We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Service was great.
We stayed several days sightseeing and at no time did we get bad service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel for only one night but could of easily stayed longer. Clean and comfortable with a good breakfast. It is a little way out of Town but it is so easy to drive into Town so this is not a problem if you have transport. Would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedOne147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I stayed waith my partner in this hotel at the beginning of july, in a smoking room. The room was very clean, and quite large, and nicely decorated. Bed was huge ! Rang reception at one stage for an iron which arrived in less than 5 minutes - service ! We didnt eat in the restuarant so i cant comment on that. Free sky movies available which awas nice as we didnt have any nightlife planned for this trip. Staff very nice and helpful. Also they supply complimentary newspapers. the hotel is about 2 miles from the city centre, which might be a problem but from what i could see the receptionist was helpful to other customers about booking taxis etc. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed here a few times. Its OK. relatively clean. Good value compared with the prices some hotels charge these days.
Its good.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Python
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Stayed three nights, booked non-smoking room, first night hotel was full, no non-smoking room was available but moved me next day no problem. For the price this represented very good value, comfortable clean hotel, friendly helpful staff, I would stay here again, only down side was location, hotel was a fair way out of town thus if you wanted to go into town in the evenings without a car, taxi was ten euro each way, so might be more cost effective to stay in a closer hotel, hotel surrounded by car showrooms, some reports put this as a negative but it did mean nights were quiet

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taibhreamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We needed to stay one night in Waterford and this hotel was perfect for one night.
We booked a connecting room for 99 euros which was excellent value for two rooms for 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel is really only suitable for one night or for commercial travellers as it is located in an industrial estate, on cork road just outside city, so not very scenic.

We had food in the bar which i have to say was suprisingly good and not overpriced.
The hotel staff from receptionist to bar persons were very friendly and helpful.

The bedrooms have basic unfussy furniture with bland colours but both bedrooms and bathroom were perfectly clean.

The only complaint i had was at 1am in the morning our neighbouring room turned on the television and we could hear and make out the music, we rang reception asking them to turn it down which was dealt with very promptly. So the walls must be quite thin.

Breakfast following morning was excellent.

I would recommend this hotel if passing through or looking for a base around waterford.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathalbrugha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I enjoy staying at this hotel.. Rooms are fine, clean, good shower.
Staff are very helpful,
at breakfast I asked whether I could have s skinny cappucino with my breakfast, the girl said no problem, and as I was leaving she made offered to make me another one to take back to my room,,,(which I took her up on).
I stay here often when visiting family in Waterford and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishmaryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £46 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing