We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athenaeum House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
251
158
89
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
158
89
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszaks restaurantwaterford cityacross the riverquiet locationshort drivelovely hotellarge roomfull irishsaturday nightcourse mealvisiting waterfordcar parkstancarrieirelandsuirduvet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

i would have to say this was a brilliant 2 night break from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty the staff and management at this hotel are just fantastic food waS EXCELLENT I Could not fault this hotel in any way and would certainly return value for money was great

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Tucked away along a private road this beautifully situated hotel is a real find. A warm welcome at reception then in to a comfortable large bedroom with views over the gardens. Wonderful shower! Sorry to say we didn't try the afternoon tea or evening meal, but breakfast was just wonderful. Such attentive service from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble. When I couldn't decide between breakfast options, the waitress suggested she'd bring both the porridge oats followed by a smaller portion of the pancakes, at no extra charge. She also treated us to a sampling of fresh baked soda scone. We'd come back anytime & opt for dinner there as well. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently stayed here and the staff could not do enough for us, from arranging a Taxi and making sure that my husband was ok as he was unwell upon our arrival sorry forgot the name (phillpino gentleman) we came in late one night and he kindly made us a sandwich out of ours, along with Michelle in the dining room at Breakfast made us very welcome. The breakfast was delicious. The receptionists were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was lovely but next time we will ask for the back of the hotel, as someone at 11pm emptied a load of bottles into a bin making one hell of noise and the bin men arriving on the Monday was noisy but this cannot be helped.

Room Tip: We had room 425 at the front of the hotel, best to ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely quaint hotel. It is quiet, friendly, comfortable and is run by a very friendly family. It has an award winning restaurant offering top class food at good value prices. I have stayed there multiple times on business and I look forward to having a leisure break there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_L_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for paddys day last year. Great place... thorougly enjoyed it. The food was out of this world. Highly recommend thid hotel.... have been trying to go back since but just been too busy.... hopefully soon

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank noahsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews