We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class…..we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
“First Class…..we loved it”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband, 2 children and I were on our way back to Wexford recently and we stopped off again for a bite to eat in the Viking Hotel. We had been there before and we loved it, and again our experience this time was similar.

The Carvery was wonderful, the service very efficient, and the customer focus exemplary. The menu was extensive, and the healthy options were delicious as well as being very attractive. When I asked for a ‘Kids Menu’, the waitress advised me that ‘kids can have whatever they want’, which was a wonderful treat for my kids who were not shy with their requests!

Altogether, an honest and genuine display of hospitality, and it is obvious that this busy establishment take great pride in providing top-class customer service, and is being rewarded accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDPOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear FDPOB,
thank you for reviewing your recent meal at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm glad you found the food and the service to be so enjoyable.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    177
    125
    30
    31
See reviews for
100
218
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Booked into this hotel with the intention of just goin out on the lash in the city for 1 night!! It was the cheapest accomodation we found at 50euro room only for 2 people! We checked into the hotel and both reception staff were nice friendly and helpful!! We went into bar for steak sandwhich and few pints!! Food and service top quality!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madforcrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Madforcrack
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that the room, service and food all met with your approval. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Looked forward to returning to the Viking as I had stayed before. I booked a smoking room and when I arrived I was told that they no longer have this facility The gentleman on reception acted like a head teacher and really off-putting
I won't be returning

The food is reasonably good and good value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Maire F,
thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm sorry that the change to a fully non-smoking hotel has put you off staying with us in the future. This decision has been made for health and safety reasons for both the staff and customers of the hotel. I'm sorry that we have disappointed you with this decision.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were very happy with this hotel. We had gotten a cheap deal on two night accommodation and had not expected much but were very happy with the rooms, service and overall hotel. It is not within walking distance of the city center so we had to drive to town all the time. The bar is quite nice and bar food was good, with friendly staff. Overall staff were very attentive and cheery and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlestar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Littlestar123,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed onto all the departments concerned. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a very convenient location on the outskirts of Waterford city. The hotel and rooms were exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Staff were friendly, courteous and efficient, breakfast was very generous and the food served in the bar was of a surprisingly high quality. We really enjoyed our weekend break there; the only quibble was the poor TV reception and limited channel selection on offer (Saorview only on an ancient set). We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Blader
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. Your kind comments are much appreciated and all your comments have been passed to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Waterford is a lovely city to visit but most of it's hotels offer no on-site parking and you have to use public car parks. The Viking however is a not walkable, short drive, distance out from town but it has ample parking. From the outside it appears dated but inside it is welcoming and friendly. The secret of customer satisfaction is to tackle obstacles as soon as they arise, this hotel does so admirably: On two occasions we could have been unhappy as we stayed at the same time as a large crowd of young athletes but the staff coped as they emptied, locust style, the ample breakfast buffet by replenishing almost instantly and cleared and relaid the tables for the next diner. Even the manager chipped in and worked through the rush. The same manager had earlier been found taking the electronic key lock on the room we had been allocated to pieces when it wouldn't work (we were over the corridor in our re allocated room). On both occasions the staff appeared happy in their work and gave a genuine smile and welcome.
We had an executive room and had very good toiletries and bath, a large room with separate writing desk and king sized bed, but I would like to see a flat screened TV and extensive satellite channels offered, hence my slight down grading of the room. Apart from this I recommend the hotel as an ideal touring or overnight stop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Hewhotravels
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I thank you for the compliments to the staff and service and all your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments, and noted.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had a one night stay here with my partner and our five year old. Lovely hotel, girl on reception lovely and helpful at check-in. Room was nice and spacious with a double and single bed. Didn't have an evening meal in hotel as we had eaten earlier before check in so can't comment on that. Whilst the breakfast the next morning was lovely and plenty of choice etc., it's here where we were very disappointed....We were greeted by a lovely young chap who took our room number and asked if we wanted tea or coffee which was swiftly brought to our table. My partner walked across the room and was grunted at, very abrubtly what room number he was in, again, by whome I can only assume to be a (suited) supervisor or manager of some sort! To say he was annoyed is an understatement as this information had already been given on arrival to breakfast room and it wasn't all that busy at that stage. We wonder if it was because of the fact that he looks somewhat biker-ish, AC/DC tee shirt etc..(He's a big softy really)!! There was also another young girl working extremely hard alongside said younger man and seemed to be doing their job really well despite being seemingly and very obviously being given constant orders from the same person who asked my partner for his room number again. We were a tad taken aback with his attitude, considering we were there as a family and any other member of staff we encountered were friendly, courteous and helpful. Apart from this let down, we liked the hotel and would recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Ronnie Wexford
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I can only apologise for the way my colleague greeted you at breakfast. I do hope it won't prevent you staying here again in the future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,313 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing