We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterford great place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Mayfield West, NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waterford great place to visit”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Good value for money, clean spacious room, breakfast was great, easy access back to the city if you have a car,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    143
    83
    33
    21
See reviews for
76
284
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Athenaeum and the hotel is a lovely hotel. It was beautiful and peaceful during the day but at night it could be a little noisy with a lot of door slamming. The bar is very small and lacks atmosphere and is very quiet so you have a tendency to whisper. Breakfast were lovely and great choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel was not without it's positives. The public areas appeared very comfortable and ideal for relaxing with the newspaper or a book. Breakfast on both mornings of our stay was nice although I recall my girlfriend's Irish breakfast was fairly average.
However, our lasting impression will be of a hotel room located on the bottom floor with a view looking upwards at parked cars. The room's decor was also overwhelmingly brown and gloomy which didn't create a very positive impression.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Myself and my husband along with our friends stayed here for a night at the end of September. It is an old style Georgian house with the most fab restaurant. It does have a small bar with a sitting room for all the world. We had dinner in the restaurant (highly recommend) and moved to the "sitting room" for some drinks. We were the last going to bed and were well looked after. Breakfast was lovely and the homemade breads were really nice. I would recommend this hotel for people who want a nice relaxing place to chill with friends. I think it would be too quiet for a couple on their own but lovely for a group of friends looking for down time but not the place for a night on the tiles. Views over Waterford lovely. Try the chocolate pot in the restaurant delish!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nijo1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Impossible to fault this hotel for lunch, the food amazing, the staff delightful and the decor in perfect taste. have been here for lunch and dinner on many occassions and gets better every time. The attention to detail is amazing.
Well done and what an advertisment for Ireland

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clara12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West Victoria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed at the Athenaeum House Hotel as part of a one night stay with Insight tours, my understanding this Hotel has not been used before. I had a very large room with a KS bed, As I was downstairs I was not comfortable opening the window so the room was hot. The in-house dinner was lovely and well catered for, breakfast was not organized for a large group and after having a large breakfast we were then presented with a plate of hot food. I hate to see wasted food and if the guests were advised the plated food was coming this would not have happened, a buffet style would have been better for the large group. Staff were attentive and helpful, not much room in carpark especially for a bus. local attractions include Waterford Crystal, Reginalds Tower and the old town. on the way to Waterford you can visit the Irish National Racing Club.

Room Tip: maybe request an upstairs room so you can open windows, they have lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

we booked this at the last min on a 1 night dinner bed & breakfast package & it was just fab from when we walked in the door until we left, just raging that we couldnt have spent another night. everyone we met were all so friendly & helpful cannot fault them at all.
a little far out of town but if you dont mind walking its about 15/20 mins into town but plenty of places to park if you decide to drive.
will def be back & already telling people about it, also, the dinner was 1 of the best we have ever experienced!!!! keep it up!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubgal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing