We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Nite Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable Nite Away”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently and had a very comfortable peaceful nights sleep. Room is clean and spacious but I did not like the large open space wardrobe for your clothing and baggage..
Good size bathroom with bath and excellent shower..satellite tv which was a welcome to the basics usually offered.

Would I stay at this hotel again when visiting Waterford - Yes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    163
    120
    29
    30
See reviews for
91
209
18
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in The Viking for 2 nights on a weekend break. Initial thoughts were that it is in a very strange location, being on a road packed with car showrooms and a good 10 minute drive to the city centre and tourist areas.

Check in was very friendly and the room was spotlessly clean with a large double bed and bathroom. A kettle is provided for making a hot drink and has plenty of tea and coffee sachets. After returning from the city at midnight, we were impressed that there wasn't any noise on the whole floor, nor in the morning from the car dealers close by. The mattress was very comfortable so a great sleep was had. A complimentary newspaper is also available from reception.

On the second day we went for a walk by the coast and returned for a bath before going out in the evening, having been cold and wet I was looking forward to a hot soak but then I noticed that there wasn't a plug in the bathroom. Thankfully one was delivered to our room within 5 minutes of bringing this to the attention of a staff member, and everything was fine. Wifi was also of good enough quality to stream live football to my iPod as I soaked, perfect!! Another suggestion would be to keep some minature milk cartons at reception as only 4 are provided in the room, so if guests use them on arrival they will need replenishing, this would be easier than having to ask in the bar/restaurant like I did on reception's instructions.

In summary,a very nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Edward C,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad that you enjoyed such a good nights sleep. Many people stay with us for the peace and quiet. The suggestions you have made with regards to the items in the room have been passed onto the relevant departments.
thank you again
Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed at Viking for business meeting early feb 14. This hotel and it's staff maintain a wonderful standard of service and comfort. I had meal in the bar and was extremely happy with quality and choice was exceptional, something to suit even the most particular eater!! Good to see new no smoking policy working so well. A real pleasure to stay here and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talulahdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Talulahdaisy
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed your second stay at the hotel just as much as the first.
Thank you for your comments regarding the no smoking policy in all the hotel rooms, we feel it has had a positive impact on all our customers and staff alike.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I am a frequent overnighter in hotels around the country and this one really does it for me.

What I must compliment about this place are the standards that are maintained, and the consistency in the quality of food and service.

The rooms are also of very high standard of cleanliness which is key to its real success.

I recently stayed in this hotel on a Monday night and there was a tangible buzz about the place. It is a real corporate hotel and I must add that the staff are very much in tune with the corporate requirements.

It is a real tranquil location, and as I had an important meeting the following morning I sat in the lobby getting my reports completed, and this was a very pleasant experience.

Free Parking, a complimentary newspaper and the famous chicken sizzler all met my seal of approval. It is also excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyThoughtsAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear MyThoughtsAre
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm glad that you found the level of service so consistent throughout the hotel. Your kind comments have been passed onto all the departments concerned.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a Great hotel frendly staff good food clean had a Great time the bar staff were very frendly and made you feel welcome the girl we delt with i think her name was sarah had Great time for us made us feel like very wellcome Poor girl was rushed off her feet but always had a smile

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducky969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Ducky969
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed on to Sarah and the other staff at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived as a family to stay here for a night. I had booked a triple room and an executive room. We arrived a little earlier than planned (1.30 pm) but to our delight the rooms were ready. We were sent up to our rooms on the 2nd floor by a very friendly man on reception to drop off our bags.
The rooms were spacious and very clean, if not a little too warm - I had to turn off the radiator and leave the window open all night to cool down.
The extra money I had paid for the executive room I didn't feel was worth it. The only added extras were 2 robes and a bottle of still water. I had thought that it would have been bigger, perhaps a nicer tv, but other than that there was no problems at all.
The hotel is located in between several car sales garages and about 10-15 minutes drive from town, but that meant a quieter night as there was no noise outside.
There was a mix of people in the hotel, a few sports teams staying there that night, along with some other families, groups etc.
The Irish rugby match was on in the bar, which was good to see and the lobby was busy, with people relaxing for the afternoon which was nice to see.
The breakfast the next morning was nice, plenty of cereals, yogurts, some fruit and bread along with the usual fry up.
Overall a lovely trip, thanks very much.

Room Tip: If planning a city trip, hotel is a little far out. Wouldn't recommend upgrading to the executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennywithay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Lennywithay,
thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed onto all the departments concerned.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband, 2 children and I were on our way back to Wexford recently and we stopped off again for a bite to eat in the Viking Hotel. We had been there before and we loved it, and again our experience this time was similar.

The Carvery was wonderful, the service very efficient, and the customer focus exemplary. The menu was extensive, and the healthy options were delicious as well as being very attractive. When I asked for a ‘Kids Menu’, the waitress advised me that ‘kids can have whatever they want’, which was a wonderful treat for my kids who were not shy with their requests!

Altogether, an honest and genuine display of hospitality, and it is obvious that this busy establishment take great pride in providing top-class customer service, and is being rewarded accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDPOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear FDPOB,
thank you for reviewing your recent meal at the Waterford Viking Hotel. I'm glad you found the food and the service to be so enjoyable.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing