We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay in Waterford” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Waterford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a brief stay at this hotel. We had a spacious room for a great rate. It was clean and peaceful.

We enjoyed a Guinness in the living room next to the restaurant of the hotel. Nice place to relax with very good service from the staff.

The only point to consider is the location which is far by walk from Waterford downtown. That is still very accessible by car though.

Samuel & Valérie

Room Tip: Double bed with en-suite bathroom was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    138
    80
    32
    20
See reviews for
72
278
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Food in this hotel is excellent ,breakfast and evening meal, lovely friendly staff ,hotel location 25 Min Walk into the town.the room i stayed in excutive room ,Big and spacious, hotel is very relaxing,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Well appointed converted Georgian merchants house with sympathetically designed bedroom block addition. Everywhere spotless and nicely maintained. Rooms large with usual facilities. Again spotlessly clean.
Orangery style dining room and bar overlooking rear garden and river. Beautifully decorated lounge and formal dining room. All very tastefully decorated and furnished.
Privately owned by people who clearly care very much for the hotel and their guests. Staff friendly, helpful and made my wife and feel very welcome.
Entrance stepped without a ramp, so wheelchair access may be difficult. However, there is a ramp to a nearby emergency exit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samoens, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of nights in this lovely country house hotel in the dark, dank middle of February. The welcome was as warm as the days were cold and the owner Stan and his family couldn't have been more charming and hospitable. We really were made to feel like friends of the family. There is a certain faded personality to the hotel, particularly in the room which, though beautifully equipped, probably could have done with a bit of a face lift, but at the same time this did add to the character of the place and was in no way a detriment.

The downstairs snug bar and restaurant are great. The bar is well lit whilst maintaining an intimacy and the restaurant offers a modern European menu which makes the most of good local ingredients.

The hotel staff were faultless and one chap did everything from showing us how to work our TV remote to giving us an impeccable waiter service over dinner.

We were given a menu for breakfast and then told we could ignore it and have anything we asked for.

All in all, a very pleasant place to spend a couple of days.

Room Tip: Go for a suite overlooking the park towards Waterford harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night at the Athenaeum, but wished we could have stayed longer. Although it's only a five minute drive in to the city centre, you feel you are staying out in the country. We didn't get a chance to try the restaurant for dinner, but the breakfast was lovely and you have to try the cider bread, it's really tasty. Plenty of choice at breakfast and can recommend the pancakes with maple syrup.The staff were very nice, especially the tall blonde girl. we had a suite with jacuzzi, lots of space and a view of the garden and river. The bed was huge and very comfortable as were the pillows, had a great night's sleep. The shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. Enjoyed the jacuzzi too. The TV channels were limited in the bedrooms, but we weren't bothered to be honest.

Room Tip: Go for a garden view and book a suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilfool1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I visited here with my boyfriend and two other couples for a weekend away in last year. I had really high hopes as it looked amazing online and as one of the girls works in a hotel in Louth we were promised a hoteliers 'upgrade'. It was by way of courtesy. I suppose hey weren't tied to anyting as such. But they did mention one of their suites. When we got there the receptionist was very friendly and efficient. However, when I got to my room, it was tiny. It was one of the attic rooms so has a low ceiling. It was dark and the bathroom jutted out into the room leaving the room as a small L shape. Bulbs in the ceiling, a lamp and in the bathroom didn't work. Also the bed or rather beds as it was two singles pushed and locked together was rock hard. There was scuff marks on some of the walls. It just looked neglected. Not the suite I was expecting. I was really disappointed to be honest. Even without the mention of a suite I would have expected better for the price. I have to admit in fairness, the view was fantastic. I rang down to reception and mentioned the bulbs and also that I wanted to be changed to a room where their was a double bed rather than the two locked together. They informed me that all the beds in the hotel were like that which I find very hard to believe. The redeeming feature of this hotel is the restaurant. It doesn't have a lively atmosphere but the food is amazing. Dinner and breakfast were just fantastic. Fresh, unusual and just beautiful. The drinks are overpriced and there is little or no atmosphere in the lounging area around the fire so we left to find atmosphere. It's set on the far side of the river away from the hotel so taxis are necessary. If I was staying in Waterford again, I'd stay somewhere else and go to the restaurant here. It's pricey but the food is 100% worth it. One last thing, I put the sign out for housekeeping to say that there was no need for them and yet I came back to my room to find them in there. And they were quite rude to boot.

Room Tip: Ask for anywhere else except the top floor. And if they mention their suites or premium rooms or wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but the restaurant is worth a visit. it has a lovely location and particularly suits groups. The food is a cut above the average and good value. if you are looking for something a bit special this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunniva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing