    140
    82
    33
    20
See reviews for
75
281
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Lovely little hotel,very nice staff and food top notch.Only problem was the room,very outdated.Carpets torn,wallpaper peeling ,ceiling in bathroom cracked sealing around the bath mouldy.I informed reception when leaving and informed of all problems.Very apologetic but would have expected an e-mail from the manager,just to be polite.Room named after a famous Beatle(John Lennon) but may have found a different type staying in the room now.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kend123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Kend123

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our food, I will pass on your comments to our Executive Chef Jean Baptiste Dubois.

I have checked the John Lennon room with our maintenance team and we are unable to find torn carpet, or crack in the celing, also the bedroom walls are painted, not wall papered perhaps you might email me directly and I'd be happy to look into this matter for you.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kindest regards

Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Email: info@athenaeumhousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here a couple of months ago. This was our first visit to the hotel in about 8 years. Whilst the property has deteriorated a little in that time we still had a very enjoyable stay. The room was good, well equipped, quiet and with a nice view. Our booking included bed and breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Both meals were excellent especially the dinner which was first class and worth travelling to the hotel for even if you are staying elsewhere.

Overall, a peaceful couples getaway, with excellent food, close to Waterford city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear GC61

Welcome back.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel during your recent visit. Glad you enjoyed your return visit to us. Appreciate your kind comments, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were staying only one night in this hotel, which was just as well. On first arrival we were impressed by the lovely old building and grounds. The staff were so friendly but regretably that is about the only positive thing I can say about our stay. When we were shown our room I noticed that my bed linen was not clean and upon further examination there was a smell of "Deep Heat" cream from the sheets. The room furniture looked well worn with stains on one chair. We informed reception of the condition of our room and FOUR rooms later we found one that was CLEAN or did not have noise from the air-conditioning. The staff were wonderful, apologitic and obviously embarassed. Because we were arriving late we had arranged to eat at the hotel but our evening meal was not up to the standard of a four star hotel. The breakfast was no better. When we checked out we informed the receptionist of the condition of our room and she apologised and said she would get the owner to contact us. This he did not do. Regretably this hotel does not meet the standard of a three star hotel and we would advise any impending clients to think carefully before deciding to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Una R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Una

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay with us. We do not have a record of one of our guests being moved four times, we would regard this as a very serious matter.

Please contact me directly on this matter, we appreciate your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Email: info@athenaeumhousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were efficiently checked in and welcomed. The rooms were first class and very comfortable and clean. The room was a very good size with a beautiful bathroom. The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of meals and wines. A good choice for both business nad pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I was actually born in Ferrybank where the hotel is located, so I know the area well. I was actually born in Ferrybank where the hotel is located, so it feels a little strange to be writing a review about a hotel in my home place. This is a very pleasant well maintained hotel outside of the city. We received a warm welcome and found the service good. The hotel has recently been painted and has a fresh feel to it. The excellent restaurant has a very good value table d'hote menu of €25. The large glass dining area gives an old-world ambience which we liked especially.
Decor throughout is a bit mixed. Our bedroom was an excellent size and spotless but the furniture had a prefabricated IKEA feel to it. However given the reasonable price this was a small issue and more authentic antique furniture would doubtlessly increase the price considerably. Less acceptable were the matrasses which were distinctly average - not what one would expect nowadays in a hotel of this quality. The beds also come with blankets without a duvet option. Nonetheless we slept well as we were very tired after our journey. Overall, given the reasonable price of €80.00 for B&B for two people I have decided on an excellent rating in spite of some of the weaknesses.
The main issue in relation to the hotel comes down to location. For peace and quiet in a semi-rural location it is a very good choice. It is only suitable for a Waterford city stay if travelling by car as it is quite a distance to the city. If you are interested in a city centre location the Tower, Granville or Dooley’s are good choices in Waterford but do look up my review of the Tower for tips on room choice if considering staying there.

Room Tip: Better views of the river suir from second floor rooms but all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Atheneum last weekend .
The ambience was amazing , staff so proud whislt looking after their guests .
This is a fabulous location for a romantic getaway . The food was amazing ,
We cannot wait to return , beautiful gardens , veranda , service , cleanliness .
This hotel is a little Gem on the outskirts of Waterford .
Cant wait to return .Marion, Enniscorthy

Room Tip: We asked for a river view & were given a beautiful room with a lovely big bathroom ,Would love t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargeWexford k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing