We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, handy spot in Waterford”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, handy spot in Waterford”
Reviewed 2 January 2008

My husband and I stayed here on the 31st of December, drove up from Dublin. It looks like a new hotel, easy to find- too bad we couldnt park in the hotel parking lot as it was full, reception could have been friendlier.
Bar very nice, ok staff. They ignore you until you actually wave at them for attention.
Hotel restaurant "Dish" outstanding food, rude asian waitress that almost bit our head off when we went in the next morning to sit down for breakfast.
All in all i would go back as the rooms were lovely, clean and new but for this to be a top class hotel the staff needs to be told to be a bit nicer.

  • Liked — Room/Food/Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalianinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    395
    264
    156
    101
See reviews for
215
625
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Was not sure what to expect when I booked this Hotel for a weekend. The minute I walked in through the door of the hotel I knew I had nothing to worry about. From the minute we walked in to the minute we left we were treated excellently. Staff were both friendly and helpful. The rooms were top class and the whole hotel was spotless at all times. Food was also great and very well priced

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean rooms
  • Disliked — Car park was a little tight for room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2007

I have stayed in the fitzwilton before with my Girlfriend back in feb of this year. So we decided to vist it again after the lovely time we had the first time.
First visit:
Food was great
Nice staff
great rooms
Lovely hotel

Second Visit;
Staff were rude
food was not nice what so ever
Rooms were great
Lovely hotel


When we were checking in the lady(seemed to be Scottish) at the front desk would not even look at me while speaking to me I gave her my name and she took the details and handed me the room key without telling what room or floor we were on.
Went to the bar to have some food and after our first vist I thought it would have been great I was mistaken. I ordered the steak and it came out with in 4-5mins I was quite shocked and said to my girlfriend wow that was super quick, as we ate I found the steak to be dry and cold in the centre and it seemed to be cooked early on and just pan fried to quickly heat it up.

On leaving the same girl was at the front desk I told her the room number that we were checking out from and she said ok........That was it no receipt no thank you nothing.
Why ruin a great hotel with staff and food like that Im sad to say I WONT be staying again for the 3rd time due to the food and staff.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonnytraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Surrey, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and were very pleased with the room. It was clean and the decor was modern. We had an excellent buffet style breakfast the next morning and I would consider this hotel as good value for money. It is a short walk from the main shopping area and suited us perfectly. The staff were polite and helpful.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AceyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Very good value for money. Clean, friendly but a small bit out of the way. Comfortable bed, nice tv, nice shower, good food.

p.s. don't usually write reviews but I honestly felt I got good value here.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank madcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2007

It was my third time to stay at The Fitzwilton this year. All three times were for an extended stay. It just seems to get better each time. I have always found the staff to be ever so friendly and enjoyed to see them on a "staff night" out. That says much for the management team's approach to harnessing a good working environment which in turn moves on to the Customer.

The hotel is clean, warm and relatively quiet. Great for someone who is on the road working. The rooms have all the basic amenities. The beds are comfortable and the linen is clean and in good shape.

The restauraunt is inviting with great art and mood lightine. The food is delicious, prepared well and too your liking, and served greciously and professionally by the staff. The bar may also boast delightful food and a good atmosphere. Bar staff too are helpful and quite friendly. Breakfast is buffet style and prepared as well as ready as advertised. Hot or cold food is available again catered by professional staff.

As the hotel advertises, free WiFi. You can't beat that. Never once had a problem with it and I was using it most of the time while at the hotel.

Check-in and check-out was fast and easy with a recap of the bill facilitated by the reception desk staff.

All in all a reccommended stay for the business traveler, couples and for some fun in Waterford. Located just a quick walk from the train station and several restauraunts.

Special thanks to all of the staff (especially Bala) at The Fitzwilton for the hospitality, great Customer Service and making my stay a home away from home.

  • Liked — The staff, location, the bar and restauraunt
  • Disliked — Having to get up each morning.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTony07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

In order to break up the journey from Co Wicklow to Cork we decided to treat ourselves to an evening in Waterford.

Good: location is easy to find, the rooms well appointed and provided reasonable value (compared to others in the Irish hotel industry)

Bad: the front desk person was rude (young Scottish lady) appeared to suspicious when we remarked that the initial room that we checked into smelled of cigarette smoke (No smoking is allowed in any hotel room) - she informed us that since the hotel was fully booked for the evening, we would need to stay put or find another hotel to stay in. No other remedy was initially offered (I have personnally worked in the hotel industry for many years and would always accomodate a guest on swiching a room). She then proceeded to investigate who had previously held the room so that she could follow up with a fine....FINALLY the manager came out and overheard the conversation and promptly moved us to another room. The last comment that the young woman made was that even though we were being moved "the room is the same size as the previous" Wow.....the nerve/cheek
Although DG hotels can't be responsible for the sad state of Waterford, I was surprised at the lack of security in the evening.
Carpark was a disaster and did not provide nearly enough parking for even 1/2 of its guests.
We will bypass Waterford in the future.

  • Liked — Location for Business traveller
  • Disliked — Carpark facility and lack of security
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing