We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Nice hotel. Spacious, clean room. Large bed. Good facilities available. Would need car/taxi to get into city (taxi bout E10). Staff are friendly although receptionist was making faces at the person on the phone :-/
Only bad thing was creaking noise from the roof when it was windy, maybe don't stay on 3rd floor!
Got room for quite a good price (hotels.com always do a good price).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine_2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    163
    120
    29
    30
See reviews for
91
209
18
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

On the way to Cork from Fishguard, we passed through Waterford and had made arrangements for a room at the Ramada Viking. It is located outside of the main city centre, towards the ring road but very close to Waterford Crystal & fantastic if you need to take the journey onto Cork! Parking is easy and plentiful.

The hotel itself is very nice, with a bar and restaurant attached and the rooms are spacious, clean with firm, incredibly large and comfortable beds. The en-suite was well appointed and there was a working TV.

I booked this hotel through TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidGamerWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed here last summer for just one night but we were very satisfied.
Our room was great, very clean and cozy and after a long day that was all we asked for!!
Bed was very big and comfortable. Bathroom was ok, they had the "forgotten something?" service (if you forget something e.g. toothpaste , they'll bring it to you).
Breakfast was just fine (cereal, cheese, hot food).
Location is not the best, but hotel is probably aimed for people who are just passing by and need a rest for a night or two, and if you have a car it is not a problem. However it is close to the Waterford Crystal factory which is a must see!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik0lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We got a room here for less than 32 euros a night, which we considered excellent value.

The room and bath were nice-sized, if fairly plain. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good, although not a bargain. Parking was ample. The location was acceptable, even though hardly scenic.

At a good price, this is an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoguyshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We just did an overnighter here from the Rosslare ferry before starting a couple of weeks holiday in Ireland. We had a large simply furnished and decorated room with a decent bathroom which was satisfactory for our one night stay. Not sure that I would want to stay any longer as the room could have done with some freshening up but at the price I ain't complaining. The only staff member we came in to contact was with the young lady at reception who was very welcoming, friendly & helpful. We had booked on a room only basis and decided we would have breakfast at Waterford Glass just down the road. That was sad to see from a once great manufacturing business reduced to just the showroom flogging off the very expensive stock left in the warehouse. Just as a tip there is much better quality cut glass to be had elsewhere in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Please be aware that the Ramada Viking website for booking is misleading. The booking for special offer rates implies that a simple €7.00 deposit is all that is required for initial booking to hold the room. This is not the case however and they then try to take the remainder from your card/account. I had previously stayed at this hotel and encountered the same problem with my mother and father. However, they conceded that it was a problem on their side and did their best to rectify the issue. Upon trying to book this month I was called and told that nothing could be done - I either had to pay upfront or lose the deal, room and deposit. There was no concession and they would not allow me to pay for the room by card later in the week while holding the deal and kept the initial booking fee. Although I realise this is a very slight amount of money, in the times of recession, with one hotel closing per week in Ireland, they could possibly have treated their customer with more dignity. I am on a fixed income and do not have large quantites of money at hand.

Also, their bar is terrible.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinamullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed here 3rd & 4th April 2009 .
This is a lovely well appointed hotel. It's out of the town a little bit because it is situated quite close to the Waterford Crystal factory but sadly that's closed now. The food is excellent, a bit pricey but we didn't feel like going into town. Our room was large & comfortable.
The staff at this hotel were friendly & extremely helpful. The day we arrived we had had a very upsetting & stressful day. My husband's wallet had been stolen whilst on the way to the airport in Paris to catch our flight to Dublin. We had reported it stolen to police but couldn't get through to our credit card providers on the phone. Our plane was late & we got into Dublin 5pm & it was raining . The hire car company couldn't find us listed so we had to wait while they found a car for us. By the time we got to the hotel it was 8:30pm. We were tired, stressed & worried. We had still not been able to get through to our credit card providers. The receptionist was very helpful she suggested we get something to eat & drink as the bar food was only on for another 1/2 hour & we had not had anything since leaving Paris. She told us to come & see her after we had eaten. She then helped us to get through to our Credit card providers to cancel the cards & to our daughter in Australia to help us with the ones we couldn't get through to. All the staff were very helpful throughout the stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dealseeker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing