We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what a Ramada does”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here in August. I found the hotel well run. It's staff friendly. The rooms are basic enough but clean. Hated the tv though. Breakfast is a buffet & fills you up with the usual menus. Won't complain as I only stayed one night. Not sure if I'd stay longer as it's a bit far out of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franfield68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear franfield68, thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found the Hotel to be great value and well managed. Hoping you will visit Waterford again soon, maybe for the Winterval festival. Regards Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed here December 2011 i think and got a great dealt was 30 euro for the room for the nIght, most places would be 30per person sothis was good..
The food in the bar was like most pub grub does the job, I found there was one woman who didn't really like going out of her way for the customer she seemed very snappy and slammed my plate down, and when I said she'd got my Order wrong, she was very un pleasant.. Saying this there was other waitresses and waiters and they were so lovely !!
The room was nice and everything as most hotel rooms, nothing to fancy either.
The location of this hotel is a bit far from the city like don't stay if your going Down for the night life because it's far off and you'll pay for it Ina taxi..
Also they didn't have a gymor pool but I'll mark them as average to be fair..
But I would recommend this hotel to anyone if they brought that deal back into place because they've since took it away !

Room Tip: We got a room facing the car park and that was fine I know the motor way is arou d it some side I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joggaboo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Hi Joggaboo92

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review, I’m glad that you enjoyed the great value and keep an eye out for those fabulous rates, they’ll be back soon !!

Regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

we stayed one night. The room was basic, bed was uncomfortable, we had an air conditioning unit outside our window that screeched constantly, no sleep and a headache. We had afternoon tea in the restaurant on arrival, cups, milk jug, tea pot everything was filthy dirty, it was disgusting. Next morning went to have our breakfast which was included in the price, very unorganized, one girl working on a Sunday morning in a hotel. again even the tea pots had encrusted dirt on them, food was pretty bad and not much of a selection but we didnt eat much anyway because it was so dirty.
Will never recommend or stay there again, needs a complete change of cleaning staff to say the least.
On checkout the girl on reception asked how was our stay we said terrible as we were exhausted because we got no sleep she said sorry and walked away !!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michellemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Hi Michellemcl
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, we at the Ramada Viking Hotel never like hearing when a guest doesn’t enjoy their stay. So if you don’t mind would you please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay with you.
Regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights. On arrival there was a mix up with a lady's room she went to reception to get her room changed and she was made wait 15 mins to be seen meanwhile her young kids were very upset and unsettled. When we arrived to our room it wasn't great, there was only one pillow each (sounds petty i know), on the second night I went down to ask for more as we both had sore necks from sleeping very low the previous night, we had to wait two hours for the porter to bring them up, if you wanted to use the leisure suite you had travel to another hotel which was a 10 minute drive away... breakfast was over priced for the quality of it, we have both stayed in a lot of hotels and this one was by far the worse..

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Hi Molly E
Thank you for your feedback, mix-ups unfortunately happen in hotels but we try to minimise them to best of our ability. We would have been delight to drop the pillows up to the room on the night of your arrival if you had let us know. We provide free use of the leisure centre in our sister hotel as an added bonus to our guests. We get a lot of outside business for breakfast every morning, so much so that I have been asked to open earlier this week to facilitate those going to the ploughing championship.
Regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

When we arrived in Waterford last month, we had a very hard time finding somewhere to stay because a bike race was in town and all the B&B's /hotels were booked for miles around. We ended up at this hotel at 9:30 at night with our infant. They had no crib (cot) for the baby, so she had to sleep on the floor. I would expect a Ramada to have a crib. There was no restaurant or room service open when we arrived at 9:30, so we did not eat dinner. We do not smoke, but were placed in a smoking room (or it smelled like smoke, anyway). Our room must have been right above a bar, because we heard loud music all night. It did not seem particularly clean. No breakfast was included.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank KAF32082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear KAF32082
I’m very sorry that your experience of Waterford was so unfortunate; your Travel agent should have advised you to check out availability especially weekends in the month of August.
On this particular night we only had a two rooms left to sell (only due to a late cancellation), which were both smoking rooms right above the Bar.
We do inform guests on check-in of the music playing the Bar and that it finishes at 24.00.
We do have Cots but all were in use on this particular night.
It is unfortunate that you didn’t get to experience what most of guests get to experience, we did try to facilitate your party as best we could.

Regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Clean and functional. Pricing very competitive.
Personal attention from staff excellent especially the Reception Team very friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Restaurant functional but not particularly clean. Food quality passable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekeob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Dekeob

I’m delight you found the Hotel to be of excellent value. I'm always delight to hear that our staff are friendly and do go “the extra mile”.
I was disappointed to hear that you found the Restaurant functional but not particularly clean. We have strict hygiene standards so the only thing I can think of is that you experience the restaurant at the end of a very business breakfast.

Hope you will return to visit again shortly!

Regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here last Thursday night 16th August for Business so it was a quick stopover....had food in the bar which was good but the service was very slow - I had to call the girl over to take my order. The room was spacious......two single beds but soooo comfortable! Receptionist very friendly and helpful. All in all would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonnySouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Sonny Southeast

Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I was sorry to hear that you found the service slow as we do try to give excellent service. I will certainly look into it with the Manager on duty.

Hoping you will visit again soon!

Regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,197 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £46 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing