We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy staff good atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Bayonne, France
2 reviews
“Happy staff good atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great hotel; really well managed
On a recent visit to the Whitefield Clinic for some treatment, I called into The Viking Hotel nearby as I saw the carvery sign at the roadside.
The exterior of the building was not very attractive, and it looked like a coat of paint was due for Christmas. However, inside, it really was a captivating experience. There was classical music playing in the lobby and when I wandered into the Bar where the Carvery was being served, what an experience! There was a real vibrancy about the place: staff were fast, efficient, polite and dutiful. The atmosphere is what took hold of me: everybody was jolly and it was so inviting.
My Chicken Curry & Rice, followed by the Cheesecake were equally consistent with all other aspects of this extremely well run Hotel.
Excellent Value, and Full Marks to the Management.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Talulahdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Talulahdaisy
thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Waterford Viking Hotel. Your kind comments regarding the staff and the food are much appreciated and have been passed onto all concerned.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    163
    120
    29
    30
See reviews for
91
209
18
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my wife for a weekend break, very friendly reception and prompt check in, also great advice on where to go and things to see. Rooms very comfortable and ample parking. Will stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Tim S,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Waterford Viking Hotel. We hope to see you back again in Waterford in the very near future.
Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed in the hotel on a trip from the UK to visit family. I was unsure of staying in a budget type hotel but the staff and atmosphere certainly made up for it. Annmarie on reception couldnt have been more friendly or helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff members. Will certainly recommend the hotel to any friends travelling over to this area. Its a really handly base also for sightseeing.
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coletyke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Coletyke21,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you found the staff to be so warm and welcoming.
The location is certainly ideal as a base for sightseeing in this beautiful part of the world, the city centre is just a few minutes away and we are adjacent to so many beautiful beaches and attractions like Mount Congreve and Waterford Crystal. The free car parking at the hotel makes it so easy to come and go whenever you wish, there will always be a space when you get back.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Viking Hotel on your next visit to the sunny south east.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stopped off here last weekend with the girlfriend, we were traveling from Rosslare to Killarney. The outside of the hotel was neat and tidy and the car park was fairly packed, obviously a very busy place !.

The girl on reception was very friendly on check-in, as were any of the staff we came across during our stay, they couldnt do enough to help.

In the evening we ate in the bar, which seemed fairly busy with locals, which is always a good sign !!!!. I had the steak special, herself had the chicken wings and ribs, both were absolutely gorgeous !!!. The food came out fast even though the place was busy, the waitress was really friendly who looked after our table, cant rmemeber her name, but she was very nice. The menu had loads of choice on it, dishes to suit all tastes.

We retired to the lobby with a nice bottle of wine after dinner and relaxed in the huge comfy couches, just what the doctor ordered after that huge tasty feed !!.

The beds were really comfy too !!, we slept like a log :).

In the morning we went down for breakfast, my god !! what a breakfast !!, it was massive :), it set us up well for the long drive to killarney :).

We will certainly be calling in here on our way back to the boat next week.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eppym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear eppym,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad to hear that you found the staff so friendly and helpful throughout. It's always good to hear that customers enjoy our evening bar food and the hot and cold breakfast buffet, which we do receive many compliments on.
Thank you also for commenting on the comfortable rooms, I'm glad you had such a comfortable night at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Viking Hotel Waterford again.

Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

1st time staying here..Great Rooms very clean ..very comfortable bed and quite surroundings..plenty of shampoo's and toiletries,frendly and helpful staff both up and down stairs...parking was no problem, excellent one night stay...pass this way regularly and will be staying again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear James M,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm so glad to hear that you found the facilities and amenities within the room to be so clean and ample.
We often get great comments on the quiet location and great parking facilities at the hotel.
I will pass your positive comments about the friendly and helpful staff to all the departments concerned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Viking Hotel Waterford again in the near future.

Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My dad was having a operation in the Whitfield clinic so we decided to stay in the Viking as it was only 5 mins away. I found the girls at reception very welcoming and pleasant. Nothing was a problem to them. I will be recommending this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Hannah B,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel, whilst visiting a family member at the Whitfield Clinic. We often have clients or visitors from the clinic stay at the hotel, and we do our best to ensure their stay is as comfortable and hassle free as possible.
I'm glad you found the Reception team to be so welcoming and pleasant during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Viking Hotel Waterford.

Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A family of two adults 4 kids and two friends we stopped into the viking for a break and a bite to eat. We found the the food to be excellent the staff to be very professional and friendly and above all the price was extremely reasonable.The rooms were clean and suited our needs perfectly.
the hotel lobby was clean and comfortable and overall it was very enjoyable experience.
i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danmcn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Danmcn65,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent break at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad to hear that you found the hotel facilities so clean and comfortable. It's good to hear that you also found the pricing to be so reasonable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Viking Hotel Waterford in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing