We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Top class !”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I have stayed here a number of times and this is my favourite in Waterford. Lovely unique rooms, beautiful restaurant , great food and really friendly staff ,nothing is too much effort.
Hotels like this are individual gems.
This hotel is not walking distance to Waterford Town centre, but a short drive.
However, this hotel makes a lovely self contained evening.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    143
    82
    33
    21
See reviews for
76
283
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed in this hotel in May 2010. Myself and my wife were loooking for somwhere to have a relaxing break away from the kids and the hustle and bustle of life and I am so happy that we chose to stay here. We stayed for one night and got the romance package. On arrival we were greeted very well by the manger on duty. The decor of the reception/lobby was excellent and done to great taste.

Our room was magnificent. It was absolutly huge. It had a fantastic view- looking out onto the reiver suir where we could also see reginalds tower. The room was decorated to the highest of standards. We had a bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room on arrival (part of the romance package).

The restaurant was bright and modern and the food was unbelievable. My personal favourite was the chicken liver pate ( the best i have ever had) The service was second to none. After dinner we sat in the decking/patio area for drinks and then we went to the lounge area which was very comfortable and inviting.

I cannot fault any aspect of my stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody. The service and the hotel were excellent and I will 100% be returning to this hotel in the very near future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is a lovely hotel in a peaceful, beautiful setting beside the river. Our room was fabulous, the size of some studio apartments with a lovely victorian bath! The food was really nice, we had a superb dinner one night during our stay. The staff couldn't have been nicer or friendlier, nothing was a problem to them. They went out of their way to make sure that everything was ok for us. We came away feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. We would definitely stay here again. Top marks to a top Class Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madaboutthearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed here a few weeks back and its an old house and in a very quiet area. The staff were very nice and friendly. I had dinner which was reasonably priced and very nice. The room was clean and nice but it had the smallest TV i have ever seen in a hotel. This was bad as there aint much more you can do. The hotel has no Bar as far as i could see. It has a few stools in the restuarant so maybe that was it. personally i wouldn't stay here again as its totally dead but if its peace and quiet you want then maybe this would suit you.
Expensive enough for what you get.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank The_Python
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

The Athenaeum House Hotel is a nice, quaint, old B&B with very friendly service, even by the owner. Renovations continue on the facility, but is it a great place to stay. I can not say enough good things about Zaks Restaurant, their onsite restaurant. The food is great and they even made my dessert to my preferences! If you stay here, look out for the European red fox that saunters around the back of the property. The beds are a bit uncomfortable, but that is really the only negative thing I can point out

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscCaveCreek_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My partner & I recently stayed at the Athenaeum House Hotel in Waterford & had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. Check-in was a breeze, we were glad to sit & relax while Linda welcomed us and gave us some local info. To our suprise, we were upgraded to a suite which was a large beautifully furnished room, with a fabulous bathroom. It really felt like we were in a fancy country house!

Everything about this hotel is quaint & full of character, so don't expect a typical hotel bedroom with boring office furniture. The staff were all wonderful, extremely helpful and genuine (which is hard to come by these days). We ate breakfast & dinner in the restaurant. Both were delicious and the service was superb. The dinner menu has lots of choice and there was a lovely quiet atmosphere in the restaurant, even though many tables were full. The grounds are well kept & the view of the city lights at night, add to the cosy feel of the restaurant.

Sure, its 5 minutes drive to Waterford city but this suited us just fine, as we do not like impersonal, big-chain, noisey hotels. This hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and charm, if you want somewhere to relax, unwind and enjoy each others company... this is the place to go. Thanks again to all the staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallycarGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We went to Waterford on a 3 day golf trip and the Hotel did a great job organising and booking the tee times for us, we ended up eating dinner at the hotel all 3 nights the food & wine were so good.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda_kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing