We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
258
164
94
38
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
164
94
38
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszaks restaurantwaterford cityacross the riverlovely hotellarge roomminute driveevening mealfull irishsaturday nightvisiting waterfordcar parkstanirelandsuirtelevision
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel was well presented and very comfortable. We were surprised how good it was for a relatively low price. There is a good restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and dinner. Good parking and friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Phil T

Thank you for your review. Delighted you found your stay good value.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a hotel that is well worth a visit. Use the restaurant. My trout starter was fabulous - the steak as good as I've eaten anywhere. The wine list had a 2008 white Riesling that was second to none. Whoever the chef, keep him or her! Great view from restaurant over the river. Rooms were superb - wifi is excellent. Staff are extremely friendly. Proprietor signed me in, was in the restaurant to ensure good service. Hard to find any fault. Great to be able to open the window in room and have plenty of fresh air - very rare nowadays in any hotel which are usually stuffy and too warm.

Room Tip: Ask for room looking out over river.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manushamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Simon F

Thank you for your wonderful review, we agree our Chef Jean Baptiste Dubois is a treasure. I'll pass on your excellent comments to the Team.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back soon.

Kindest regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is situated in a lovely spot, with views from the patio across the river to Waterford. Unfortunately there is no bridge to Waterford from the hotel grounds, so it is a bit of a walk to the city centre. We stayed one night in the hotel; our room was very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed our evening meal in the elegant restaurant in the hotel, and the breakfast was equally good (especially the range of local breads). Definitely a location to consider if you are after a quality hotel in Waterford.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Simon F

Thank you for your very kind review. We actually make all our own breads on site, glad you enjoyed them. We agree a foot bridge across the river would be wonderful.

Glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We all enjoyed this hotel, especially because of the size of the rooms and the readily available free wifi. The man who manages it gave us lots of suggestions about activities which we appreciated. The bathrooms are large and well appointed also. And the price was quite reasonable through Expedia. The only complaint is that it's a ways from town - about 40 minutes if you walk. It's right across the river from the Tower Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear teachers55

Thank you for your very kind review. Glad that you found my husband Stan's advise helpful and that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here a small group of vacationers (6) and had a delightful time. Stan, the manager and I think owner of the hotel could not do enough for us, I called prior to our arrival and asked if they could supply a cake for one of our couples who were celebrating an anniversary, this was done without hesitation. Dinner was exquisite and breakfast was a great start to the next day. Although the location is a little out of the center of town, the attentive and friendly staff make this hotel a great stop.I would recommend this hotel to any visitor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zozz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear zozz35

Thank you for your lovely review and comments. Glad my husband Stan looked after you so well, I will pass on your compliments.

Regards to all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews