We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

This hotel is out of the way but easily found thanks to two well placed brown signs. Its location does mean a quiet night.
The decor overall is very tired and our room was done in purple and dark green which made it unneccesarily dark. There was a strange, unpleasant but inoffensive, smell in the room. It came from the bathroom which was very clean and the over the bath shower had good pressure. However, between the grab rail stuck so far out from the wall and the shower curtain's tendency to billow inwards, it made for an awkward shower.
The breakfast room was very attractive and the breakfast selection was good. Check in and out were fairly effecient.

  • Liked — Easily found
  • Disliked — The smell of the place
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    138
    80
    32
    20
See reviews for
72
278
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

From first point of contact (with Karen in reception) this hotel stood out. Karen listened to the type of break I was looking for and recommended a package to suit. The room was fab, great view overlooking the city. THe highlight throughout was the food in Zac's, we ate both nights there, great wine list and very helpful staff. Will definitley go back. There are cd players in rooms and a selection to chose from in reception and a well stocked library to browse. Only one gripe, the double room was twin beds pushed together which is never as comfy as a double but all in all this gets 9/10 from me.

  • Liked — good quality
  • Disliked — 2 twin beds pushed together instead of a double
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

I won a voucher to stay at the Athenaeum House. I wish I had won a few
more!! I really enjoyed my stay. Ok it isn't exactly ideally located but think of it as a hidden gem...because that is exactly what it was.
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We checked
into our room, and it was fab. The decor was finished in a dark purple
decor and the bathroom was very spacious. Overall a very modern finish! We had a stunning view of the River Suir & Waterford city. We ate in Zak's restaurant that night, the food was very tasty and the waiter was helpful and not over bearing.It was a Mid Week stay and I really needed a relaxing stay, which I got, except on the second night, when I was rudely awakened by a drunk eejit, but in all fairness, it wasn't the staff's fault.

Athenaeum House has was a lot of what Hotels & Guest Houses are missing..... Charm & Hospitality

Overall, I would recommend this to My Best Friend

  • Liked — It was refreshing!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Linann08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

As someone else mentioned, the approach to the Athenaeun is a bit...well..."unwelcoming". Persevere though - it's worth it,.

The service is among the best we've ever received. The staff are, without exception, friendly and helpful. They manage to be attentive but without becoming your annoying second shadow.

The rooms are very good - clean, spacious and comfortable. They are named after various artists which lead us to expect that they would be decorated with some "link" to the artist they were named after. We stayed in the Da Vinci room, and unless Leonardo shared a love of purple cushions with Picasso and a few others that we sneaked a look into, the naming convention is merely a meaningless gimic.

The food was superb. The baked egg with smoked salmon starter might sound a bit pretentious but it is fantastic. The steaks were tender and flavoursome, and cooked to perfection. The desserts deserve a review of their own, or at least the cheesecake does. We were advised it was a speciality of the chef's - this chef know's his stuff.

The wine list was comprehensive and a Milton Park Shiraz was the perfect companion to the steaks.

While the approach was a bit grim, our room had a lovely view in over Waterford city.

Overall, excellent service, comfortable rooms, delicious food, and reasonable rates. We will be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bq67ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

Across the river from Waterford, lovely view. Great food at Zak's. Clean and well appointed.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Dick_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

I stayed in the hotel from the 13th to the 15th October 2007. I have to say that from the check in to the check out everything was fantastic. Staff is wonderful, rooms beautiful and management present at any time. The german manager has a perfect attitude and you can feel like at home!

GO THERE!!!!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Galway1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

A strange mixture. The approach is disconcerting; past an industrial estate, Power's Funeral Home and some less-than-classy housing. You arrive at the back door.However, the setting itself is very fine, with the front of the hotel overlooking the river and the city waterfront opposite. The terrace gives on to a lawn which seems to prter out into nothing before you get to the river.

The decor was a strange mix. Purpose-made., monogrammed carpets and institutional wallpaper. Nicely chosen room fittings and satellite TV but tired and a bit battered. The very nice bathroom let down by taps that weren't properly fixed and a shower fitting that was similarly loose.

The restaurant was a real plus. Excellent food, friendly efficient and knowledgeable service from my Bavarian waitress and a very good wine list. Breakfast was good.

  • Liked — Position convenience
  • Disliked — Tired
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing