We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 25 October 2007

I stayed in a single room in this lovely hotel. All rooms seem to have 2 beds so there was plenty of space in the room. The bed was really comfortable and the room very new and clean. Overall, the hotel seemed really quite and had a lovely bar.
Breakfast was really good, plenty of choice and the staff were all very helpful. The hotel is a short distance from the city but well worth the drive and within 5 minutes drive.
Overall, an excellent good value stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the city but still very close.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aries100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2007

Wonderful choice for our 1st night in Ireland after coming in off the Ferry. Would highly recommend for all age groups, good location, good food.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
Thank martyboytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

It was a Nice Hotel, not far from the Waterford Crystal Factory (which is excellent!). It was a comfortable night & i would probably stay again! The rooms are spacious, clean & are welcoming & the lobby is lovely but i didn't like the staff! They were incredibly rude to us & we were not impressed with them! Also, don't go to the restaurant. It's not really worth it! Altogether though, i was impressed with this hotel stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Divabiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

I found this hotel not very tolerent of children, which was very annoying considering we were so close to tramore, it left us feeling very uncomfortable and spent most days out of the hotel, the older 2 women on the front desk were very cranky and not at all friendly.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank vikirama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

The Ramada Viking is just a few blocks down the street from the Waterford Crystal Factory, which was the main reason we came to Waterford. The front desk staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean and functional. The only minor complaint was our dinner at the restaurant. While the food and service were okay, it seemed a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way to Kerry from Dublin.
It was a wonderful place to stay because all the staff are well trained and enthusiastic to a degree that is not usually found in these circumstances, the food was good, and the rooms clean and comfortable. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Stayed overnight at the Ramada Viking earlier this month. It's quite a distance out of town but this suited us fine as we just needed a bed for the night in the area, moving on in the morning. If you were looking to visit and go out in Waterford city, then you would definitely need a taxi. The location is somewhat "industrial parkish". (although lots of easy parking)
That said, the overall impression was positive, albeit in a characterless business-hotel type of way. Checking in was efficient. The room was bright and comfortable; cosy duvets on the bed - always better than dusty blankets in my opinion- and a good strong shower. I was impressed by the "forgotten something?" service - my other half and I nearly came to blows about who had forgotten the toothpaste but the hotel staff delivered a mini tube to the room within a few moments when asked.
All in all, good quality business class hotel. We paid 99 euro for the room; 10 euro each if we wanted breakfast. While we had a positive experience for our needs I wouldn't recommend it if travelling looking for proximity to bars or restaurants or looking for a holiday atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,223 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing