We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice boutique hotel & restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel & restaurant”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife & I visited the Athenauem House on our way through Waterford touring Ireland. It was the bright spot of Waterford. It is a bit difficult to locate off the beaten path & its "view" of the river is largely obstructed by trees, but it's a lovely venue & the evening dinner & breakfast during the stay were both excellent. We found the staff very friendly & service-oriented & would definitely choose to stay again, if we ever return to Waterford.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartmankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    140
    82
    33
    20
See reviews for
75
281
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night enroute to Galway. Our check in experience was far from ideal with the gentleman very quick to put the 'Back in 5 mins' style sign up before and after our check in. No help was offered with our luggage and he was quite unfriendly in general- like we were an inconvenience.
Unfortunately the room we were promised (river view) didn't happen so we overlooked the lawn area- which was ok. The room was quite tired looking and there was no air con or fan.
The location is great if you want to be away from the 'action'. The carpark fills up quickly so having checked in later at night we were lucky to get the last park. All in all we were glad we only had one night. Upon check out, while the gentleman (a different one this time) was unwell with no voice- he was extremely unenthusiastic. The service really let our experience down here which is a shame because the hotel had great potential.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Reception was extremely friendly, the entry way and common areas are kept nice and tidy. Our room looked nice at first glance, as I laid in my overly hard bed with rock pillows I stared at the water damage on the ceiling which kept me up wondering ... Why in the world would a "4" star accommodation allow for visible water damage? I thought perhaps they may not know it is here? It's in room 207 if you read this. Our toiletry items were not stocked and since we travelled on a budget airline we did not bring our own and are using what the hotel provides. Now we have to call reception and ask for what should already be here. I threw the comforter on my bed neatly yesterday but housekeeping didn't remake my bed "super neat" like 99% of the other hotels do. The shower curtain has that yucky pink stained (needs to be washed and bleached) look. Breakfast was ok, more wasps on the buffet table than food, the omelet was good just not my favourite. The grounds are very pretty and lush and are kept up well. It seems that the real issue with this hotel after reading my own review is housekeeping needs a swift kick in gear to get this hotel up to what typical people expect of a 4 star hotel. The distance into town would have been no issue if the hotel was worth the drive which in our opinion it was not. They have easy fixes of cleanliness and maintenance and I hope they can fix those because they have great potential.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I took a midweek break in this lovely elegant hotel. We weren't expecting it to be perfect as it was a very good deal but we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it was and how friendly the staff were! The food was absolutely outstanding especially the dinner which was a gourmet experience and so delicious! Its a good walk into the Town but very walkable with flat shoes. We did the viking triangle of museums and the Waterford Glass tour was outstanding. A taxi cost us €8 one night and worth it with heels! We can't wait to book and come back again! Here's to our next trip to Waterford!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliebb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Firstly, if you've booked this Hotel, download directions from the website. We didn't and this has caused a divorce from Doris. Doris has shared our lives for some time; but refused to show us the way to this Hotel, even with the correct spelling and full address.
Once arrived we were shown to a large room, with almost equally large bathroom. The bed was good and the room well kitted out. Absolutely no complaints. All staff we met were polite and professional, and seemed interested in us. Breakfast was extensive, and if you wanted cooked, it was done to order.
For what we paid, this was the best value Hotel, on our complete Irish visit.
Their was one downside; which was dinner. Both menus were short on choice, made more limited by the marriage of ingredients which I felt did not belong. That said, this is my opinion, and the quality of the cooking could not be faulted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alancgreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This place is fantastic. We haven't a bad word to say about it! We stayed on the first floor facing the rear of the hotel and the room was perfect. Very comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The food in Zaks was gorgeous! Really cannot recommend it highly enough. It seems people who aren't staying in the hotel even come and eat here and we are not surprised. €27.00 for the set menu (3 courses and tea/coffee) which is great value considering the quality of the food and the standard of service. Cannot compliment the staff enough. From the second we walked through the door EVERYONE we met has been courteous, friendly, chatty and helpful. One thing we noticed was how well presented everything was. The waiters and waitresses were impeccably dressed, very neat and it didn't go unnoticed how much attention they paid to setting the tables in the evening. Overall a fantastic, FANTASTIC experience and we highly recommend this place. This place flew the flag for holidaying at home for me...brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

What's not to like about Atheneum House Hotel! It has a lovely location up above over the city (you need a car), peaceful surroundings (terrace and garden), nice restaurant, large bed-rooms, absolute silence at night and a delicious breakfast menu in the morning. But the real wealth of this hotel is in it's staff (including the owners) who were, to a man and woman, pleasant, helpful and friendly to us. We had a lovely 6-day break, exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of County Waterford, and it was a pleasure to return every evening to the calm comfort of Atheneum House. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186605Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing