We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for one night and had two rooms. Both rooms were clean and comfortable although they were a bit dimly lit and the beds a bit hard. Although the hotel is a bit difficult to find, it's in a good location once you know your way. Dinner in the hotel was quite good. We didn't stay for breakfast as it seemed a bit too expensive. I noticed they rent bicycles, we didn't get to rent them, but the price was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gefd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    138
    80
    32
    20
See reviews for
72
278
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely Area, The house was a bit hard to find but once we found it was impressed, they could repave driveway leading to the house. Was impressed with the room, bed was a decent size, TV too small for the size of the room, couldnt fault it. Food hall was lovely food was nice, lunch and breakfast. Customer service was very helpful, laundry was cheap ... very happy little vegemites.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonandRobTroisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The welcome and service was good. We were disappointed with our room as it was in the basement and it was dark and quite dismal the decor unfortunately did not do it any favours as it was too dark for the room . The bed should have been a double it was two beds pushed together which seemed really old and the side my husband slept in squeaked all night. We should have had bath robes and there were not any. The breakfast was average .

Room Tip: Don't have a room in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loobylou1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Loobyloo1963

Thanks for your review. Appreciate your comments and have taken them on board. Being a period building our reception area is on the second floor, the room you described is actually our ground floor.

We are on a continuous program of bed upgrades I will check that one out for you. Bathrobes only come as standard in our Deluxe and Superior rooms, perhaps you might try them next time. Good to hear that you found both welcome and service good.

Best regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

a great place to stay in Waterford close to the city but with the peace of the countryside. the food is top class and the staff are just amazing. the bedrooms are huge and you would get lost in the beds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwell1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Maxwell1969

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum House Hotel.

Kindest regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Welcome to "Fawlty Fowers"! last won an award in 2009 and we soon discovered why.
We selected this hotel from a glossy tourist brochure that presented it as an historic grand residence on the banks of the Suir River close to Waterford city. Indeed it was "close" to the river, but seems to be very close to an industrial area, up a narrow rutted road and had very limited views of the river. It had a small manicured back lawn but bushland down to the river. Absent were the flower gardens and potted plants we would have expected - and have seen at other establishments in Ireland. Hence a quite clinical feel to the place. We also expected to see period furniure, but were presented with worn and quite ugly more traditional hotel decor.
Whilst it was an imposing building, nothing of its facade impressed us. Just a large 3 story yellow painted building, lacking the character and charm we had expected. Our experience only got worse.

We had a friendly greeting from the reception lady - between her personal phone calls on her mobile - then provided our room Cards. Also met Noel the ??? Porter (aka "Man-well").
On entering our room we discovered three things immediately - some previous guests dirty socks on the floor; coffee stains on the bedspread and a (presumably used) plastic toothpick on the floor.......evidence of sloppy housekeeping. My wife spoke to reception and soon after in came "Man-well". He offered to re-service the room and asked us to go down to the bar. We said no, they can service it whilst we are in it. He went away. He returned and offered us a free dinner in the dining room whilst they serviced the room. We accepted.
We had a reasonable dinner. Not the 5 star we expected. Limited staff, slow service.
Back to the room after dinner. Indeed it had been "serviced" - at east with fresh bed linen. But alas we also discovered a cleaning rag on the desk and only one last tissue in the bathroom tissue box.......ah well, what can you expect?
Tried the hot water tap over the handbasin; only to have the whole fitting spin in my hand. It was not attached to the basin.......could things get any worse? ......... Yep! We had been carrying some food with us during our travels and asking our B&B hosts to refrigerate it. All previous hosts willingly obliged. But alas, this hotel had a bar fridge! And it was empty! .....and it didn't work. Back down to reception. They got it going - well, if you call it getting power and the light turning on. Cold? Never.......we woke up the next morning and had to throw out all our food.

This hotel was a severe disappointment, as it was during our last two days in beautiful Ireland. Don't be diss appointed - there are much more accommodation options in the lovey Waterford city with both charm and character.
Never again...........

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Murray B

Thank you for your review, apologies for the shot comings that you encountered with housekeeping, this was our fault as the room check had not been completed after the room had been serviced. I do believe the Duty Manger Noel, dealt with this matter on the evening in question, and gave you a complimentary dinner and bottle of wine, which allowed us time during your dinner to rectify the problems.

Thank you for your note regarding reception using a mobile phone on your arrival, this phone is provided by the hotel so that certain agents may contact the Reception Manager directly when there are are urgent issues regarding guest arrivals, we feel this is a good standard to maintain and we note that you were attended to immediately on arrival.

The house dating back to the late 1700's is stepped back from the river, with intimate views of the river through the trees which change with the season. We were disappointed that you regarded our two and a half acre garden as too small. We have tried to maintain the original character of it's Parkland setting and have refrained from over cluttering with flower beds.

You mentioned that we have not won awards since 2009, you must have failed to note the various awards from The Irish Restaurant Association, Bookings.Com, Tripadvisor and indeed the 2014 Michelin Recommendation.

Kind regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for one night. On arrival we found the girl at receptionist to be extremely helpful and friendly, a credit to the hotel. Our room was massive and the bed was comfortable. The hotel itself was very clean and had a elegant finish throughout. The breakfast in the morning was faultless plenty of everything available. The salmon and brown bread was particularly a nice touch. This hotel is idea for anyone looking to stay in waterford city and yet enjoy the quietness of the countryside at night. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonMillsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear JasonMillsIreland

Thank you so much for your great review. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially delighted with your lovely comment regarding the "Girl on Reception being a credit to the hotel," as it was our daughter Kelly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Mailo (proud mum)
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Myself and my girlfriend have been here a few times before and enjoyed the experience of afternoon tea so we returned again on 11th August. To say we were disappointed would be putting it mildly.
The price is €25 for 2 which is not to bad in the market. However what we got was a disappointment. The sandwiches were cut in haphazard lines as if the chef had got a bit shaky and the bread was somewhat stale with both the white bread on the sandwiches and the brown bread with the salmon very hard to bite into. There were chocolate mouse cups in a small plastic cup with a small wooden spoon which I have seen available for €1.49 in Tesco and not exactly screaming moneys worth. This allayed with just 1 meringue and 1 desert shared between 2 and an apple crumble piece that was stuck to the plate with no choice on tea just asked tea or coffee no types, means I have to give this a big thumbs down on this occasion which I am loathe to do since it is such a lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMinihane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear SMinihane

Thank you for your review. My sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with your recent Afternoon Tea.. It is certainly not the standard we would wish for our guests, as you say normally the experience is much better.

I can assure you the Chocolate Pots you described are our Mini Pots produced in house, none of our deserts are bought in. We also stock a wide variety of Teas, apologies that our Restaurant Team did not offer you our full selection.

I have spoken to our Executive Chef and our Food & Beverage Manager in relation to our short comings on this occasion, I would like to invite you and your girlfriend back for Afternoon Tea, with my compliments, please email me on info@athenaeumhousehotel.com to arrange.

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Best regards

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing