We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special, but okay hotel”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed one night last month, I am surprized it's a 4 star to be fair it warrants 3, we did get a good deal, considering it's a city based hotel, €99 for two sharing including breakfast. Biggest gripe was the carpark, full to the brim by 3.30pm, despite the fact that check in is at 3pm! So I wondered who else is using this carpark? Took my chances by street parking and paid a metre until the evening time. So don't rely on the carpark. Room was fine, breakfast was fine, although staff were under fierce pressure to an almost full breakfast room, and this led to small annoyances like waiting for bread to toast, waiting for buffet to be restocked etc.. hotel is situated amidst high rise buildings from most angles surrounded by busy streets. If I were staying in Waterford again I don't think I would choose this hotel, even though €99 was good value, I would pay a little bit extra elsewhere for peace of mind on the car front - this was my 1st time booking into a hotel shortly after check in time and finding it's carpark full. Lovely staff at this hotel, unfortunately it's not enough to entice me back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelaspangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for your comments:

Sorry to see the car park was full on your arrival. We do have free on-site parking which is rare city centre hotels, however it is subject to availability and can become full during busy periods. We do offer guests the alternative of paying €5.00 for 24 hour car parking on the Quay (2 minutes walk from the hotel). I am delighted you got to avail of one of our very good offers and also that you found all our staff lovely which I will be only too happy to relate to them.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is not up to 4 star standard,but it is a good clean hotel,my wife and i stayed here mid week on a Groupon deal and unlike a previous reviewer, We did not in anyway feel we were treated any different because of it,without doubt the menu choice with groupon is very limited,Breakfast was ok,but this area did seemed to be under staffed,wasn't happy that the hotel restaurant was closed on both nights we were there,this must be a sign of the times but it should be on the web site.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoover205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

my girlfriend booked the pent house for my 30th for 2nights. we paid 110 for a citydeal voucher with 2nights a bottle of wine and one evening meal. we upgraded to the penthouse for extra 180. we arrived to lovely staff at reception. couldn't book in till after 3 which was fine we went for a bite to eat and came back. booked in and went to the room. the room smelled awful and looked like poo walked into the floor. we checked ours and nothing on them so clearly wasn't cleaned. my girlfriend is pregnant and we really wanted a relaxing few days! we did not get that. no curtains and windows arent great it was so noisey and bright. we didn't get to use the dinner voucher as menu was just awful. we could have upgraded but still not great. we never got the free bottle of wine and no extras in penthouse as you would expect. we've stayed in hotels all over Ireland and always get nice little extras when staying in expensive rooms, even little chocs or fruit. not even a biscuit to be seen. my poor girlfriend woke at 6am unable to sleep from noise and wanted to book into somewhere else for the second night but we'd already paid and I tried to cheer her up by saying its not that bad. (it was) in fairness we didn't complain but I do intend to send a e mail. location is good and staff are friendly but hotel needs a good revamp

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wicklow1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My partner and I availed of a deal with Groupon, basically included 2 nights with breakfast each morning and one evening meal on the night of our choice and a bottle of wine to have with the meal or when ever we wanted. We stayed in Room 207 and found it to be very nice! Decor was lovely, simple but lovely. Only thing about booking with Groupon Vouchers is that there is only limited spaces for them at the weekend so we had to book midweek,totally understandable.Check in was great, receptionist was very nice and very informative, the barman was also informative, he told us all the great places to see, we had breakfast delivered as room service and was lovely, parking was very secure in the hotel premises, we didn't have a problem with it at all. The hotel it self is located in an ideal area, 15 min drive from Tramore Beach and right in the city centre. Also to note that the meal that comes with the Groupon Voucher is very limited, you have a set menu to choose from, it could do with bit more variety. All in all we had a brilliant time at the hotel and would definitely recommend it again! Also this hotel is very anti smoking and you have to sign a document when staying stating that you will not smoke in the rooms. i would advise anyone not to even attempt to do this as the windows are so small and the smoke alarms must be really sensitive because on the first night someone set the alarm off late at night, thus making us all arrive down to the reception in our pj's!! Not nice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel advertises as a 4 star hotel. It is definitely not at this level.
Rooms are average 3 star (duvets under cover were dirty)-windows were dirty but it didn't matter because the view was of the building opposite. The heat was on full blast and was uncomfortably warm. We had booked a deal that included dinner-the menu for this deal was pathetic, really pathetic. So we ended up spending an additional €35 and if we had realised this would have gone to a restaurant with good quality food. Breakfast was uninteresting and served with incompetent surliness. Overall, I would say, why the hell is this advertised as 4 star??? if advertised as 2/3 star then I'd have known what to expect. Disappointing beyond belief and definitely destroyed a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishaGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I specifically chose the hotel for onsite parking and had checked the website before booking to ensure there was same. On arrival, it became clear that onsite parking was extremely limited with most of the spaces being reserved. When I asked the receptionist about this she was very rude and offhand (as I had interrupted her chat ) - I was told I could park on the street but I'd need to be up before 8.30 to put a ticket on my car! I was also told I'd need to be in the hotel before 4 if I wanted parking....so much for a relaxing break with no time schedules!!When I said about 'free parking not limited parking' being mentioned on the website - I was told that it was clear on the website - which it certainly is not.


Moving on, things did not get any better - room was basic and bath very small not as advertised and far from being luxurious. The tv was also a let down being a very small basic tv and not the newer plasma screen as promised.

Dinner was also a big let down. It took a long time to order and when I did order - it was forgotten. Meal was basic and not what would be expected from a 4 star hotel. Staff were inattentive and failure to clear tables left people sitting with their empty places in front of them for periods of 30/40 minutes.

Overall, very disappointing and would certainly not recommend to anyone heading to Waterford. Their website leads to high expectations - maybe a more realistic view of what is on offer would mean a clearer view of what to expect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ireland76Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nice hotel, clean room, could not access car park, it was full, parked on the nearby quay @ é5 per day. Hotel is near to the quay, so access to the city centre is easy, about 10 minute walk. Limited choice on the dinner menu, special deal menu, but quite nice. Service was mixed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing