We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel was good, it was child friendly. My daughter was happy that it had a tv. It was really close to Waterford city, about 10 minutes drive. Although there is no pool in the hotel, guests can use one at a nearby hotel, ask at reception. The breakfast is buffet and is nice. It didn't finish until 11 on Saturday & Sunday which allows for a longer lie on. The staff were friendly. We had dinner in the bar which was nice & wasn't overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Arrived at hotel at 8.55 pm after delayed and stormy journey from Holyhead. The nice young man at reception could find no trace of our booking which I had made over the net. Fortunately I had printed off a copy so the matter was resolved quite quickly. Normally they stop serving food at 9 pm but he offered to keep kitchen staff on if we wanted. The room was clean and tidy, and breakfast the following morning was reasonable. Overall, no more and no less than what I had expected.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaspydog322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here twice in March, first for two nights then for one a couple of weeks later for work reasons. Unusual location, surrounded by car showrooms and quite a bit outside the town. Handy for me for where I was going but would not think it very handy for visiting the town. Rooms were clean and comfortable (no complaints although TV could do with an update). Staff were generally very friendly (especially reception) but one rating point was dropped for a rather rude (and slightly odd) barman who managed to make everyone in my party feel pretty uncomfortable. The food was a mixed bag - had carvery and bar food (both very nice) but breakfast was really hit miss. First morning was delicious (especially the bacon) so was really looking forward to second morning breakfast only to find no bacon and no fried eggs (had to make do with scrambled and no hotel gets those right). Third breakfast was a real disappointment - the bacon was overdone, chewy and old and the fried eggs seemed like they had been there since the day before. Also no fresh fruit (was fruit salad) but it i snice to have a few bananas and apples around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LIVERZEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Room provided completely inadequate. Totally understaffed to manage the crowd. Food not available on time. Tables not cleared. Relied on kids parents to distribute the food. Delays on tea, coffe and milk. Basic food ok. Would not recommend to any other large groups.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank barryjogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Reasonably priced and very comfortable hotel on the outer edge of Waterford. Sitting among all the car dealerships, on an industrial estate on the outskirts of Waterford, it is not in an attractive setting, but the hotel is warm and the rooms comfortable. Good, free, WiFi. It is a car drive to the city centre. They give a free pass to a gym/swimming pool, but again, you can only do this by car. Late bar for residents

Room Tip: Fitness centre is a 10/15 min car drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently and had a very comfortable peaceful nights sleep. Room is clean and spacious but I did not like the large open space wardrobe for your clothing and baggage..
Good size bathroom with bath and excellent shower..satellite tv which was a welcome to the basics usually offered.

Would I stay at this hotel again when visiting Waterford - Yes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in The Viking for 2 nights on a weekend break. Initial thoughts were that it is in a very strange location, being on a road packed with car showrooms and a good 10 minute drive to the city centre and tourist areas.

Check in was very friendly and the room was spotlessly clean with a large double bed and bathroom. A kettle is provided for making a hot drink and has plenty of tea and coffee sachets. After returning from the city at midnight, we were impressed that there wasn't any noise on the whole floor, nor in the morning from the car dealers close by. The mattress was very comfortable so a great sleep was had. A complimentary newspaper is also available from reception.

On the second day we went for a walk by the coast and returned for a bath before going out in the evening, having been cold and wet I was looking forward to a hot soak but then I noticed that there wasn't a plug in the bathroom. Thankfully one was delivered to our room within 5 minutes of bringing this to the attention of a staff member, and everything was fine. Wifi was also of good enough quality to stream live football to my iPod as I soaked, perfect!! Another suggestion would be to keep some minature milk cartons at reception as only 4 are provided in the room, so if guests use them on arrival they will need replenishing, this would be easier than having to ask in the bar/restaurant like I did on reception's instructions.

In summary,a very nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Edward C,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad that you enjoyed such a good nights sleep. Many people stay with us for the peace and quiet. The suggestions you have made with regards to the items in the room have been passed onto the relevant departments.
thank you again
Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing