We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mini staycation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect mini staycation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Took a 3 night break away with my husband and our new baby for our first family stay-cation! Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough! This hotel is just on the outskirts of the town and is only a 20 min walk in. We took the buggy I and out of the town everyday and enjoyed it immensely!
The staff were wonderful, the food was beautiful and our room (a suite was really so nice).
We had an absolutely fabulous breakaway and have to say what prompted me most to write this review was reading the negative ones- my advice : do not let the negative reviews sway you in any way! For us who are well used to holidaying in gorgeous places- this ticked all the boxes!
We will be back every time to stay here when visiting Waterford City!



Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Aoife O

Thank you so much for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your very first staycation with your baby.

It was an absolute pleasure looking after you , delighted that you had a good time.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    138
    80
    32
    20
See reviews for
72
278
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Higham, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
307 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Warning - don't trust your SATNAV; obtain local directions and look for the signs. The hotel is not in central Waterford.
We needed a last minute room in Waterford for a family of four, and this hotel was great! We booked two Executive Single rooms with breakfast. Each room easily fits 3 people. The extensive cook to order breakfast was well worth the value for a family of four (€30).
We inquired about local attractions; the dining room staff was extremely helpful and informative. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas - Genevi... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Thomas-Genevi

Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us, glad you found us.

Thank you for your lovely review.

Kind regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Zaks today to celebrate Mothers Day. Enjoyed a superb 3 course lunch. The wine we chose was not available, and the owner (Stan Power) helpfully suggested a White from a small Rhone Valley producer ( Marius), which was superb and cost less than the unavailable wine. Not often such things happen! The staff allowed my daughter to play a tune on the Grand Piano as a treat for her mum, given the day! We'll be back soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MelGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mel GM

Thank you for your lovely review.

Glad you enjoyed my husband's wine selection. Your daughter playing the piano was a treat for us all, she is welcome to come and play any time.

Look forward to having you and your family back with us soon.

Kind regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious Mothers Day lunch with the family in Zacs restaurant. At short notice, we were accomodated without issue, served a delicious meal & provided with a delightful goody bag for mum to take home (scrumptious).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bewarebeehive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Optician

Thank you so much for your lovely review, glad we were able to look after you and your family.

Look forward to seeing you again soon,

Best wishes

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for just one night but were very impressed by the whole hotel. Our room was reasonably luxurious, and very quiet. Wi-fi in the room was strong and reliable…always a plus. The food in the restaurant was of the highest quality and very reasonably priced. The hotel was a little hard to find as our hire car didn't have GPS but that is one of the interesting parts of a driving holiday!! We loved Waterford…a beautiful historic interesting city!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raels216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Raels216

Thank you for your lovely review.

Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us.

Kind regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The photos of this hotel make it look a lot nicer than it is. Our bed was ridiculously uncomfortable and sagging in the middle and we had a view of the parking lot. Maybe if we had asked for an upgrade we would've had a better mattress and a view overlooking the gardens and river. Since this hotel is located across the river from Waterford city, it's not convenient to pubs or dining unless you hire a taxi or drive over the bridge to the city center (which we did). The staff was very cordial and welcoming, so you know they are making an effort. We had our breakfast included at check-in, which was nice in the end.

Breakfast was fairly good. I had the Full Irish and it was my second time trying Black Pudding...which was remarkably better than my first experience in Dublin! The dining room looks out over the garden and the wait staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Vmalott

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness and welcoming nature of our staff.

As you mentioned we are a short taxi ride from the City Center one and a half miles. Our restaurant Zaks is open 7 days a week 7.30am to 9.30pm providing both light snacks, traditional Afternoon Tea and full A la Carte menu, so if you don't fancy heading into the City it is an excellent alternative. Our Guinness is highly recommended too. Good to hear you enjoyed our black puddings.

Please contact me the next time you are visiting Waterford and I will be delighted to arrange a River facing garden view for you.

Kind regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

E: info@athenaeumhousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We just had our small intimate wedding in this hotel. It only consisted of 14 adults (ourselves included) and what Stan, Mailo and Staff provided for us was beyond perfect. I couldn't have imagined it being any better. Our room on arrival on Thursday was set up for myself and our two kids, and was a beautiful spacious room. We had room service and our sandwiches and salad was yummy and exactly what we needed to settle down for a quiet night.
The next day was a world wind, with a beautiful breakfast with helpful staff, who paid extra attention to the kids. Anything we asked was no problem. Our ceremony room was set to perfection and was beyond my expectations. The following hours just flew by, with a sumptuous meal which had plenty of choice and every course was divine. It wasn't the typical wedding food which everyone loved. This all lead onto a great evening of conversation, drink and music by Ross Kearley (recommended to me by Stan) Everyone had a great night, and on numerous occasions it was said to us that it was such an enjoyable day and a unique experience. We will never be able to repay Stan and staff for the wonderful memories they helped to create that day. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel, with amazing food, this is the spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishgirl029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Irishgirl029

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your special day, we enjoyed having you with us too. I will pass on your thanks to Stan and the team, they will be delighted.

Best wishes to you both for the future,

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing