We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading and Timewasting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Misleading and Timewasting”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Please be aware that the Ramada Viking website for booking is misleading. The booking for special offer rates implies that a simple €7.00 deposit is all that is required for initial booking to hold the room. This is not the case however and they then try to take the remainder from your card/account. I had previously stayed at this hotel and encountered the same problem with my mother and father. However, they conceded that it was a problem on their side and did their best to rectify the issue. Upon trying to book this month I was called and told that nothing could be done - I either had to pay upfront or lose the deal, room and deposit. There was no concession and they would not allow me to pay for the room by card later in the week while holding the deal and kept the initial booking fee. Although I realise this is a very slight amount of money, in the times of recession, with one hotel closing per week in Ireland, they could possibly have treated their customer with more dignity. I am on a fixed income and do not have large quantites of money at hand.

Also, their bar is terrible.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinamullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    166
    121
    30
    30
See reviews for
91
213
18
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed here 3rd & 4th April 2009 .
This is a lovely well appointed hotel. It's out of the town a little bit because it is situated quite close to the Waterford Crystal factory but sadly that's closed now. The food is excellent, a bit pricey but we didn't feel like going into town. Our room was large & comfortable.
The staff at this hotel were friendly & extremely helpful. The day we arrived we had had a very upsetting & stressful day. My husband's wallet had been stolen whilst on the way to the airport in Paris to catch our flight to Dublin. We had reported it stolen to police but couldn't get through to our credit card providers on the phone. Our plane was late & we got into Dublin 5pm & it was raining . The hire car company couldn't find us listed so we had to wait while they found a car for us. By the time we got to the hotel it was 8:30pm. We were tired, stressed & worried. We had still not been able to get through to our credit card providers. The receptionist was very helpful she suggested we get something to eat & drink as the bar food was only on for another 1/2 hour & we had not had anything since leaving Paris. She told us to come & see her after we had eaten. She then helped us to get through to our Credit card providers to cancel the cards & to our daughter in Australia to help us with the ones we couldn't get through to. All the staff were very helpful throughout the stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dealseeker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Room was clean and had everything we needed. restaurant was good.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyChapelHillNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Had a 1 night stay here for a family get-together. The rooms are a reasonable size and well kept. Sky Movies for free is a nice touch. Dinner in the restaurant was OK, nothing special, but then who goes to hotel restaurants looking for haute cuisine ? The staff were excellent throughout.

The main downside is the the location in the middle of car dealerships and strip malls with nothing of interest within walking distance and about €10-11 by taxi from the centre of town. However if you have a car and don't need nightlife then it's really good value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We choose this hotel based on a 39 euro per room rate so we weren't expecting much based on the price. Firest hiccup was that the hotels.com map has the hotel in the wrong place but wasn't that hard to find. It's in the middle of a numbe of car dealerships so no nice views.

Check in (and out) was efficient and despite arriving at the earliest checkin time the room was ready. The room size was fine for this class of the hotel. The shower is the first disabled access one I've seen in a hotel room.

Didn't eat in the hotel - breakfast was 11 euro each extra - so can't comment on dining. Maid service was fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medic143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We booked into this hotel for the fifth night of our trip to Ireland. We choose this hotel for its location related to the Waterford Crystal Factory.

The facility look brand new. However, the location is more akin to a business/industrial park rather then a fine hotel location. It appears to be geared to the travelling salesman/representative. Probably not the spot to spend more then one night’s stay.

It was clean, bright and well maintained. Restaurant/bar off the main lobby. The room was small and even though we booked a non-smoking room, there was an ashtray on the table. (There was not odour of smoke in the room – but it seemed strange that a non-smoking room would have an ashtray.)

The view overlooked the mechanics of the hotel (air conditioning/ventilation) and the parking lot. The rooms on the other side of the hallway would overlook the busy street and other businesses in the area. Because of the main mechanicals located on the roof below our window, the noise prevented us from opening the room to get any fresh air.

We drove to Tramore for our evening meal. A pleasant drive and the amusement/fair grounds at the beach was a lively venue.

There was nothing really wrong with the hotel, but next time we will probably book into a hotel closer to the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_s_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irelands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Got a great room only rate for the Ramada Viking in Waterford so tried it out for 1 night. Hotel itself is fine, no problems with the staff like a previous reviewer had. Hotel is a little bit outside Waterford city so don't go there thinking its in the city, its not - having said that its only a couple of miles outside. Rooms in the hotel are large and clean, exactly what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. Only problem we had was whoever were staying in the rooms next to us seemed to be shouting and roaring all night so it was VERY noisy which spoiled the break for us. Apart from that, couldn't fault the hotel....

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The noise coming from the other rooms
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jeeeeeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing