We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great clean hotel, too far from town, avoid eating in there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Kells, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great clean hotel, too far from town, avoid eating in there”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying in this hotel for 2 nights. We had twin room (2 adults and child) and beds were quite spacious. The rooms are great, clean and tidy, but TV unit is old and need to be upgraded as it makes terrible noises at night for some reason.
The bathroom didn't have working vent nor mat so my husband had a good slide going out of the shower after all the mpoisture and water gathered up..He managed to stay up :-)
I found the piping system in the hotel quite noisy especially when your neighbor takes a shower or flushes the water
Free parking and Wi-Fi are the advantages of the place.
No lift to the first floor.
No Air conditioning in the room available
It is family friendly place, front desk staff very nice and helpful.

After trying out the Carvery meals in the bar we didn't want to eat there any more. Food felt like stuck to our stomachs for days. (lack of children's cutlery is a downside for us as well) First day breakfast was average, poor quality to my opinion. The second morning fruit salad wasn't fresh and there wasn't enough croissants for everyone.Waitressing staff seem to be very unhappy there.

In general the hotel itself is very nice but bit too far from the city so you need a car to travel, Food and catering service was rather poor. Only one young waiter was "on the ball" and cheerful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    172
    123
    30
    31
See reviews for
95
215
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed during a business trip to Waterford. Hotel is in between two garages ( no real view from room )
Had dinner in the bar which was good .
bed could have done with a new mattress a little dipped in the centre .
Breakfast was self service .
General service was very good and I feel this hotel is most suited for business or short term stay . Not really a holiday hotel as its about 3 or 4 Klm outside the City. if i was in Waterford again I would stay.
free Wifi

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent a night here before a job interview, very noisy and far too warm. Food and breakfast average. In a strange location out of the town, not within walking distance in a pair of heels. Would definitely go somewhere closer next time to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCB2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Cork
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Unusual location, surrounded by car dealers, but near all the ring roads.

Staff pleasant...

The room was fine but extremely noisy. There was constant creaking from what sounded like plumbing over the room as well as noise from the bar.

The room was airless and absolutely roasting hot.

Still not bad for 50 euro.

The dinner in the bar was absolutely delicious and definately the high point of the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkNitpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After staying for two nights at the Travelodge hotel down the road and having a very poor experience there, we thoroughly enjoyed the comfort and quiet that this hotel offered and at €5 less per night it really was a welcome relief :)

Close to links to the city and the rest of the country for exploring but not close enough to the road for the traffic noise to be any concern.

Room Tip: The upper floors offer nice views across the area and there is a lift for access :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Wasn't expecting much from this hotel. Just the standard room and TV but we found all the staff were very nice and extremely helpful. Location isn't ideal, but we had a good time. Food was good too and the all you can eat breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funnyonion87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was working locally and found this hotel to be a great place to stay,The staff were all helpful,The rooms Clean and no issues with parking or wifi .The hotel has a bar which does reasonable bar food and a good carvery during the day.There was an issue with my reservation from an online service ,they didn't have a reservation for me but the receptionist took my booking at the rate advertised on the site with no fuss, I have since stayed there again and will do so again in the future .it is a distance from the city center but its is very easy to get to .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,374 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing