We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the viking hotel after staying 3 nights with husband and 2 children aged 5 and 2.. check in was fine but no more than that.. booked from advert in Sunday world newspaper where offer stated family room.. bucket and spade for kids on arrival, free pass on train ride and free admission to tramore amusement park.. none of these were given on arrival and had to be asked for. . Kids got bucket and a rake, vouchers were for tokens towards rides at amusement park to value if approx €7 (no admission fee) and no one knew anything about a train ride. Rooms were adequate, have seen nicer even in 3 star, we were advised we would have a double and 2 singles instead we had 2 singles pushed together and 2 camp beds for the kids one of which collapsed when she sat on it and bars underneath were broken. Mattresses were extremely uncomfortable. TV was tiny and positioned so that you had to lie at the bottom of the bed to see it. The room was however clean although not cleaned daily. The bathroom was small but nice. The food in the bar was lovely and served by a very friendly waitress. The breakfast was very poor. Swimming in grease poor choices and felt like we had to ask the staff every few seconds for things which had not been replenished. We were advised on the first day that there were no bananas left at 9:30 am however there were none any of the 3 mornings we were there. The staff seemed very unhappy at their work there. We were also advised they had run out of croissants only to find that minutes later a whole basket was brought out as we were about to leave. It appeared the answer to everything was sorry we don't have that. The location of the hotel is not really suitable for families or small children as is very close to the main road and surrounded by car garages. There are no nice views around the hotel. There is nowhere local you can walk to and have to a drive everywhere. I feel this hotel is just average and won't be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sflynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear SFlynn1

Thank you for taking the time to write and advise us of your recent experience at this hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
It is normal practise for us to check in our visiting families as quickly as possible and allow them time to settle into their room without offering too many instructions or information. We would normally then suggest that they return to the desk whenever is convenient for them and their young children, when we can offer the additional services/information. This usually allows children to settle into their new surroundings.
Having spoken with the Accommodation Manager, I understand the daily room cleaning service was offered. However, the housekeeper on duty was unable to gain entry to your room on one day when one of your children was sleeping and you did not wish them to be disturbed.
We have taken note of your comments regarding the TV, a new viewing arm has been attached to this particular TV set, which allows better visibility throughout the room.
Your observations regarding breakfast have been most helpful. However, there is constant management supervision in this area and unless it was particularly busy at the time you had your breakfast, these shortages would not have happened. We normally receive many favourable comments about our breakfast service, so to hear otherwise is disappointing.
It is always useful to receive our guests comments in order that we may improve our services and eliminate our failings. I hope that you will forgive our shortcomings on this occasion and that you will hopefully return to us as a welcome guest in the future.

Yours sincerely
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    161
    118
    29
    30
See reviews for
90
206
17
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our 7th visit to the viking, I dont know why I did not review it before, the hotel is located on the Cork road at the first roundabout on the way out of Waterford, which makes it the ideal location for touring, Tramore, Passage east, Dunmore East, Kilmeaden mini train, all in easy reach of the viking as you are on the ring road, the sleep quality is excellent as the hotel is in off the road, the food in the bar is beautiful, reasonably priced,very well presented, the staff are great always ready with a chat and advice on local activities etc, a special mention to one staff member Louise on reception what a lovely girl she remembers guests first names and makes it her bussiness to ensure your utmost comfort, the rooms are spotless, soft towels, very comfy beds, looking forward to our next visit, thanks to all at the Viking, see you soon, Gerry & Mary



reasonably priced and very well presented and the portions are very generous,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartgerry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gerry and Mary
thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Viking Hotel.
Your kind comments are much appreciated.
I have passed on your comments to Louise at the front desk, about whom we often receive glowing references.
Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Ridiculous painting going on in the hotel during peak season. Very disturbing especially with young children and the smell of paint. Sheer madness. It's not fair in guests, painting should be done during off peak season.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_hogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sarah_Hogan,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Viking Hotel.
As you mentioned we completed a refurbishment programme in the hotel, which included the lobby and the restaurant area. We do use odourless paint and try as much as possible to carry out any refurbishment out of season, and during times where guests will not be inconvenienced.
I am sorry if that was not the case on this occasion.
However, I do hope that you feel the results are worthwhile.
Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my son as he was running in the all irelands the next day. check in was fine ,nice frendly staff. Everthing looked lovely from the foyer to the rooms to the restaurant. But my problem occured at night. Myself & my son were trying to go to sleep early (10:00) but there was alot of noise in the corridor, also the beds weren't very comfortable as you could feel the springs all night. We than woke up & went for breakfast my son had porridge for his big race but felt sick after it my breakfast was fine. Overall the hotel was good, unfortunately it was a bit hard to find as it is located behind several car garages.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear John B
thank you for taking the time to review your stay during February.
Throughout each winter we carry out a refurbishment programme, and you'll be glad to hear that your room was upgraded since you last stayed. A further refurbishment programme is planned for the coming winter.
I hope your son got the result he was looking for in the athletics, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again next year.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Viking hotel with a visitor from India and we had an excellent stay on all counts. We were very busy getting ready for a major presentation and the hotel went out of their way to help us any way they could. We stayed at some hotels on our way after that in both Ireland and Brussels and my India visitor kept referring back that the Viking hotel was better. Even when we were leaving, they enquired from him how his presentation went and he felt really positive from the fact they remembered.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear James C,
thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at the Viking Hotel.
We're glad that we were able to assist in making your business trip as comfortable as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Waterford again the next time you are in Waterford.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

If, like me, you're a petrolhead, then this is the hotel for you as it's based in the centre of Waterford's car showrooms. Look in any direction and you'll see showrooms for Audi, Ford, Dacia, Renault, Honda, Volvo etc.

The hotel is quite spacious and the rooms are large and clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room. When booking, make sure you get a front room because the rooms at the rear overlook the hotel yard and there's a boiler or some sort of machine there that comes into action at 4.30 a.m. or so and the noise can be quite intrusive.

Breakfast, as with so many hotels now, is of the do it yourself variety. I took two eggs and two slices of bacon and to be honest, I just ate them because I was hungry. Not happy with those. They have this machine into which you place slices of bread and out comes toast on the other side. I put my slices through three times but they still came out white.

However, for an overnight stay, the hotel is great value. There's good parking and all of Waterford's treasures and delights are just a few miles away. If I could pick a front room, I'd certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Get a room at the front or you'll be awakened by the noise of the boiler (that's what I call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Jamesie67,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Viking Hotel.
Your comments have been passed to the departments concerned and in particular, the Kitchen Brigade have taken on board your comments regarding breakfast.
The hotel as you stated, is situated on the Cork Road, close to the industrial estates, WIT, Whitfield Clinic and only minutes away from the motorway exits for M25, M9 and N24. It's ideal for anyone visiting who wants to be within easy reach of the city centre and close to the ring road exits.
Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived 8:30pm and was met at reception by a lovely girl. No problems checking in and we had a room on the ground floor. It was a triple room but we only booked at double, was a pleasant surprise. Only complaint would be the bar was open but we felt unwelcome when going in to get a drink well before closing time. Yet, drinks were very reasonable. Beds were absolutely fab and the water was piping hot all the time. Bath was an added bonus and was very relaxing. Breakfast was lovely also and was available until 10:30. Perfect night away!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LeaneE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear LeaneE,
thank you for taking the time to review your recently stay at the Viking Hotel. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments, including the fact that you were refused drinks in the bar. This should never have happened. It is certainly not our policy to close the bar early.
I can only apologise for this.
I do hope it won't prevent you from staying with us again in the future.
Thanks again for your review.
Aideen Murphy
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing