We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a Great hotel frendly staff good food clean had a Great time the bar staff were very frendly and made you feel welcome the girl we delt with i think her name was sarah had Great time for us made us feel like very wellcome Poor girl was rushed off her feet but always had a smile

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducky969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Ducky969
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed on to Sarah and the other staff at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived as a family to stay here for a night. I had booked a triple room and an executive room. We arrived a little earlier than planned (1.30 pm) but to our delight the rooms were ready. We were sent up to our rooms on the 2nd floor by a very friendly man on reception to drop off our bags.
The rooms were spacious and very clean, if not a little too warm - I had to turn off the radiator and leave the window open all night to cool down.
The extra money I had paid for the executive room I didn't feel was worth it. The only added extras were 2 robes and a bottle of still water. I had thought that it would have been bigger, perhaps a nicer tv, but other than that there was no problems at all.
The hotel is located in between several car sales garages and about 10-15 minutes drive from town, but that meant a quieter night as there was no noise outside.
There was a mix of people in the hotel, a few sports teams staying there that night, along with some other families, groups etc.
The Irish rugby match was on in the bar, which was good to see and the lobby was busy, with people relaxing for the afternoon which was nice to see.
The breakfast the next morning was nice, plenty of cereals, yogurts, some fruit and bread along with the usual fry up.
Overall a lovely trip, thanks very much.

Room Tip: If planning a city trip, hotel is a little far out. Wouldn't recommend upgrading to the executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennywithay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Lennywithay,
thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed onto all the departments concerned.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband, 2 children and I were on our way back to Wexford recently and we stopped off again for a bite to eat in the Viking Hotel. We had been there before and we loved it, and again our experience this time was similar.

The Carvery was wonderful, the service very efficient, and the customer focus exemplary. The menu was extensive, and the healthy options were delicious as well as being very attractive. When I asked for a ‘Kids Menu’, the waitress advised me that ‘kids can have whatever they want’, which was a wonderful treat for my kids who were not shy with their requests!

Altogether, an honest and genuine display of hospitality, and it is obvious that this busy establishment take great pride in providing top-class customer service, and is being rewarded accordingly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDPOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear FDPOB,
thank you for reviewing your recent meal at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm glad you found the food and the service to be so enjoyable.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Booked into this hotel with the intention of just goin out on the lash in the city for 1 night!! It was the cheapest accomodation we found at 50euro room only for 2 people! We checked into the hotel and both reception staff were nice friendly and helpful!! We went into bar for steak sandwhich and few pints!! Food and service top quality!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madforcrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Madforcrack
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that the room, service and food all met with your approval. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Looked forward to returning to the Viking as I had stayed before. I booked a smoking room and when I arrived I was told that they no longer have this facility The gentleman on reception acted like a head teacher and really off-putting
I won't be returning

The food is reasonably good and good value.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Maire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Maire F,
thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm sorry that the change to a fully non-smoking hotel has put you off staying with us in the future. This decision has been made for health and safety reasons for both the staff and customers of the hotel. I'm sorry that we have disappointed you with this decision.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were very happy with this hotel. We had gotten a cheap deal on two night accommodation and had not expected much but were very happy with the rooms, service and overall hotel. It is not within walking distance of the city center so we had to drive to town all the time. The bar is quite nice and bar food was good, with friendly staff. Overall staff were very attentive and cheery and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlestar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Littlestar123,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed onto all the departments concerned. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a very convenient location on the outskirts of Waterford city. The hotel and rooms were exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Staff were friendly, courteous and efficient, breakfast was very generous and the food served in the bar was of a surprisingly high quality. We really enjoyed our weekend break there; the only quibble was the poor TV reception and limited channel selection on offer (Saorview only on an ancient set). We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Blader
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. Your kind comments are much appreciated and all your comments have been passed to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,405 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £45 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing