We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but probably wont return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Halifax
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok, but probably wont return”
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We booked into this hotel for the fifth night of our trip to Ireland. We choose this hotel for its location related to the Waterford Crystal Factory.

The facility look brand new. However, the location is more akin to a business/industrial park rather then a fine hotel location. It appears to be geared to the travelling salesman/representative. Probably not the spot to spend more then one night’s stay.

It was clean, bright and well maintained. Restaurant/bar off the main lobby. The room was small and even though we booked a non-smoking room, there was an ashtray on the table. (There was not odour of smoke in the room – but it seemed strange that a non-smoking room would have an ashtray.)

The view overlooked the mechanics of the hotel (air conditioning/ventilation) and the parking lot. The rooms on the other side of the hallway would overlook the busy street and other businesses in the area. Because of the main mechanicals located on the roof below our window, the noise prevented us from opening the room to get any fresh air.

We drove to Tramore for our evening meal. A pleasant drive and the amusement/fair grounds at the beach was a lively venue.

There was nothing really wrong with the hotel, but next time we will probably book into a hotel closer to the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_s_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    163
    120
    29
    30
See reviews for
91
209
18
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irelands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Got a great room only rate for the Ramada Viking in Waterford so tried it out for 1 night. Hotel itself is fine, no problems with the staff like a previous reviewer had. Hotel is a little bit outside Waterford city so don't go there thinking its in the city, its not - having said that its only a couple of miles outside. Rooms in the hotel are large and clean, exactly what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. Only problem we had was whoever were staying in the rooms next to us seemed to be shouting and roaring all night so it was VERY noisy which spoiled the break for us. Apart from that, couldn't fault the hotel....

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The noise coming from the other rooms
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jeeeeeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

cjsmithnj
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We picked the Viking Ramada purely because we got a great rate on a room, and we were passing through Waterford for the night. It was great value for money (49 Euro), but if we paid more I would have been dissapointed.

The Hotel common rooms were bright and clean, but somewhat lacking in local style (you could have been anywhere in the world). The staff was good and answered our questions easily.

The bar/lounge was a good place to grab a quick meal, and the staff here were very friendly and helpful. The food was acceptable.

Breakfast was a different story. The eggs were runny and seemed to be powdered. The meat and fish looked old and dry, the bacon was dry and hard, there was a server who cleaned all the tables directly around us the entire time we were trying to eat (even though we were the only people in the dining room)!

The room was clean, but we asked for 2 twin beds- and there were 2 twin beds and a cot in the room. I asked if we had the right room at the front desk- I was told "it doesn't matter- pick two of the beds."- strange. The bathroom in the room did have one great plus- radiant heat in the floor. A nice plus.

I would stay again if I got the same or lower rate, but only then.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We found the receptionist very friendly and helpful and most of all efficient. Our room was light and airy and our double bed very comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. We had a car which was very useful bearing in mind the out of town location but there was a bus service to town. Close to Waterford Chrystal Factory which is well worth a visit. With a car a couple of hours from Cork well worth a visit, Killkenny about an hour away another great location and Limerick couple of hours away. Back to the hotel very adequate breakfasts nice dining room and well worth a return visit. Waterford itself is a bit dated but alot of work in progress for the future. Willbe well worth a return visit in a couple of years.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — location in car retail area
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Nice little hotel..staff very pleasant..what hotel staff should be...
accomodation nice and comfortable...food very nice...Have no hesitation of staying in this hotel when next in Waterford..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank racer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

Booked a two night deal with Irish supermarket chain and got great deal of 2 nights b+b plus 1 evening meal for 99euro for my girlfriend and I.
Arrived at hotel late afternoon and met at recption by Katie who we got a warm welcome from. Check-in was smooth. Room was on second floor and was very spacious. It had all mod cons plus free Sky movies which I found a nice touch after long drive. We had huge 6ft bed which was very comfy.
Breakfast both morning's was very nice with plenty to choose from.Had dinner second night and was very good. My girlfriend had a toothache and that spoiled dinner for her and put a bit of a dampner on evening but once staff saw her discomfort they were very supportive of her diliemna. Didn't get dinning room staff names but would like to thank them.
Over all a nice place to stay for someone visiting Waterford. 10 mins from centre of city and 2 mins from Waterford crystal factory shop that I would recommend everyone to visit with its brilliant tour.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Discsaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Stayed one night in Waterford at this hotel. Room decorations were kind of sparse, the pillows and bed were very uncomfortable, and the sheets smelled like sour milk. It's quite far from city center, but is only a 5 minute drive down the road to the Waterford Crystal Factory. The night we stayed there some drunks were banging on doors on our floor. It's cheap and was fine for a one night stay, but I'd recommend looking into a different hotel.

  • Disliked — The scented toilet paper
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing