We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value and Friendly Hosts”
Review of Dunroven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunroven B&B
Ranked #13 of 24 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here during a two week trip around Ireland. We mainly stayed in budget accomodation and this was one of the best places we stayed. The hosts are lovely, the room was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was amazing! Tea, coffee and biscuits were available. We had a very relaxing stay and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrinatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We recently completed a 3 week vacation during which we around the entire island of Ireland. Over 20 nights we stayed in 18 different Bed & Breakfasts, paying between €50 to €80, and £60 to £65 in Northern Island. This review is based upon the relative merits of Dunroven with respect to others that we visited.
Dunroven Bed & Breakfast is a bargain. We paid €50 for one night stay, including a hearty hot breakfast for both of us (see attached photos). This was the cheapest place we stayed on the entire trip, but it was nicer than some of the pricier places we saw. We stayed in Room 3. The room was not large, and the shower is even smaller, and at one point we could hear the visitors checking into room next to us, but noise was not a problem at night. Dunroven is on a busy street, but I was not bothered by street sounds at night.
Dunroven is farther outside of Waterford than I expected. Just look for the Gulf station, then it is easy to find. But you will need to get back into your car to go out to dinner or see any of the sights of Waterford, it is definitely too far to walk
The parking lot for Dunroven is a small car park in the front yard, in which all the cars of the guests squeeze into. The European drivers have no problem maneuvering their tiny cars in tight spaces, but I was still cautious about driving our rental car (while driving in Ireland on the opposite side of the road, with the manual gear shift in my “wrong” hand I became acutely aware of parking issues). However, you can park on the grass outside of the parking lot, it is permitted to leave the car there all night, which is easy parking! That’s our rental car out in front on the grass in the attached photo.
We selected Dunroven because we thought it would be ideally located for Waterford. It turned out to be a little further out than I expected, but I was still pleased by our experience. Especially considering the price, Dunroven is a good value. The host was nice.
Payment was requested in cash; apparently the phone companies in Ireland charge an exorbitant fee to maintain a phone-line for processing credit card transactions.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very friendly hostess on arrival. Room was clean and warm. There were good beverage facilities with an assortment of biscuits. After a good nights sleep the host and hostess served us a tasty Irish breakfast. We would certainly go back again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We visited as two couples. One of our rooms was OK, but rather dated. The other room had a shower so small one could barely turn around. Breakfast was fine. It's located on the edge of the city, so there's nothing within walking distance. The hostess has an unusual personality. She was very helpful finding a laundry for us, but when we forgot the instructions for the TV, she scolded us! When I had trouble with the Internet signal, I was told it must be my computer, instead of being advised to move closer to the signal. And when we checked out she became quite irate when we split the bill instead of paying in one sum! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We only stayed one night at the Dunroven B&B in Waterford on our tour across Ireland. They were extremely helpful, breakfast was great, and all needs of the guest were thought out and provided for. Thank you so much for a wonderful (short) stay in Waterford, Ireland!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reblynnmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is a nice B & B for the value. Waterford was a little disappointing since the factory has closed down but the city itself is a great place to visit and Dooley's Hotel was a good place for a great meal. The service and the food was awesome at Dooley's Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

i was working in waterford for two weeks and the hotel assigned to the company was full so i was placed in this bnb for 6nights.
it was everything i could have wanted, comfortable, clean and warm. i had to move into the hotel after the first week and i much preferred the bnb!!!
every morning we had to leave at 7.30 so breda would be up first thing cooking breakfast for 7. breda and paul were so friendly and helpful but at the same time not at all intrusive.
i would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0 mi away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,252 reviews
0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,422 reviews
0 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunroven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunroven B&B

Address: Ballinaneesagh | Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range: £26 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunroven B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing